Old 09-03-2018, 02:06 AM   #1
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 178
Default Filter for actions!

Ok, there is a a filter but it does not filter on the actual command.

I use a lot of control hardware and midi routing. I'd like to filter on some of the midi assignments so I can quickly look up stuff when I need to (I usually forget and forget where I wrote the mappings down).

I can't use find shortcut because I'd have to try all the buttons I have setup to find some specific one.
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 02:31 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,947
Default

I am not sure I'm following you. This is exactly why Find shortcut is there?

You can also sort columns by shortcut instead of by action name or ID, so you can check your MIDI assignments easier this way?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 04:59 AM   #3
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I am not sure I'm following you. This is exactly why Find shortcut is there?

You can also sort columns by shortcut instead of by action name or ID, so you can check your MIDI assignments easier this way?
No, you didn't read what I said. It does not filter on the COMMAND!

If, say, 'alt + 5' is a command then if I type in alt it does not show only and all of the command with alt in them.

I have stuff assigned to midi chan xxx yyyy

and when I type in midi chan I do not get any of my assigned actions in the list. This means it is not filter on the command.

Note that the command is different from the command description.
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 05:59 AM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,362
Default

Good request, though +1
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 06:38 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InfiniteDimensionality View Post
No, you didn't read what I said. It does not filter on the COMMAND!

If, say, 'alt + 5' is a command then if I type in alt it does not show only and all of the command with alt in them.

I have stuff assigned to midi chan xxx yyyy

and when I type in midi chan I do not get any of my assigned actions in the list. This means it is not filter on the command.

Note that the command is different from the command description.
Ah I see. The proper word you're looking for is filtering by assignment.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 09:10 PM   #6
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Ah I see. The proper word you're looking for is filtering by assignment.
Actually, if you want to be correct, it is called "Shortcut".

Regardless of the name, which means nothing, reaper does not filter on them.

It should have some more complex filtering syntax such as filtering on variables:

%shortcut[5,9]% = midi

and it should be a general part of all search strings.


Regex would probably be better.
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 12:34 AM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,947
Default

Shortcut is usually tied to keyboard only, but an assignment can be something other than keyboard - mousewheel, MIDI, OSC...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 06:38 AM   #8
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Shortcut is usually tied to keyboard only, but an assignment can be something other than keyboard - mousewheel, MIDI, OSC...
NO! You always have to be right?!?!?!

In the actions window it says shortcut for the column header... so that is what it is!

You can redefine things and use things you are familiar with to your hearts content... but the fact is that reaper calls them shortcuts so that is the best term to use instead of something you think fits better just so you can be right about something that is ultimately pretty damn meaningless but which you are actually wrong about.
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 06:54 AM   #9
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 2,021
Default

Please mind your tone. ED doesn't lecture you, but he's helping you to clarify your FR so the devs know what your asking for.
Because of him, I understood your request in the first place, which id btw a good one, especially if you want to know the assignement without having the device using it available.
So, +1

In addition to that, I would suggest filtering the actioncommandids as well. I often stumble through that, when developing or documenting...
mespotine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:00 AM   #10
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InfiniteDimensionality View Post
(I usually forget and forget where I wrote the mappings down).
Shift+F1 will open a list of YOUR shortcuts in a browser window.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 11:36 PM   #11
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
Shift+F1 will open a list of YOUR shortcuts in a browser window.
Interesting... that might work well enough until a proper fix comes in.
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.