Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2017, 08:59 AM   #1
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,191
Default Stylish ReaScript GUIs: Transparent backgrounds and no titlebars

Transparent, overlaid graphics are de rigueur for stylish, professional-looking GUIs.

As an example, a transparent GUI over an automation envelope in Studio One:




In order for ReaScripts to draw such transparent overlaid GUIs, two API improvements are required:

* Option for transparent background: At present, the backgrounds of ReaScript GUIs are opaque black. Perhaps gfx.init can gain an additional (seventh, boolean) argument that indicates whether the background should be transparent.

* Option for no titlebar: This has already been requested in the thread Titleless window? in the JSFX and ReaScript subforum. An empty string or 0 as first argument to gfx.init can indicate that the GUI should not have any titlebar.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Studio One - Example of transparent overlay.jpg (61.0 KB, 237 views)

Last edited by juliansader; 05-29-2018 at 11:51 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 09:08 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

Boy, oh boy, I see where this is going to!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 09:43 AM   #3
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,552
Default

Yes please.

For transparent backgrounds, I think it would make more sense to just add alpha to the gfx.clear value.
__________________
Currently enrolled in a coding bootcamp; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack

Last edited by Lokasenna; 03-08-2017 at 09:53 AM.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 11:18 PM   #4
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 419
Default

Big +1
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2017, 05:10 PM   #5
run_esc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 197
Default

+1000, especially no titlebars!
run_esc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2017, 05:16 PM   #6
ijijn
Human being with feelings
 
ijijn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 479
Default

Agreed, and overlaps nicely with this FR.
ijijn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2017, 05:21 PM   #7
sjebrane
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Default

love this
i love ableton background its slick hop u can make one like that
sjebrane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 04:32 AM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,213
Default

@Juliansader
Wit your new extension, maybe this could be solved ? :P


(not easy though, as it will meas knowing the positions of points behind the window)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 02:38 PM   #9
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 49
Default

I need it so much!Please!

nappies is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 03:39 PM   #10
Nostrap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nappies View Post
I need it so much!Please!

What theme are you using? Looks nice
Nostrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 04:08 PM   #11
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 49
Default

Nostrap, My custom theme, not released yet. But I`ll share it very soon here https://www.facebook.com/MydawEdition/
nappies is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 12:27 PM   #12
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nappies View Post
I need it so much!Please!
At present, probably the closest that you can get to a frameless script GUI, is copy the pixels of the underlying window onto the GUI frame. In this example, I also added a transparent red overlay:

juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 01:54 AM   #13
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 569
Default

Monochrome ain't good enough for ya?

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 05:59 AM   #14
n0ne
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 68
Default

+1!!
n0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 07:24 AM   #15
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,616
Default

+1, would be a welcomed evolution of the GUI!
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 12:04 PM   #16
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 49
Default

juliansader thanks for tip! I want to try,but I am not a good programmer. Did I have a chance that you saved this piece of code? Use as example for learning?)))
nappies is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.