Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 01-07-2009, 07:35 AM   #1
tomrivers
Human being with feelings

Default Midi playback in reaper? help?

I'm new to the reaper forum, so hi.

I'm trying to create some drum and synth tracks in REAPER. I don't have any external hardware, just trying to use the built-in sequencer ReaSynth is it? anyway. i can click the little squares on the lines and stuff. i understand that, but when i hit play. no sound. ive tryed exporting the file, hoping sound would crop up when i export it as WAV or MP3, but nothing. I dont know what teh problem is. do i lack some plugins or MIDI drivers?

stuff about my PC if it helps.

a modified dell somthing or other. Windows XP. 2GB ram. Will play .mid files no problem, usually through windows media player. midi also works in power tab and guitar pro 5. so why am i haveing this problem in reaper?!!

ANY suggestions greatly appreciated.

all the best

"Tom Rivers"
tomrivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:20 AM   #2
DarkStar

hello tomrivers and welcome to these forums. You'll find many helpful people here and a lot of useful information. Make sure you purchase Nicholas's excellent User Guide and ReaMix docs too. Worth their weight in gold.

Distribution:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=27999

User Guide:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=6107

ReaMix:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=21309

===========================================
ReaSynth should generate the audio when it receives the MIDI Notes and no you're not missing any plugins or MIDI drivers - but plugins are good to have

Try loading this trivial project file and see how you get on:
-- click the link and save the Zip file
-- unzip the file and place the .rpp file in your Reaper pojects folder (or drag it into Reaper)

HTH
Attached Files
File Type: zip DS_R254_starter.zip (1.7 KB, 790 views)
Old 01-07-2009, 08:49 AM   #3
nigel73