Old 03-16-2020, 01:40 AM   #1
ramjet1962
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 2
Default MCU Faders versus REAPER track faders

Hi,

I was mucking around with setting up etc and have noticed something for which I have not been able to find a solution for.

All of the faders on my MCU pass their calibration test when powering up.
I am getting REAPER communicating with my MCU. (MCU faders jumping to position when I add a new track)

However, what I am also getting is a mismatch of values between my MCU faders and REAPER.
I have mucked about with the fader size in REAPER to get more fine control, but 0.00 dB in REAPER is reached when the MCU faders are at +5 dB.
It is not just one fader. They are all doing this.
For me to get the MCU fader sitting at 0 on its scale, REAPER shows -8.12 dB.
I was wondering if there is a setting in REAPER where you can put an amount in for get both REAPER and MCU indicating 0.00 dB at the same time?

Thanks in advance,
Michael.
ramjet1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 05:31 AM   #2
dougdi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default

I have the same issue using a Faderport 8. Drives me crazy.
dougdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 06:12 AM   #3
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,605
Default

You could try different values in

Preferences/Appearance/Track Control Panels
Volume fader range
Preferences/Editing Behavior/Envelope Display.
Volume envelope range
I hope that helps.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 07:15 AM   #4
dougdi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 8
Default

I’ll try again, I played with it and gave up. I mix with my ears so it’s not a make or break but really, there should be no issue. At least it’s cheaper than my SSL/Synclavier system in the 90's.
dougdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2020, 01:56 AM   #5
ramjet1962
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 2
Default

I tried what you suggested airon and got closer to 0 but not great.
The best I got was when I set the bottom value at about -45 and the top at +6.

What do the values mean? Numpty question I know, but I am new to all of this.
ramjet1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.