Old 04-27-2017, 04:01 PM   #1
dodobirds
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 26
Default "Bounce-In-place"

Please forgive me if this has been asked in another topic, I searched for it but didn't find anything.

So I'm coming to Reaper from Logic but the only thing that seems to be stopping me from making the move and test-driving reaper in a real project (with very real deadlines!) is that I can't figure out how to render a midi item in place as audio.

For those of you not familiar with logic, let me explain : in logic, you can select a midi region (item) and automatically render it in audio while muting the midi item. So basically, with a single keystroke, you can convert a midi region to an audio one.

I've tried doing the same thing in reaper but I seem to be running into problems because I have many multi-timbal instruments. Let me explain : most of my libraries are hosted in a PC slave wired to my master via VE pro. Since I always bounce to audio before mixing anyway,I don't bother creating a separate audio output for each midi track. Instead, all 16 midi tracks hosted Ina single ve pro instance come through a single audio 'bus'/output. Whenever I try to re-create the bounce in place process of logic, I ran into problems for some reason.

So my question is this : given that I am very open to discovering and trying new ways of doing this, is there any way to simultaneously bounce all midi tracks of a project to separate audio tracks, even if the midi tracks share the same audio outs?

So let's say for example that my project (while composing) consists of 50 midi tracks. When I'm ready to go into mixing mode, I'd like a magic wand to automatically convert everything to audio (while ideally moving all midi tracks into a sub project in case I want to change things later on but that's another story lol) in a single key stroke.

The million dollar question......is that possible or am I dreaming of a DAW that doesn't exist yet?

Massive thanks in advance!
dodobirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 07:55 PM   #2
EgM
Human being with feelings
 
EgM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 123
Default

Right click on the track(s), choose "Render/Freeze tracks" then choose "Render tracks to stereo stem tracks (and mute original)"

edit: ...sorry, nevermind, I re-read carefully and noticed you use multitimbral with vep. For that reason alone, I always put one instrument per instance in vep, so I can bounce in place...
__________________
Eric E. Hache
Game music composer @ www.gamemusic.ca
Main (iMac27, Mid'11, i7-2600/16G, 10.11) VEP5-Slave (i7-3770/32G, Win8.1-64)
EgM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 11:16 PM   #3
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodobirds View Post
Please forgive me if this has been asked in another topic, I searched for it but didn't find anything.

So I'm coming to Reaper from Logic but the only thing that seems to be stopping me from making the move and test-driving reaper in a real project (with very real deadlines!) is that I can't figure out how to render a midi item in place as audio.

For those of you not familiar with logic, let me explain : in logic, you can select a midi region (item) and automatically render it in audio while muting the midi item. So basically, with a single keystroke, you can convert a midi region to an audio one.

I've tried doing the same thing in reaper but I seem to be running into problems because I have many multi-timbal instruments. Let me explain : most of my libraries are hosted in a PC slave wired to my master via VE pro. Since I always bounce to audio before mixing anyway,I don't bother creating a separate audio output for each midi track. Instead, all 16 midi tracks hosted Ina single ve pro instance come through a single audio 'bus'/output. Whenever I try to re-create the bounce in place process of logic, I ran into problems for some reason.

So my question is this : given that I am very open to discovering and trying new ways of doing this, is there any way to simultaneously bounce all midi tracks of a project to separate audio tracks, even if the midi tracks share the same audio outs?

So let's say for example that my project (while composing) consists of 50 midi tracks. When I'm ready to go into mixing mode, I'd like a magic wand to automatically convert everything to audio (while ideally moving all midi tracks into a sub project in case I want to change things later on but that's another story lol) in a single key stroke.

The million dollar question......is that possible or am I dreaming of a DAW that doesn't exist yet?

Massive thanks in advance!
Does this maybe help ?:
http://reaperblog.net/2017/04/freeze_multichannel_vsti/
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.