Old 03-03-2010, 11:18 AM   #1
ChaseEversole
Human being with feelings

Default Mic-->Mic Pre-->??

I am a bit confused, I have been recording music the newer modern way for about 8 months now. (Microphone into interface into DAW) But how do you connect a Mic pre into this chain, such as an API 3124, do you connect it to your interface? Looking to eventually go a different route for recording, as well as being informed in other ways of doing things.
ChaseEversole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:25 AM   #2
d.bop

Mic -> Pre -> line-in on your interface.

Your interface already has preamps, but you'll be bypassing them by using the line-in jacks. If you want to get rid of the interface you have now, you'll need an A/D converter, which is basically the way your current interface would be functioning with external pre's anyway.

That's how I've come to understand it anyway.
Old 03-03-2010, 07:00 PM   #3
ChaseEversole

Quote:
Originally Posted by d.bop View Post
Mic -> Pre -> line-in on your interface.

Your interface already has preamps, but you'll be bypassing them by using the line-in jacks. If you want to get rid of the interface you have now, you'll need an A/D converter, which is basically the way your current interface would be functioning with external pre's anyway.

That's how I've come to understand it anyway.
With doing this, there is no way to use the individual pre's as an input for a single track only is there? As in, say we have a Pre with 8 mic ins, and we run that into an interface, since the pre is just a pre, it cannot send a single signal from "mic pre A" to "track A" and "mic pre B" to "track B" in your DAW so to speak. It will only combine all of the pres on one track, correct?
ChaseEversole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:07 PM   #4
karbomusic

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaseEversole View Post