Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Old 04-01-2008, 04:35 PM   #1
adouglas
Human being with feelings

Default Realistic system requirements? Reaper seems to be a HOG

I love Reaper in a big way, and have been waiting anxiously for the official Mac release.

Unfortunately Reaper Mac isn't proving to be of much use to me, at least in its present form.

I have a low-end Dell PC laptop at work (Inspiron 1300, which must have cost all of, oh, $400 or so) and Reaper seems to run just fine on it. The demo Brad Sucks project cranks along happily, no problem.

But my home laptop, a G4 Powerbook (aluminum), 1 GHz, with maxed-out memory (2 gig), can't even play 15 seconds of the demo project without crackling. That's with all the meters shut off entirely, and only the track window showing. And my Airport card shut off. And nothing else running. I'm using the latest 10.4 software.

This seems absurd to me. I'm no programmer, but surely this machine (which even four or five years old, has more resale value than that Dell cost new) has enough horsepower and RAM to play eight tracks of audio cleanly when I cripple everything I can think of. Especially seeing as how the free Cubase LE that came with my interface runs really happily under similar circumstances, even with other apps running concurrently and all the bells and whistles turned on.

What gives? Is there a memory leak or something?

I'm about to buy a MacBook Pro, and I was really hoping to be able to use this Powerbook as a recording platform. But Reaper Mac seems to be such a vast CPU and/or memory hog that it's unusable unless you've got something much more capable than this machine.

So, can somebody give me some insight into either

a) the real-world system requirements for the Mac version, or
b) some way of getting this thing to run acceptably on a "mere" 1 GHz machine with 2 gig of RAM?

Thanks....