Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Recording Technologies and Techniques

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2013, 04:38 PM   #1
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,308
Default Free NI compressor "supercharger" (limited time for christmas)

Check it out:



http://www.native-instruments.com/en...rce=newsletter

Also there's a $25 voucher towards a NI product.

Happy Holidays!
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:15 PM   #2
Kamil
Human being with feelings
 
Kamil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: KW, Ontario
Posts: 268
Default

Just picked this up! It's actually pretty great sounding.

Any idea about what hardware they are emulating?
__________________
Ambition, Transmission, Transition.
Kamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:59 PM   #3
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,072
Default

Not for XP... darn...
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 10:49 PM   #4
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,440
Default

214 MB disk space requirement, because it installs the authorization software as well. :\

At least it does automatic updates this way as well of all the NI installed stuff, which includes Absynth in my case. I am curious how it sounds..... oh look, Absynth gets a 1 GB update .

-edit-
Sounds interesting. However, NI does appear to produce the slowest installers in the known universe, which I may point out is not really the case for Supercharger, though it does include its DRM in a huge included package. Here's a cookie, and the 12 ton brick attached to it. This slowest-ever installer was the Absynth update. Amazingly slow. It felt like time had stopped, and it never even let me install the library content anywhere but in the system drive common files. Primitive.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 12-16-2013 at 11:50 PM.
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 12:41 AM   #5
zeekat
Human being with feelings
 
zeekat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Polandia
Posts: 2,407
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixeltarian View Post
Check it out:
That's a nice GUI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
214 MB disk space requirement, because it installs the authorization software as well. :\
That's a nice reason to skip it.
__________________
AM bient and rund funk
my soundclouds+youtubings
zeekat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 12:58 AM   #6
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
214 MB disk space requirement, because it installs the authorization software as well. :\
Is it the same installer as for Kontakt?
So it's no extra bug for Kontakt-users?
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 01:05 AM   #7
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,226
Default

It is 214 MB but that includes a lot
AAX
RTAS
X32
X64
Service center
Installed it is about 30 MB for the plugin plus service center

I always thought of NI as bloated for a long time , but the RAM and CPU usage is actually comparable and better than most on my system.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 02:34 AM   #8
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

isntalling in four minutes. this looks amazing
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 02:47 AM   #9
Iain
Human being with feelings
 
Iain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK North West
Posts: 127
Default

Just tried it. I like the simple controls and it sounds quite subtle on vocals. Great!
__________________
Iain

www.soundcloud.com/iainpaterson-1
Iain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 05:50 AM   #10
Kamil
Human being with feelings
 
Kamil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: KW, Ontario
Posts: 268
Default

Am I crazy or is it missing a bypass button?
__________________
Ambition, Transmission, Transition.
Kamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 06:50 AM   #11
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Installed, nice
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 09:29 AM   #12
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 617
Default

I wonder if I can run the installer on my win7 laptop and then copy the
dll over to my XP DAW.

Kontakt5 does not say it runs on XP but it does so maybe there is hope
__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 10:38 AM   #13
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucian View Post
Kontakt5 does not say it runs on XP but it does so maybe there is hope
It DOES run on XP?
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 10:57 AM   #14
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
It DOES run on XP?
Here it doesn't
__________________
Windows 7x64 SP2 | NVidia Quadro2000, 10.18.13.6191 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.7.1
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 11:16 AM   #15
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 617
Default

From sound on sound:
http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jan1...-kontakt-5.htm

Quote:
Windows 7 (latest Service Pack, 32-/64‑bit), Intel Core Duo or AMD Athlon 64 CPU, 2GB RAM.
Mac OS 10.6 (latest update) or 10.7, Intel Core Duo CPU, 2GB RAM.
Native 64‑bit support for stand‑alone and plug‑in versions.
1GB free disk space or 48GB for complete installation.
Kontakt 5 works as stand-alone, VST, Audio Units and RTAS (Pro Tools 8 or higher) versions. Although Windows 7 is a quoted requirement, Kontakt has been running on Windows XP (service pack 3) on a 32‑bit machine throughout the course of this review, with no problems at all.
My boxed version should be delivered tomorrow so I will find out.
__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 01:08 PM   #16
Stu
Human being with feelings
 
Stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 851
Default

I registered for the compressor but the installer won't even run in XP - it checks and pops a warning stating that in needs a minimum of windows 7. If anyone figures a way to get around this please tell us, usually there is no problem getting the plugin to work in these cases, only the installer has an issue as the plugin still complies with VST 2.4 spec
Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 02:07 PM   #17
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,163
Default

So is it possible to save a dll only?
Or just through Kontakt?
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); Neumann mk184 (pair), AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra; SWS; Python Playlists; recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 02:35 PM   #18
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,163
Default

Just testing. Lovely tool. I love the Dirt button.
Design is sooo appealing. I love all things from NI. Germans just have eyes for clean graphics.
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); Neumann mk184 (pair), AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra; SWS; Python Playlists; recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 04:01 PM   #19
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,072
Default

If I didn't have to create an account, I'd contact their tech support and tell them that there are still an awful lot of XP users and they should make their product available to them as well.
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 04:26 PM   #20
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 617
Default XP Works but you need Win7 to install



I have a Win7 laptop and ran the install on it. The install asks where the 32 and 64 bit versions of the vst are to go. 64 bit went to local VST drive, 32 bit went to mapped VST drive on my XP32 DAW.

