Old 01-24-2020, 10:17 AM   #1
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,605
Default Waves v9,10,11 VST3 Automation

Reaper 5 and 6 x64 Windows 7 - 10 x64

Waves v9 to v11 VST 3 versions of Waves plugins, tested up to todays version of Waves.

Problem
Any communication from Reaper to the plugins via midi-learned controls or envelopes does not work when TRANSPORT is in STOP mode.

This does not affect non-Waves plugins that I've tested, such as Klanghelm offerings such as the DC1A3.
Reproduce
  • Create a track
  • Instantiate any VST3(!) plugin by Waves such as Renaissance Compressor (Rcomp)
  • Make sure adding envelopes in writing modes in prefs/automation is on.
  • Put the track in to Latch or Latch Preview mode
  • Open the plugin GUI
  • Move one control, which is all it takes to illustrate this. An envelope should pop up.
  • Make a significant change and write that to the envelope with the "Automation: Write current values for actively-writing envelopes to time selection" command.
  • Change automation mode to READ
  • Relocate the play cursor so different values are read for that parameter you changed. Don't hit play. Just relocate the playhead.
  • The GUI should show no changes, on any Waves VST3 plugin you try.
Other effects
If you show the parameter as an on-track-panel control, the midi-learn and envelopes do change the parameter THERE, but not in the plugin itself if transport stop mode. No changes are reflected there.
Conclusions ?
Reaper is supposed to update all parameters on playhead relocation.

VST2+Waves with simple playhead relocation work fine.

All VST3 plugins that I've tried are fine, except those by Waves. VST3 + Waves playhead relocation does not work.

If this is a systemic problem on Waves' side, I'd rather you tell them than some unknown schmuck like me. They officially support VST3 in Reaper for their plugins. I do kinda hope it's a Reaper bug, as that'll get fixed much quicker .
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 01-24-2020 at 05:43 PM.
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 10:59 AM   #2
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sputumton, Florida
Posts: 2,222
Default

this looks like a REAPER-vst3 issue in general, or at least a very similar thing occurs with AI

refer to https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=230200
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° colored tracks/items: optionally respect "selected track/item" theme color
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.