Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2009, 02:12 PM   #1
Malevol3nt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 107
Default Store .fxp presets to a Reaper Preset Library file (.RPL)?

I've got some 2000+ preset files I've made over the years for various vst synths, and it's a bit of a hassle trying to load each one individually into Reaper.

Is there some kind of external software that could save a bunch of .fxp presets as a single *.rpl file, loadable by Reaper? Or is there an easier way to manage presets in Reaper that I'm not aware of?
Malevol3nt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 03:07 PM   #2
Malevol3nt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 107
Default

Maybe it would be easier to create an .fxb bank out of .fxp presets, and then just import that into Reaper. So is there a tool to do such a thing?
Malevol3nt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:03 PM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,464
Default

bumping this

I just searched the forum to find a way to batch convert .fxp files in a .RPL (Reaper preset bank) or fxb but only found this thread.
Some third party VST presets come in single fxp files, it would be nice to have them combined in Reaper's preset dropdown without loading them one by one.

Any ideas ?
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 01:44 PM   #4
Malevol3nt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 107
Default

It seems the fxp and fxb files are xml-formated, so converting a bunch of fxp files into an fxb bank shouldn't be a problem (unless each VST handles fxb files differently for some reason).

Only Cockos would know how to convert fxp's to .RPL, since they're written in some kind of xml/chunk format.

I think I saw an .fxp to .fxb converter somewhere on kvraudio, but it was a dead link. I'll have another look..


Edit: Yeah, here's the thread >> http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/archiv...4-03/37791.php

Dead link for the app, unfortunately.
Malevol3nt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 02:03 PM   #5
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,775
Default

The only ways to get rudimentary management functions for FXP/B files are MiniHost IIRC and an app of which I forgot the name. There's no way to batch-convert patch files (FXP) into bank files (FXB) I know of. I don't know if converting this to RPL (which doesn't have much more management functions than FXP/B IMO) will improve that situation.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:33 PM   #6
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,464
Default

Did some Google research in the meantime and found that Cantabile can do it. Did some testing conversion of single .fxb's to .fxb and it worked.

Even the lite/free version, yeah.
http://www.cantabilesoftware.com/lite/
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:50 PM   #7
mtthw
Human being with feelings
 
mtthw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,162
Default

I think the way to convert .fxp to a bank is to load all of the .fxp's, one after the other, each in its own slot, then save the whole thing as a bank. It might be easier to just use folders to organize patches, unless you want to modulate and switch from one patch to another, then I guess you would need to bank it.
mtthw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 04:06 PM   #8
-R-
Human being with feelings
 
-R-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 305
Default

Nofish, may I ask how you did that with Cantabile? Thank you!
-R- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 06:47 PM   #9
JoeyM123
Human being with feelings
 
JoeyM123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -R- View Post
Nofish, may I ask how you did that with Cantabile? Thank you!
I can get you closer, and hope those eight years went by quick... it's Cantabile Lite version 2.x (which happens to be free!) that does fxp-to-fxb conversion. Brad the head of Cantabile said so, and so far I've got one of the lites, emailed for a free license and that auto system still works, so here is the download link:

https://www.cantabilesoftware.com/download/

I haven't tried it but have seen people having results and otherwise am pretty impressed with this live VST(i) system. Very cool. Thanks brad :-)
JoeyM123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 11:00 AM   #10
dunego
Human being with feelings
 
dunego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 81
Default

Shit, I still can't load UAD presets into reaper. Bout to make 10 years now. That's a shame.
dunego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 11:27 AM   #11
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 2,371
Default

Is fxp documented somewhere?
__________________
Use you/she/her, when contacting me, please. Thanks :) Not mentoring via PMs, sorry.
Ultraschall-API - 1385 ReaScript functions for Reaper - Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.