Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Old 05-15-2015, 01:17 AM   #1
Nick from Cinic
Human being with feelings

Default Using Reaper as a live sequencer

Hi. I'm new to Reaper and I'm using it as a sequencer for my band. So I'm putting a click track in there and routing it to the drummer's headphones, plus I'm adding some synths and various sounds that we can't recreate live and routing that to the desk and this all works fine in rehearsals.

We're about to take this on the road and what worries me is the time between the songs so I have a couple of questions:

Does anyone else use Reaper as a sequencer, or is it supposed to be just for recording/mixing etc in a studio environment?

Secondly, is there a very quick way of loading up projects by either assigning a particular key on the keyboard, or better still using some kind of midi controller where pressing an assigned button will load a specific project.

Its currently taking 30 to 40 seconds between the end of one song and the start of the next one which isn't too bad (assuming we will be getting some sort of applause after each song) but I'm getting bogged down with everything else that's going on and I need this part of the process to be quick, easy and reliable.

Thanks

Nick from Cinic
www.cinic.co.uk

Last edited by Nick from Cinic; 05-15-2015 at 01:18 AM. Reason: typo
Nick from Cinic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 07:09 AM   #2
Fergler

I would love to recommend it but unfortunately I cannot. There are too many ways to accidentally create stuck notes in the MIDI chain, via various oversights, bugs, whathaveyou in the way.
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 07:11 AM   #3
BenK-msx

Look into Project tabs, and associated actions in the actions list.

Should help.
Old 05-15-2015, 07:18 AM   #4
Win Conway