Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2019, 01:06 PM   #1
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 967
Default Pre-Record during Count-Off (NOT speaking of Pre-Roll)

Hi Justin and co,

Hoping this is an easy one

One critical feature missing from Reaper for anyone doing orchestral (or any recordings where there are tempo changes) is the ability to record during the Count-Off (NOT to be confused with Pre-Roll). Honestly, this should also be available in MIDI too.

Currently, there is no way to record during the Count-Off to capture players who may come in early… or who may be playing a lead-in note or an anticipation. In reaper, you would have to have pre-roll engaged. The problem with pre-roll is if there is a different tempo in the previous measure, all the players will coming at the wrong tempo on the downbeat of the punch-in measure.

Nuendo/Cubase have a simple record buffer in seconds and using it in conjunction with a count-in solves all these issues.

Having done this for 20+ years… it’s clear to me this count-off pre-record amount should be in seconds or ms, NOT tempo based. The benefits are that each recording will have the same amount of pre-record no matter what meter or tempo and makes comping and editing in other DAWs as well as Reaper MUCH easier since all the recordings have the exact same amount of pre-record.

I would also assume it’s easier to implement (coding-wise) if the pre-record buffer is always the same (fixed) time-based amount (not tempo or meter dependent).

Hoping this is possible and easy to implement!

Thanks for an already great DAW!

(this is a copy from an old thread in the wrong place -- putting it in the appropriate FR forum).
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB

Last edited by Thonex; 11-22-2019 at 11:54 AM.
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 01:51 PM   #2
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,320
Default

Chiming in here, as I did on the original post :P
Huge +1 for this FR!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 05:10 PM   #3
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 890
Default

Wow, yeah, this is really necessary. So many times during orchestral recording we need to do this, but without being able to record during the count-in bar makes Reaper kind of unusable for this because of the following:

1) Sometimes players come in early. Thus the entrance gets cut off (I'm looking at you Brass...)

2) You can't crossfade from the previous measure into the new entrance. This is CRITICAL because there is no way to make that transition work.

3) Even if everyone comes in at the exact right spot, it will still sound unnatural because the air in the room moves before you hear the note and that isn't going to be all recorded.

4) As Thonex stated, although pre-roll DOES record during the pre-roll measure (except for midi cough cough), if the pre-roll measure is a different tempo it can't be used as a substitute to count-in as the count-in would be a different tempo than the measure the players are starting in which would really throw them off.

To me, this almost seems like a bug that the count-in bar isn't buffered. You always need the area slightly before record start to be buffered for the above reasons. In most cases you can just start recording a measure or two early and everything is good. But in this case, when you need to catch a specific measure and need clicks at the new tempo, there is no good alternative especially when you need to move quickly on the fly.

Last edited by Klangfarben; 09-23-2019 at 05:17 PM.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 11:29 PM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,883
Default

Fully agreed. And seems easy to support this.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 01:09 PM   #5
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,214
Default

+1 definitely needed. I bumped into this problem last week trying to sort out how would I record an orchestra.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2019, 01:39 PM   #6
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 967
Default

Bumping this since the Dev team seems to have their head in playback and record modes.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 09:42 AM   #7
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 919
Default

+100 for this. in pro tools as long you have input monitor enabled you can grab all recorded material before you hit record, its so handy for some previous audio that gets in recorded.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 11:53 AM   #8
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 967
Default

Since the Devs are working on 6.... I was really hoping they would address this.

Bump.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 11:59 AM   #9
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,320
Default

Yeah, me too. Such an essential feature. +1
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 06:06 PM   #10
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 967
Default

Weekend Bump... since Devs are working on 6 pre-releases
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 02:19 PM   #11
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 890
Default

+1 Pretty please?
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 02:54 PM   #12
The-Zeronaut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 247
Default

+1 100% agree
The-Zeronaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 01:50 AM   #13
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 647
Default

+1 bump
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 09:48 PM   #14
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 281
Default

+1

Nuendo adds an invisible second that will also be included in any export of said audio file. Having the invisible second that you can roll out the front end of the item to get any of that good stuff is great but keep the render items to just what is visible as it is now please.

Make it great!
Swi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 12:39 PM   #15
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swi View Post
+1

Nuendo adds an invisible second that will also be included in any export of said audio file. Having the invisible second that you can roll out the front end of the item to get any of that good stuff is great but keep the render items to just what is visible as it is now please.

Make it great!
Thanks for the support!!

Exactly. That is what I was referring to when I posted this above:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex View Post
Nuendo/Cubase have a simple record buffer in seconds and using it in conjunction with a count-in solves all these issues.

Having done this for 20+ years… it’s clear to me this count-off pre-record amount should be in seconds or ms, NOT tempo based. The benefits are that each recording will have the same amount of pre-record no matter what meter or tempo and makes comping and editing in other DAWs as well as Reaper MUCH easier since all the recordings have the exact same amount of pre-record.

I would also assume it’s easier to implement (coding-wise) if the pre-record buffer is always the same (fixed) time-based amount (not tempo or meter dependent).
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 09:20 AM   #16
Birdy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 189
Default

Definitely no reason for not having it.
I’ve requested this before myself.
Birdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 12:37 PM   #17
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Birdy View Post
Definitely no reason for not having it.
I’ve requested this before myself.
Having just completed a 2 week orchestral session... I cannot tell you how much I needed this feature. The session would have run so much smother with this feature. I think I'll have to make a detailed video as to why this is so necessary. Not sure people realize what an omission this is.
__________________
Cheers,
Andrew K
v6.03+dev0114 - January 14 2020 • Mac 10.12.+ • i7 Quad 2.9GHz • 24GB
Thonex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 12:51 PM   #18
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,320
Default

Yes, please definitely do that. I think it would help a great deal to understand.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 03:03 PM   #19
randbrown
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 20
Default Pre-record during Count-In

Please add this! The "pre-roll" is helpful for straight tempo/time signatures, but I do a lot of mixed time signatures and tempos. A count-in is much better to nail a part where there is a time/tempo change, and it would be super helpful to pick up that beginning transient attack or lead-in note that comes immediately before the cursor position.
randbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 02:55 AM   #20
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 647
Default

big +1 for me
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.