Old 08-06-2019, 05:48 PM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,384
Default v5.981+dev0806 - August 6 2019

v5.981+dev0806 - August 6 2019
# FX chain: better left-pane resizing DPI-awareness
# FX chain: left-pane resizing flicker improvements
# Windows: reduce JSFX flickering when in docked FX chain
# Windows: reduce flicker in unaffected docks during resize
# main window: improve vertical scroll behavior when resizing window/dockers
# meters: fix more overdraw bugs
# tcp meter: hide when supercollapsed, unless theme composition version 6
# track meters: prevent drawing outside bounds of panel

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 01:50 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,040
Default

Quote:
# main window: improve vertical scroll behavior when resizing window/dockers
Yes !! Many thanks for this update !

So I tested to extended docked windows to see if it scroll arrange view:
  • Horizontally: tested with and without track selected, works perfectly. The arrange view doesn't scroll at all.
  • Vertically: The arrange view doesn't scroll, however, we can see a small change in track zoom height. Not especially expected (when we extend a lateral docked window, it doesn't zoom horizontally in the arrange view), but usable.


    (See how my TCP meters numbers disappears because I extend a docked window vertically)
    (side note: Media explorer still flickers a bit :P)

    Though opening a docked bottom/top window also produces this TCP height change, so at least it is consistent and predictable and so not too disturbing.




Last edited by X-Raym; 08-07-2019 at 01:58 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 02:08 AM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,040
Default

Still in window / dock resize problems, I just opened this thread:




Another "common usage" issue I face every day on every computer, and which affects all users (as far as I know)


--
Anyway, all this windows management, flickering etc are very welcomed, you can be sure of that ! Really appreciated.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 02:15 AM   #4
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,745
Default

# main window: improve vertical scroll behavior when resizing window/dockers

Awesome! Haven't tested yet but hopefully this means the arrange page doesn't go back to the top and lose it's vertical position when you add in side tool bars etc thanks!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 02:27 AM   #5
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,452
Default

Whats going on when mouse is over envelope lane? This is not related to this pre but in general, there seems to be some lag which is most noticable when scripts have GUI. For example my area script lags when updating graphical parts if mouse is over envelope lane, both debug window and even more areas graphics
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 02:36 AM   #6
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,385
Default

Impressive. These are all quality of life improvements to me.

In that vein I have to bring this one thing up.

The time it takes Reaper to display the docked FX Chain view upon track switching is very long.

I realize part of this is the plugins fault, but I do need to point out that Reaper destroys the FX Chain view, then draws another view, if one is tabbed in with the FX Chain view, and then draws the new FX Chain view.

I've created a simple little demonstration video (5 MB) to show this process, and put it on my own Dropbox.
MP4 1080p 60fps - 5 MB filesize

The extra view tabs are actually a blessing in that particular setup. If they were absent, Reaper would expand the video view all across where the FX Chain view previously was, and then resize the thing again before drawing the new FX Chain view.

Half a second is a long time when you're editing. You can get used to it but it slows you down considerably. It's pretty much the only nasty GUI complaint I have at this point.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 04:47 AM   #7
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 130
Default

houston we have a problem

nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 06:28 AM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nappies View Post
houston we have a problem

Can you post a static screenshot of your entire main window? I'd like to see how all of the dockers are arranged. Also, what OS version? thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 06:29 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

I've just pushed a branch of SWS called "reaper_next" which has changes to make various BR_* APIs work with 5.981+dev0807 which will be out later today... Perhaps I can make some binaries of that SWS branch too.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 06:38 AM   #10
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I've just pushed a branch of SWS called "reaper_next" which has changes to make various BR_* APIs work with 5.981+dev0807 which will be out later today... Perhaps I can make some binaries of that SWS branch too.

