Old 02-16-2016, 11:49 AM   #1
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default Reaper 5 and retina support

Hey everyone, Been working on a Macbook recently. It was great to see that Waves plugin GUI has been fixed finally! HUGE THANKS to the debs for fixing it!

Now Iwas wondering. What really stops us from having Retina supported themes for Reaper 5?

And before some people get all pissy about the Retina Screen term, I know it's just a resolution treated as the 1/2 of the native screen res. So 2880x1800 shows as 1440x900. All that aside. I just want us to have the images and waveforms sharp on screen.

Possible?
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 01:38 PM   #2
CyberAP
Human being with feelings
 
CyberAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 50
Default

Lack of SVG support in the current theme editor probably.
CyberAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 01:42 PM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,804
Default

Yeah, vector graphics will do it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 07:40 AM   #4
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Yeah, vector graphics will do it.
can't we have themes with double sized images? Like it's done in CSS/HTML world for retina displays?
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 05:05 AM   #5
CyberAP
Human being with feelings
 
CyberAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vendetta V View Post
can't we have themes with double sized images? Like it's done in CSS/HTML world for retina displays?
I am wondering how it will look on 1.5x and 3x scaled systems.
CyberAP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 08:56 AM   #6
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberAP View Post
I am wondering how it will look on 1.5x and 3x scaled systems.
Terrible as expected
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 05:19 PM   #7
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vendetta V View Post
I just want us to have the images and waveforms sharp on screen.

Possible?
Yes it is very possible, you just install Windows and use the working version of Reaper, OSX version is not priority in terms of development, which seems to be the case with most developers now (OSX Studio One is even worse developed than Reaper for instance)
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 02:05 AM   #8
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,385
Default

That is a good Feature Request.

Native resolution waveform overviews at all times. It's only a matter of time before Windows users run in to this problem down the road.

Post this in the feature request forum.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:04 AM   #9
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,025
Default Retina displays 101

I'm curious - can someone post a pic or two of the appearance of Reaper and some plug-ins on a Retina screen?

And, what causes the problem(s)?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:38 AM   #10
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
Yes it is very possible, you just install Windows and use the working version of Reaper, OSX version is not priority in terms of development, which seems to be the case with most developers now (OSX Studio One is even worse developed than Reaper for instance)
That's very interesting. I had no idea Cockos were placing Mac OS development on the back-burner. Presumably they'll stop making a Mac version at all?

Could you supply a list of functions that the Windows version has that have not been implemented in the Mac version please? That would be very helpful.

Also, could you let us know how the Windows version of REAPER deals with high pixel-density displays please?
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 04:44 AM   #11
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
I'm curious - can someone post a pic or two of the appearance of Reaper and some plug-ins on a Retina screen?

And, what causes the problem(s)?
I just got a new 27" iMac the other day, and was worried about the Retina display and REAPER. Honestly though, apart from having more screen real estate than my old 21.5" screen, I have not noticed a difference. I mean, if I really concentrate I can see a very slight fuzziness, but it's just not a problem, and more than compensated by the extra real estate.

Here's a screenshot from a zoomed-in waveform, which is probably where you can notice it the most (actual size, but ignore the colour-depth reduction weirdness from the PNG compression):
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 11.33.05.jpg (7.3 KB, 287 views)
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 05:13 AM   #12
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,025
Default

Thank you.

Here's a comparison of the appearance here (on a non-Retina display, in Windows) with a snippet from your pic:

__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 05:25 AM   #13
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Thank you.

Here's a comparison of the appearance here (on a non-Retina display, in Windows) with a snippet from your pic:

Whoa!

Your pic looks unrecognisable!

What's weird is, I tried taking a .TIF screenshot with a different programme (Grab), but the shot looked a bit more blurry than the display did.

Weirdness. Anyway, I'm very happy to say that Retina is working fine for me
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 08:39 AM   #14
swiiscompos
Human being with feelings
 
swiiscompos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lausanne (CH)
Posts: 1,107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
That's very interesting. I had no idea Cockos were placing Mac OS development on the back-burner. Presumably they'll stop making a Mac version at all?

Could you supply a list of functions that the Windows version has that have not been implemented in the Mac version please? That would be very helpful.