I already have some NI VSTs so Service Center was already on my DAW. Opened Reaper on the DAW, the VST was available so I added it to a track. The GUI opened and I selected activate and it did.

Then went back to my Win7 laptop, opened Reaper64 and did the same thing.
It did ask to enter the license string from the downoad link email, but once I did that, it activated so I now have the VST on both my computers, XP32 and WIN764.
__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 04:39 PM   #21
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
and it never even let me install the library content anywhere but in the system drive common files. Primitive.
Move out the Samples folder elsewhere manually and change the path to it in Absynth's properties. Easy peasy.

Also, unpack the installer EXE manually with Ultimate Extractor and there's your install for Windows XP. You don't need W7 to do it.

You do need to install Service Center - but that one is still available for XP, IIRC.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 05:04 PM   #22
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,072
Default

So, could I use my wife's Vista machine to install it and then just copy the DLL to a stick and copy it to my XP machine?
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 05:21 PM   #23
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 617
Default

Not sure if it will run on vista but it might. Do you already have NI vsts on your daw? Other vsts by them do install on XP and so I already have their licensing software named 'Service Center' installed. Worse case is you could download a demo version of something else which will install the license software.

Either way, I am guessing once you have service Center installed on your DAW it should work.
__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 06:21 PM   #24
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
So, could I use my wife's Vista machine to install it and then just copy the DLL to a stick and copy it to my XP machine?
Pretty much. Of course you should also transfer the presets which are found in C:\Common Files\Native Instruments\Supercharger.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 10:49 PM   #25
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,072
Default

Nope... wouldn't work... said I must have AT LEAST Win 7...
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 01:08 AM   #26
edkilp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,130
Default

It's asking for a serial number to register.....I don't see a serial number anywhere. Any ideas? Thanks
edkilp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 01:28 AM   #27
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,163
Default

You should have got it in the first mail from NI.
cHECK SPAM FOLDER.
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); Neumann mk184 (pair), AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra; SWS; Python Playlists; recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 02:12 AM   #28
edkilp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,130
Default

Yep, my bad. Thank you!
edkilp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 03:33 AM   #29
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
If I didn't have to create an account, I'd contact their tech support and tell them that there are still an awful lot of XP users and they should make their product available to them as well.
Wouldn't get you anywhere, I have contacted them twice in the last two days about issues with some of their products, the idiot on the other end of support (I shall be kind and not name him) had never even heard of the products haha
Also they can't even do something as simple as keep their UI controls on screen and usable (Maschine 2 sample end point marker)

I do like NI products, but their support staff are a complete joke and their betas testers are even worse than that.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:22 AM   #30
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds View Post
... there are still an awful lot of XP users and they should make their product available to them as well.
Agreed, but doubtful anything will be done. MS wants XP dead and is probably confused why XP keeps saying it feels better and thinks it will go for a walk.

__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:28 AM   #31
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,082
Default

XPites: check out standalone's post here:
http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewto...9493&start=120

(run it at your own risk)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:33 AM   #32
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffsounds
... there are still an awful lot of XP users and they should make their product available to them as well.
I'd consider it yet another reason to get off of that 12 year old OS. I see nothing wrong with you using it, but it's not going to get better.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:56 AM   #33
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
I do like NI products, but their support staff are a complete joke - - -
Completely opposite experience here: I once had an annoying authorisation issue (nobody's fault) and the guy on the phone was super helpful and unbureaucratic. Didn't have to deal with them recently though...
__________________
Windows 7x64 SP2 | NVidia Quadro2000, 10.18.13.6191 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.7.1
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 12:44 PM   #34
Jeffsounds
Human being with feelings
 
Jeffsounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 3,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
XPites: check out standalone's post here:
http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewto...9493&start=120

(run it at your own risk)
It worked! Thanks much, Dark Star!
__________________
"Music is a fundamental human desire." - Mike Butera
Jeffsounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 10:03 AM   #35
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 617
Default

Kontakt 5 is now fully installed on my XP DAW.
__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 12:39 PM   #36
Kamil
Human being with feelings
 
Kamil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: KW, Ontario
Posts: 268
Default

I used Supercharger on some vocals the other day. Wow! It's actually quite good! Really enjoy this freebie. Cheers!
__________________
Ambition, Transmission, Transition.
Kamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 02:52 PM   #37
stinky634
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 63
Default

Works pretty nicely on some bass lines too. Definitely adds some growl using the 'Dirt' button.
stinky634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.