Old 07-16-2009, 05:23 AM   #1
Minihead
Human being with feelings

Default mixing in reaper

Hello guys
i'm a compleate beginner with audio recording,and i choosed reaper only because is the one that i found more intuitive...
so what i wanted to do is to record my guitar on a mp3 backing track...and that's what i've done,but when i exported the wav file,i couldn't hear the guitar well because the backing track was louder...so i opened again reaper and i managed to set the volumes as i want with the mixer of each track but when i exported it again,i had the same problem,seem's that the volume's that i set up in the program work only when i click play on the software,and when i export the volume goe's back to default positon...can anyone help me please?it's really important...
thanks
Minihead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 05:50 AM   #2
beingmf

what do you mean by "export"? do you actually RENDER the mixdown?
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:13 AM   #3
Minihead

Quote:
Originally Posted by beingmf View Post
what do you mean by "export"? do you actually RENDER the mixdown?
yeah...render,i'm sorry
Old 07-16-2009, 06:41 AM   #4
sceyefeye

Hey Minihead

what are you using to listen to the track inside reaper and then outside reaper? if you are mixing using headphones, you are more than likely going to have a heap of woes when you get to the render stage. this is because ear phones do not give a 'flat representation' of the audio being played (ok some do but they are the exception).

there are more than a few threads here outlining the problems with biased play back on different systems and what stands out on your hi-fi might disappear into the back-ground on the car stereo.

perhaps post a clip of the project with the recorded audio and then one of the gurus around here can take a look and see just where you might be going wrong. because in all honesty what reaper is playing should be what is rendered.