Old 01-01-2010, 11:16 PM   #1
DBMusic
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper's Sound

First let me say that apart from thinking of myself as an artist, I'm also grounded in pragmatic scientific logic and believe that 1's and 0's are 1's and 0's no matter how you look at them. However...

With a recent investment in new hardware and software processors in my studio I've been working on remixing/remastering some older projects done various versions of Sonar (currently using 8.3.1). Each time, without fail, I get frustrated with my control over the sound coming out of Sonar (a perception I've frequently had in the past though at the time had little frame of reference). Faders don't feel very responsive, with increased signal processing the sound begins to sound murky, and I find myself spending excessive amounts of time balancing tracks to get the mix just right. Even thought these projects originally were recorded and mixed in Sonar, the last few times I've just given up decided just to render each of the raw tracks individually (without processing or automation) and set them up in Reaper.

Now I know the sound of DAW's has been endlessly debated and, honestly, my logical mind makes me want to question my own perceptions...but when I set up a mixing project in Reaper using these rendered Sonar files, they invariably sound more pristine, distinct, and I spend considerably less time in dialing in the mix that I want.

Maybe it's all in my head as each of these audio engines are doing 64-bit accuracy in calculations...but I swear it sounds clearer, more manageable, and much easier to blend into a pleasing mix. I've worked with Samplitude also but never had this kind of perception. The logical/scientific side is telling me I'm hearing what I want to here...the artist side is saying Reaper just plain sounds better.

Best regards,

DB
Old 01-01-2010, 11:31 PM   #2
nicholas
Scribe