Old 01-13-2006, 08:36 AM   #1
neueWelt
Human being with feelings
 
neueWelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 15
Default Stereo Moniter

Hy guys,
I was playing around woth REAPER yesterday and was wondering is the moniter playback reflects the panned stereo postions of teh different tracks. WHen ever I play my project it only play on the left speaker and only the left moniter level meter lights up, regardless of where I have the trackes panned. When I render teh project to a single wave the stereo seems to work fine but I can't figure out how to get it to refelect this when monitering. Do I have a setting workng or is this just not implemented yet. Thanks a lot for your help.
neueWelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 02:02 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neueWelt
Hy guys,
I was playing around woth REAPER yesterday and was wondering is the moniter playback reflects the panned stereo postions of teh different tracks. WHen ever I play my project it only play on the left speaker and only the left moniter level meter lights up, regardless of where I have the trackes panned. When I render teh project to a single wave the stereo seems to work fine but I can't figure out how to get it to refelect this when monitering. Do I have a setting workng or is this just not implemented yet. Thanks a lot for your help.
Something appears to be awry in your sound device setup.. go to the preference audio device page, and try some different settings... what mode are you using, etc?

-Justin
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2006, 09:33 PM   #3
neueWelt
Human being with feelings
 
neueWelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 15
Default

Hi,
Thanks a lot for the quick response. As it turns out, I did have the ASIO output setting wrong. I'm using a M-Audio Delta 1010 for my sound card and I had both left and right output set to 3-ASIO 3/4 Out insteat of left set to 3-ASIO 3/4 Out and right set to 4- ASIO 3/4 Out. Since the Delta 1010 already groups stereo outputs in sets of two and REAPER does not, I didn't relize that REAPER interprtted the 3-ASIO 3/4 Out seperatly from the 4-ASIO 3/4 output. Anywhy, I got it set correctly and it seems to be working great now.

Brilliant interface and the pan and volume envelops are hard to find in inexpensive editing software. Keep up the good work and thanks for the help.

On a side note, is there anywhy to control the frequnency of the .wav recordings. I have found the option to switch between 16 and 24 bit files, but I have not seen an option to select differnt frequencies (44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 96 kHz, etc.). Does REAPER record in the frequency set in the audio card's control panel or does it always use a default value? Any elaboration on this matter would be appreciated. Thanks
neueWelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 03:18 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neueWelt
On a side note, is there anywhy to control the frequnency of the .wav recordings. I have found the option to switch between 16 and 24 bit files, but I have not seen an option to select differnt frequencies (44.1 kHz, 48 kHz, 96 kHz, etc.). Does REAPER record in the frequency set in the audio card's control panel or does it always use a default value? Any elaboration on this matter would be appreciated. Thanks
REAPER records at whatever samplerate the soundcard is configured for.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.