Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2020, 07:11 PM   #1
parametric
Human being with feelings
 
parametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nr Watford, UK
Posts: 56
Default "Best Practice" question for multiple solo instruments . . . .

I have a project that requires different solo instruments at different times during a piece.


Presently, I have all the instrument's "parts" contained in a single Midi media item with a single instance of Kontakt5 loaded.


Is it BETTER to add all the extra instruments to the Rack on this SINGLE Track, and allocate the instruments by Midi Channel, WITHIN the item . . . OR


Is it better to make a separate channel for each instrument, with it's OWN instance of Kontakt with a single instrument loaded?


As I'll probably be adding envelopes to each instrument later - I'm guessing that for clarity (and sanity) - individual tracks would be more intelligible?


I'm also guessing that CPU load and latency is also in the equation?


What's the consensus?


Many Thanks


parametric
__________________
Alesis Fusion 6HD and 8HD BOTH with 384Mb/120Gb SSD - Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha SY85/ NI Komplete11 Ultimate
parametric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2020, 09:34 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,967
Default

You have a third option and much preferred if you're going to be automating each one. Individual MIDI tracks all sending individual channel to 1 Kontakt instance. This is the best for CPU use and project load speed.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2020, 06:05 PM   #3
parametric
Human being with feelings
 
parametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nr Watford, UK
Posts: 56
Default

Ah . . . .



You mean take Kontakt OFF the individual instrument tracks, and just SEND them to a track That HAS Kontakt, with a rack of instruments . . .



The different instruments will still need to be on different Midi channels - right?, otherwise they will ALL play ALL of the instruments in the Rack?


THANKS for the hint :-)


parametric
__________________
Alesis Fusion 6HD and 8HD BOTH with 384Mb/120Gb SSD - Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha SY85/ NI Komplete11 Ultimate
parametric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 01:56 PM   #4
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 260
Default

While you're at it, set yourself up a template with one instance of Kontakt, and 8 MIDI tracks (each on channel 1-8) that feed in to Kontakt.
I'd put all this in a folder.

Then save it as a track template - and load this whenever you want to use Kontakt

When you load more than one instrument in the Kontakt rack - you just set it's MIDI channel to the right one.
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 07:00 PM   #5
parametric
Human being with feelings
 
parametric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nr Watford, UK
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks John,

Of course - TEMPLATES . . . .

Dammit, Reaper is SO customisable. It's just remembering where all this

stuff IS when you want it! Thank God for Kenny Gioia . . . .

I supported ProTools and MOTU DP for 18 years . . . Great DAWs, but

I love Reaper and will be only too happy to re-register and Pay when

it comes around . .

ATB

parametric
__________________
Alesis Fusion 6HD and 8HD BOTH with 384Mb/120Gb SSD - Yamaha MOXF6/1024Mb Flash/Akai ADVANCE61/Yamaha SY85/ NI Komplete11 Ultimate
parametric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.