Old 07-21-2020, 03:16 PM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default v6.13rc2 - July 21 2020

v6.13rc2 - July 21 2020
  • + MIDI editor: improve 14-bit lane in-use detection
  • # Actions: improve tolerance for add envelope point exactly at time [p=2321982]
  • # MIDI: mousewheel over CC lane selection navigates between active lanes if ctrl/cmd is held
  • # Save live output: fix absolute paths on linux/macOS
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:50 PM   #2
Icchan
Human being with feelings
 
Icchan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 792
Default

Here's hoping I can some day click the lane selection box, type in CC number and press enter.

This is great addition already to the MIDI-editor. It's been in serious need of love for some time!
Icchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 10:29 PM   #3
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: China
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icchan View Post
Here's hoping I can some day click the lane selection box, type in CC number and press enter.

This is great addition already to the MIDI-editor. It's been in serious need of love for some time!
This little script may help you!

Code:
local editor=reaper.MIDIEditor_GetActive()

retval,CC= reaper.GetUserInputs('Set CC lane',1,'Set CC Lane To CC num (0-119)','-1') 

CCnum=tonumber (CC)

if CCnum >= 0 and CCnum <= 119 then

ID = CCnum + 40238

reaper.MIDIEditor_OnCommand(editor, ID)

end

reaper.SN_FocusMIDIEditor()
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 11:03 PM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,247
Default

OSX 10.15.6

For me, SHIFT+ rightmouse drag, to create Area Selection, doesn't work anymore.
Is Area Selection feature maybe taken out of this release ?

Could be i am overseeing something / doing something wrong..
__________________
Macbook Pro INTEL | Reaper, always latest version | OSX Ventura | Presonus Studio 24c
My Reaper Tips&Tricks YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 11:41 PM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icchan View Post
Here's hoping I can some day click the lane selection box, type in CC number and press enter.

This is great addition already to the MIDI-editor. It's been in serious need of love for some time!
This used to work with the old menu, right now it doesn't work when you type multiple numbers unfortunately, which is a shame.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 11:45 PM   #6
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
OSX 10.15.6

For me, SHIFT+ rightmouse drag, to create Area Selection, doesn't work anymore.
Is Area Selection feature maybe taken out of this release ?

Could be i am overseeing something / doing something wrong..
Area selection is still in pre-releases only.
__________________
☐ Area Selection
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 11:55 PM   #7
Ideosound
Human being with feelings
 
Ideosound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: U.K
Posts: 542
Default

# Actions: improve tolerance for add envelope point exactly at time [p=2321982]

Please could we have the option to add envelop points exactly at mouse position for automation (as well as play head position?)

That would be really useful to 'hover' the mouse and add points based on mouse position to the automation line.
Ideosound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 02:22 AM   #8
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
# MIDI: mousewheel over CC lane selection navigates between active lanes if ctrl/cmd is held
This scrollwheel behaviour now is non-surprising. But still, how a user can possibly know he can hold ctrl for this?

--------------------------

When a cc menu is open and a user clicks on a cc selector, the menu should close as do other menus. Currently it is reopened.

--------------------------



These two +- buttons are fine from UI point of view. But they are a serious UX problem. They are easily mistaken for navigating through CCs.

"-" == scroll UP to a cc with a LOWER number.
"+" == scroll DOWN to a cc with a HIGHER number

They are not at all close to where they affect change.

The "+" button affects ANOTHER lane. The "-" button affects the CURRENT lane.

Another UX pattern should be found for these functions. Question can be asked - how does one add tracks and envelope lanes? CC lanes are the same kind of thing.

-------------------------

+1 for selecting ccs by typing them. Current implementation (repated press of e.g. 1 scrolls through 10..19) is hardly usable.

Last edited by bFooz; 07-22-2020 at 02:44 AM.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 02:32 AM   #9
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Is there any reason CC numbers 1..9 are padded with 0 but 10..99 are left unpadded while 100+ being present? Why not unpad 1..9?

Plus all previous rc1 points about organization of this menu and both right-click menus.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 03:20 AM   #10
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

Yes, please unpad CCs 0-9. Makes no sense.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 12:42 PM   #11
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kalispell
Posts: 14,745
Default

Quote:
# MIDI: mousewheel over CC lane selection navigates between active lanes if ctrl/cmd is held
What exactly is this for and what does it do?
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 01:14 PM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
What exactly is this for and what does it do?
It navigates between active (with data) CC lanes instead of all lanes.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 01:48 PM   #13
AndrewFalcon
Human being with feelings
 
AndrewFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Yes, please unpad CCs 0-9. Makes no sense.
+1
But honestly I completly don't like new cc select method.Old was more accurate and convenient!
AndrewFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 05:06 PM   #14
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kalispell
Posts: 14,745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
It navigates between active (with data) CC lanes instead of all lanes.
Aah, great, thank you Vitalker.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 11:00 PM   #15
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Aah, great, thank you Vitalker.
Without this comment I would have missed this feature, thanks Tod!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v6.13rc2 - July 21 2020
[*]# MIDI: mousewheel over CC lane selection navigates between active lanes if ctrl/cmd is held


It's not in the changelong at main download page reaper.fm!!!!
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.