Also, could you let us know how the Windows version of REAPER deals with high pixel-density displays please?
It's absolutely not the case. There are actually many OSX specific fixes and updates. And the functions are the same as in Windows.
swiiscompos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 08:53 AM   #15
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiiscompos View Post
It's absolutely not the case. There are actually many OSX specific fixes and updates. And the functions are the same as in Windows.
Oh yeah, I was just acting naive in a sarcastic fashion to see if there was any substance to gpunk_w's tiresome trolling
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2016, 10:29 AM   #16
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 340
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
Oh yeah, I was just acting naive in a sarcastic fashion to see if there was any substance to gpunk_w's tiresome trolling
Reel 'em in!
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 09:38 AM   #17
Vendetta V
Human being with feelings
 
Vendetta V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Currently in Armenia
Posts: 1,113
Default

for me most of the stuff looks fine except the icons. Those icons on the top left side (toolbar?) look pixelated. A lot of the other stuff looks fine in my opinion
__________________
Vendetta V @ VMS studio
Check my music here : Avant-Garde Psycho Metal
Check my studio here : Video and Audio services
Vendetta V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 03:25 PM   #18
Erased_Head
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Default Retina display or high resilutiins issues

Hi, Im a graphic designer and also use reaper for my music projects. The ui (interface) in reaper have a lot of problems whit the typographi, buttons images ands screen resolution over a mac whit retina display resolution. I think is important to correct this because an a good interface help the visual workflow and you can work more fast. Your eyes get tired less etc. You can test it for example in logic (
I'm not saying that you use logic, just look at the clarity of your visual elements, letters, buttons, sizes.)
I hope that programmers and designers of reaper continue to improve in this aspect and give us an interface worthy of great software such as.
Erased_Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 12:56 AM   #19
Mage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erased_Head View Post
Hi, Im a graphic designer and also use reaper for my music projects. The ui (interface) in reaper have a lot of problems whit the typographi, buttons images ands screen resolution over a mac whit retina display resolution. I think is important to correct this because an a good interface help the visual workflow and you can work more fast. Your eyes get tired less etc. You can test it for example in logic (
I'm not saying that you use logic, just look at the clarity of your visual elements, letters, buttons, sizes.)
I hope that programmers and designers of reaper continue to improve in this aspect and give us an interface worthy of great software such as.
I noticed scary decadence in my eyesight since I spend a significant amount in front of Reaper on a 5k display. I spent most of my life in front of a monitor, but Reaper stresses my eyes more than anything else. In maybe a thousand details, Reaper is better than the other DAWs I tried. Every time I try something else, I feel like crying.

But in the last few days, I’m getting more and more determined to switch to either Ableton or Logic Pro X. I thought I would wait until I finish my project. I’m not sure I should do it.

My eyes are worth me more than how easy it is to freeze/render/route/export my music.
Mage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:21 AM   #20
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 340
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mage View Post
My eyes are worth me more than how easy it is to freeze/render/route/export my music.
Yes, supporting current graphics standards is actually more important than most new features.

Reaper could really use a visual facelift.
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 10:25 AM   #21
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,558
Default

They are working on that heavily,as you can see in prereleases.

My bet would be v6 but I think there are tons to do, check and make stable before that. This shouldn't be done halfhearted, imho.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 03:24 PM   #22
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 340
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mespotine View Post
My bet would be v6 but I think there are tons to do, check and make stable before that. This shouldn't be done halfhearted, imho.
Is there a thread anywhere with all the commits that are planned for v6.0?
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 05:24 AM   #23
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,558
Default

No and I would think it's better that way, to not create expectations the devs cannot fulfill in the end due reasons(tm).

Best thing is to check out the pre-release-versions in the pre-release-subforum. The changelog might or might not be a hint for v6.
Only the devs know in the end.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 03:47 PM   #24
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 340
Default

Okay thanks for the heads up.
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 06:53 AM   #25
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erased_Head View Post
Hi, Im a graphic designer and also use reaper for my music projects. The ui (interface) in reaper have a lot of problems whit the typographi, buttons images ands screen resolution over a mac whit retina display resolution. I think is important to correct this because an a good interface help the visual workflow and you can work more fast. Your eyes get tired less etc. You can test it for example in logic (
I'm not saying that you use logic, just look at the clarity of your visual elements, letters, buttons, sizes.)
I hope that programmers and designers of reaper continue to improve in this aspect and give us an interface worthy of great software such as.
Totally Amen to this .. Wellsaid ! #fingerscrossed.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.