Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2018, 02:29 AM   #1
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 667
Default allow dithering for all sources not just the master mix

When I want to render a single item to 16bit WAV I have to use "master mix" to dither the output. Which also means that I have to place the item carefully so its not overlapping with any other items.

I don't see a reason why dithering and noise shaping is available only for master mixes. AFAIK dithering is useful for all kind of renderings if the output format uses 16bit or less (maybe even for 24bit).

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 10:06 PM   #2
audio2u
Human being with feelings
 
audio2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 149
Default

Masi, what is stopping you placing a dithering plugin on a track?

As for WHEN to use dither, the general thinking is "whenever you are reducing wordlength". If you reduce wordlength WITHOUT applying dither, you will get truncation distortion (most noticeable on low level signal fades like reverb tails and the like).

I don't understand why you would want to do what you're asking, but that's your business, not mine!
But I don't see why you couldn't place the plugin on a track.
__________________
Cheers,
Bruce.
audio2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 12:55 AM   #3
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audio2u View Post
Masi, what is stopping you placing a dithering plugin on a track?
Because I'm lazy? I could also render a time selection of master mix and solo the track.

Quote:
Originally Posted by audio2u View Post
I don't understand why you would want to do what you're asking, but that's your business, not mine!
I wanted to use a 32but FP WAV file in an sampler that doesn't support it. So I had to down to 24bit. I was a) wondering if I should dither and b) why I cannot enable dither in Reaper when I render a single item.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.