Old 12-27-2019, 02:49 PM   #1
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,972
Default Latency changes over time

I have to keep resetting it by opening preferences and closing it again.

Anyone know what causes this?

Tascam 16x08, Windows 10
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 03:00 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,972
Default

Also a couple ways I can cause it to happen instantly:

Unplugging laptop power (results in brief garble then latency afterwards). But I am not doing this during use of Reaper.

Opening certain GUI heavy plugins, like Vacuum or Union synths.

Playing too many notes on synths with poly and unison voices (causes CPU strain which then leaves me with latent audio).
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 03:07 PM   #3
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,627
Default

Are you sure the SC buffer isn't resetting/changing under reaper?
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 03:19 PM   #4
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,972
Default

Not familiar with SC acronym but yes all the parameters for block size, sample rate, and audio thread priority remain untouched.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 03:21 PM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,627
Default

Sound Card - If reaper doesn't have exclusive access, reaper could still show the same blocksize/buffer (since that's where you appear to set latency on your system) but whatever else changed it at the sound card/OS level (app, bug or otherwise) would change the actual latency but this would not show up in Reaper AFAIK. It would show up in the SC's control panel though.

That said, I have had a few instances where the latency was shown as correct everywhere, reaper and the SC but there was way more than there should be - it's intermittent and only affects MIDI so I have not had time to debug the root cause.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench

Last edited by karbomusic; 12-29-2019 at 03:27 PM.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 11:42 AM   #6
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,825
Default

I think it looks like something else here but I'll just mention this.

Make sure you aren't trying to run any plugins (or plugin chains) that have a higher latency than your block size. That makes Reaper add blocks of latency to make it work and thus your latency would change.

That should follow plugin insertion directly though and not just decide to change sometime later. And also not "reset" with a new request to your connected audio interface. (Which is what opening the preferences page, selecting the interface again, and clicking apply does.)
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 12:19 PM   #7
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,972
Default

Tascam's reported latency is not changed. I can't understand it. It's like a behind the scenes change
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2019, 12:25 PM   #8
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
Tascam's reported latency is not changed. I can't understand it. It's like a behind the scenes change
THAT part would follow Reaper adding blocks to cater to a high latency plugin.

Might be worth a quick inventory with the Reaper performance meter. It shows the latency of every plugin in the project.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.