Old 06-25-2019, 06:02 PM   #1
PatrickMartin
Human being with feelings
 
PatrickMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Default patrickmartin_Setup Multi-Out VST

Setup Multi-Out VST



Overview

This script adds a VST on a new track and then:
  • Creates # of MIDI tracks you specify. Each track input is set to the MIDI device you specify, with each track configured to send data to the VST on a separate MIDI channel (1-16 and 16 for all tracks beyond [project]16[/project])
  • Creates same # of audio tracks, each configured to receive audio from the VST track on one of its stereo outputs (1/2, 3/4, 5/6, etc)
  • Names the tracks according to abbreviations you specify, or using the full VST name if no abbreviations are specified
  • Creates folder tracks for the MIDI and audio channels
  • Colors the MIDI and audio tracks to RGB values you specify

Dependencies

None

Configuration

Code:
--name of the VST 
--(use name only, i.e. "Omnisphere" not "VSTi: Omnisphere (Spectrasonics) (8 out)"
uc_vst_name = "Omnisphere"

--# of stereo outs on the VST
--This # of audio/MIDI track pairs will be created.
--  * each MIDI track will receive on all channels but send on only 1
--  * tracks above #16 will send on channel 16
--2X this # of channels will be created on the instrument track
uc_vst_stereo_outs = 8

--name of MIDI input device or nil to use all inputs
uc_MIDI_input_device_name = "masterkey 49"

--Optional: Color for MIDI tracks {R, G, B} or {}
uc_track_color_MIDI = {255, 204, 204}

--Optional: Color for audio tracks {R, G, B} or {}
uc_track_color_audio = {229, 255, 204}

--Optional: Track name abbreviations {audio, MIDI}
--Example: {"0S-Out", "OS_MID"} would name tracks as follows:
--  'OS-MID' for folder, 'OS-MID1', 'OS-MID2' ..., 'OS-Out1', 'OS-Out2', ... for child tracks
--Set to {} to use VST name 
uc_track_name_abbreviations = {"O-Out", "O-MID"}
Changelog
07/04/2019 1.1beta
Corrected MIDI channels

06/25/2019 1.0beta
Initial

Last edited by PatrickMartin; 07-07-2019 at 08:55 AM.
PatrickMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 04:42 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

Hi,


Thx for sharing and welcome aboard scripting !

You image link is wrong, you have to paste direct link, ending by .png or .gif :P


Best,
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 07:25 AM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

where is the script? I don't understand
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 09:56 AM   #4
Delucci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
where is the script? I don't understand
I saw in ReaPack today.
Delucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 12:47 PM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

hmmm got the script and IMO would be a lot better if it would accept user input on the names and numbers as it runs...

really otherwise why not just create track templates and use those?
...been using templates like that for a long time here

Not to take away from the good idea and the effort mind you, just sayin'
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 02:25 PM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

Oh also just discovered if the HeDa Track inspector VIP is loaded it totally messes up the track numbering, which messes up the sends and receives...

sorry to report this issue but there it is... HeDa TI is active takes up track #1
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 06:55 PM   #7
PatrickMartin
Human being with feelings
 
PatrickMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
Oh also just discovered if the HeDa Track inspector VIP is loaded it totally messes up the track numbering, which messes up the sends and receives...

sorry to report this issue but there it is... HeDa TI is active takes up track #1
Never be sorry to report an issue - that's exactly why I called it 1.0beta. Maybe you can post a screenshot?

Also I thought about prompting for user input for the values but figured people would complain about it
PatrickMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 07:08 PM   #8
PatrickMartin
Human being with feelings
 
PatrickMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
where is the script? I don't understand
I assumed everyone would know where to find it (being new to the forums as I am). In future to avoid confusion I will include something in the description about "where"
PatrickMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 07:37 AM   #9
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickMartin View Post
Never be sorry to report an issue - that's exactly why I called it 1.0beta. Maybe you can post a screenshot?

Also I thought about prompting for user input for the values but figured people would complain about it
Hi Patrick... well, I would not complain about user inputs... LoL
I think they would be just grand since diff VSTi's would\could be used...
Omni only wants 8 but Kontakt might like 16, and with the names set up also... right?

As to the screen shot... umm it would be a huge mess to really show you... but here is the thing and you can get it for yourself I think..

To do so you would have to 'buy' in to HeDa's VIP stuff for a 6 month subscription... min donation is about 5 bucks... so heck... worth it for the track inspector and the mixer at triple the cost!

Anyway, when his VIP Track Inspector is used, it sets itself up as a hidden track #1... and then when we run your script, all the sends and receives are offset by 1... so what should be send 1, receive 1 becomes 2, etc, etc.

It's not really a life and death prob. for personally because I already have track templates for Omni, Kontakt, ADDrums, etc.

Still, users should be aware of this issue IF they also use HeDa's VIP TI...

I don't know if there is a way around it... I'm not a script guy at all
even though I love using them...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2019, 09:01 AM   #10
PatrickMartin
Human being with feelings
 
PatrickMartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
well, I would not complain about user inputs... LoL
I think they would be just grand since diff VSTi's would\could be used...
Omni only wants 8 but Kontakt might like 16, and with the names set up also... right?
I will explore prompting for user input in the next version - as much for my own learning experience as for improvement of functionality
PatrickMartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.