Sounds amazing!
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 07:06 AM   #11
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,452
Default

Regarding my post,here is GIFFY


You can see that even value updates in the window have some lag

EDIT: This seems to be fixed if you turn off tooltips in preferences and it also seems to be heavy on cpu (over 10% cpu usage when mouse over envelopes)

Last edited by Sexan; 08-07-2019 at 07:14 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 07:23 AM   #12
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I've just pushed a branch of SWS called "reaper_next" which has changes to make various BR_* APIs work with 5.981+dev0807 which will be out later today... Perhaps I can make some binaries of that SWS branch too.
Great, thanks.
If you don't get around making the binaries, I could do for Win and OSX, not Linux though currently.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 07:25 AM   #13
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Can you post a static screenshot of your entire main window? I'd like to see how all of the dockers are arranged. Also, what OS version? thanks!
Windows 10 LTSB version 1607 OS Build 14393.351

Here screens with fresh install https://imgur.com/gvzs2WG
With config https://imgur.com/KB8m0Bl
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 07:44 AM   #14
Nathannn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 49
Default

This happens when resizing the mixer. As you can see the mixer meter drags and a new arrange scroll bar is created.

Nathannn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 07:51 AM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Great, thanks.
If you don't get around making the binaries, I could do for Win and OSX, not Linux though currently.
Posted these built with VC2013 (disabled taglib) (and the updated REAPER build)... linux users can build their own, I imagine?

I'm sure there is plenty more SWS code that will need to be updated, this is a start anyway.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 07:55 AM   #16
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,384
Default

When midi editor window is docked its not redrawing when I try and change height of Midi Editor until I click say a track and then it gets redrawn.
I also see midi toolbar icons and piano roll getting drawn over gui like nappies shows in post #7.

UPDATE: I guess its not limited to just the midi editor, the lower docker is now painting all weird!


Win10(1903) x64

Last edited by Edgemeal; 08-07-2019 at 08:02 AM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 08:04 AM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
When midi editor window is docked its not redrawing when I try and change height of Midi Editor until I click say a track and then it gets redrawn.
I also see midi toolbar icons and piano roll getting drawn over gui like nappies shows in post #7.

UPDATE: I guess its not limited to just the midi editor, the lower docker is now painting all weird!


Win10(1903) x64
Should be fixed in 0807 (now available)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 08:05 AM   #18
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Should be fixed in 0807 (now available)
Ya just got it, seems OK now!
THANKS!
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 08:59 AM   #19
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,053
Default

Another triplet detection bug in notation:



Test project:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-V...PXnTgkE4HGa3ct
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 09:46 AM   #20
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Regarding my post,here is GIFFY


You can see that even value updates in the window have some lag

EDIT: This seems to be fixed if you turn off tooltips in preferences and it also seems to be heavy on cpu (over 10% cpu usage when mouse over envelopes)
ps, unequivocally excited for this workflow "modernizer" to pull our DAW out of the selection dark-ages.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 02:42 PM   #21
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I've just pushed a branch of SWS called "reaper_next" which has changes to make various BR_* APIs work with 5.981+dev0807 which will be out later today... Perhaps I can make some binaries of that SWS branch too.
Which minimum Reaper version is required so that BR_GetMouseCursorContext() works with your changes, i.e. are they compatible with official v5.981 and older?
(asking because about to preparing a new SWS release..)

Last edited by nofish; 08-16-2019 at 02:47 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 04:50 PM   #22
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Which minimum Reaper version is required so that BR_GetMouseCursorContext() works with your changes, i.e. are they compatible with official v5.981 and older?
(asking because about to preparing a new SWS release..)
They should be compatible, yes, they only use the new APIs if they are available. Having said that -- they need a lot of testing! Should probably keep it out of the main release for a bit (beta, maybe?).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 05:32 AM   #23
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
They should be compatible, yes, they only use the new APIs if they are available. Having said that -- they need a lot of testing! Should probably keep it out of the main release for a bit (beta, maybe?).
Thanks.
Agreed, I also think next SWS release should be beta anyway since, besides from your contribution, there's other stuff that should be tested first before going official.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.