Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Closed Thread

Old 05-25-2021, 07:16 AM   #1
mafg1953
Human being with feelings

Default Gain Staging - Fader Level - Initial Volume

Hi,

I’m new to all this and am starting off with mixing multi-tracks that are available and free on various websites. I want to make sure that I’m starting at the right point so that my next steps won’t need to be re-done.

I understand that there needs to be headroom in your mix when you are finished and that when working with the faders, it’s best to work with them in the single digit range (as it’s more accurate) and that an initial setting for the faders of -6dB is a good starting point. I’m not sure exactly what that means and was wondering if anyone can explain/clarify.

When I pull my audio files in, the faders are at 0. Do I need to pull them all down to say -6, and then use the item volume controls to get the audio back up to its original volume?

Maybe I’m overthinking this.

Thanks,

Mike
Old 05-25-2021, 07:26 AM   #2
serr

Set the volume control on your monitor system for listening to music that is not volume war hyped. Then your ears will tell you when something is too loud before a red light lights up. You can be intuitive.

"Proper" levels are -16 to -12 LUFS
Volume war CDs can be as blasted out as -7 LUFS
(Mp3s are always made from the hyped CD copy.)

Setting your volume for volume war CD listening would make it pretty confusing to mix! It might be like trying to create a thumbnail size artwork directly at thumbnail size initially.

You can get fancy with calibrations and there's more to talk about but this will get you matter of fact started.
Old 05-25-2021, 09:32 AM   #3
DVDdoug

Quote:
I understand that there needs to be headroom in your mix when you are finished
Headroom is a funny thing... Headroom (mostly*) is for "unexpected" peaks. If you don't use the headroom you didn't really need it and if you use it then it's no longer headroom...