Old 12-29-2019, 02:36 AM   #1
micha
Human being with feelings
 
micha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default Editing the default-5-MCP - need help!

Hi there,

i m struggling editing the default-5-mcp the way i d like it to be. I m almost there.
In the attached pic the selected track gets a green frame. i d like to extend that frame over the send/fx section above like i drew.
How can i achieve that?

And id like to make each channel just a bit smaller. where do i adjust the width of the tracks in the MCP? i assume as well in the rtconfig file? was not successfull trying fiddling there.

Any hints?

THX

micha
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reaper-mixer.jpg (52.5 KB, 70 views)
micha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 04:20 AM   #2
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,156
Default

Hi micha

I am very new to this myself, but, seeing as it is a bit quiet here at the moment I will do my best to help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by micha View Post
In the attached pic the selected track gets a green frame. i d like to extend that frame over the send/fx section above like i drew.
How can i achieve that?
Okay, for this one you have to edit some of the images.

Have a look at two images:-

mcp_extmixbg

and

mcp_extmixbgsel

It is these images that set the background, and therefore any border in the Extended Mixer section (where the Insert FX, FX Parms and Sends are listed).

Quote:
And id like to make each channel just a bit smaller. where do i adjust the width of the tracks in the MCP? i assume as well in the rtconfig file? was not successfull trying fiddling there.
In the rtconfig file the line you are looking for should look something like this:-

set mcp.size [77 370 77 370]

Those settings are mine and may not suit you.

There is more information on the mcp.size element here:-

https://www.reaper.fm/sdk/walter/walter.php

In fact you should really have a poke around the stickied subjects here and dig out all the various help documents and web pages.


cheers

andy
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 11:16 PM   #3
micha
Human being with feelings
 
micha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

Thank You! That helped a lot!

but i might come back later...its hard to try and error through...
micha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 02:32 AM   #4
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micha View Post
Thank You! That helped a lot!
You're welcome

Quote:
but i might come back later...its hard to try and error through...
Rather than trying to error through, I decided to create a theme from scratch. You can read about my exploits here:-

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=228586

And I am in the process of creating a document explaining my very simple theme. More details here:-

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=229221
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud

Last edited by synkrotron; 01-03-2020 at 01:51 AM.
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 07:36 PM   #5
micha
Human being with feelings
 
micha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

well, i think i m almost done. i rearranged the standard mcp a little bit, made it more narrow and took some other changes including a frame around selected tracks. i like it so far, almost perfect overview...

almost, because of my bad eyes i d like to highlight the selected tracks better in the arrangement window, like i drew in the atteched pic... is that somehow possible???

greetings

micha

Attached Images
File Type: jpg reaper-theme5_different_mcp.jpg (60.9 KB, 87 views)
micha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 02:01 AM   #6
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,156
Default

Hi Micha

The image you need to edit in order to outline selected Media Items is:-

item_bg_sel.png

I have just been experimenting with that and I found that I had to make the border a bit wider that I thought to get it to show up. So I will have a look at some of the theme tweaker options to see if there is also something in there that can be set to get the border to show up more.

I will post a screenshot in a bit.

cheers

andy
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 02:33 AM   #7
micha
Human being with feelings
 
micha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

i d rather highlight the entire track or the borders (like in the drawing), not just items. for my eyes its not enough to see it quick.
micha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 02:36 AM   #8
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,156
Default

Okay, here goes

Is this okay:-



And this is what the edited item_bg_sel.png file (enlarged 8x):-



Notice that I have removed the transparent tinting inside the borders. I find that I prefer to see the untinted colour of selected items. If you would rather to still have the tint then you leave that as it is in the original PNG file.

I hope that helps

cheers,

andy
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 02:46 AM   #9
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micha View Post
i d rather highlight the entire track or the borders (like in the drawing), not just items. for my eyes its not enough to see it quick.
Ah, right, I am not sure if there is a way of doing that. I will have a look.
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 02:52 AM   #10
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,156
Default

I have looked through the list of all available images and all the options in the theme tweaker and, as best as I can tell, there is no way of doing what you are asking for.

All you can hope is that someone with more experience and knowledge than me bothers to look at your topic.


cheers

andy
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 02:59 AM   #11
micha
Human being with feelings
 
micha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

thx very much for your effort! helped me a lot and since it seems not doable i m finished for now.

made different fader colors and sizes available, too.
micha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.