Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Old 12-03-2006, 04:01 PM   #1
Mtukufu
Human being with feelings

Default My first post - mic strategy to minimize pick clicks for guitar

Hi all,

I'm still in the tryout phase for Reaper. I've been using NTracks for years and read about Reaper in the NTrack forum of all places. NTracks will always have a fond place in my heart. Reaper has impressed me greatly however. It feels more intuitive, more stable and, despite Flavio's perseverence, more dynamic. I've encountered many, many fewer glitches with Reaper. Flavio I still love you! I'm sure I'll be using both systems since they're both very cost effective.

On to my question: I've made great progress in getting a good mic set up for my Martin acoustic guitar. I'm a rhythim guitarist. My issue however is the sound I keep getting of the pick clicking on the strings as I play. It irritates the bejesus out of me. I'm using an SM57 mic. I have an AT4040 mic too but I find I like that less than the SM 57 for my guitar. I imagine I'm doing something wrong for that to be the case. But that's not my question here...

I point the SM57 to where the neck of the guitar joins the body. I have a Behringer Eurorack (don't you just love that name? Like a gradeschool form of waterboarding) 1240. I find I have to turn the EQ up on the Behringer to get enough gain so I can place the SM57 9 to 12 inches from the guitar, which is what I have consistently seen to be the recommended distance. How do I get rid of that clicking? I use a plastic pick. I'm thinking I need to point the SM57 towards the join of the neck of the guitar and the body, angling slightly away from the sound hole (OK I won't comment more on that term. Let's just enjoy it), and where the pick meets the strings. Is that the ticket? Please, any suggestions welcome.

Thanks a lot :-)

Hugh
Mtukufu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 11:56 PM   #2
Andywanders