Old 10-29-2020, 05:41 AM   #1
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 704
Default variable tempo mapping

Ability to map tempo of a loaded song/clip or a performance being recorded even if the song has tempo changes, building a tempo map on the fly that matches the real tempo as "heard" from the song

Logic Pro X has a similar function (adapt Tempo)

Use case: I just had to record an additional layer on a song that was not all on the same beat (the beat was changing, floating around 78 - 82 bmp with a more abrupt change to 110 for the final part).
I had to insert manually tempo markers every now and then "by hear" to create a tempo map that would allow me to run a propoer metronome and insert loops that would match the song tempo

thanks
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 08:29 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,809
Default

This already has been discussed multiple times.

This is not easily done in a reasonable way.
Moreover there are 3rd party plugins that do this rather perfectly (such as Melodyne) which are costly for a reason .
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 05:03 AM   #3
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
This already has been discussed multiple times.

This is not easily done in a reasonable way.
Moreover there are 3rd party plugins that do this rather perfectly (such as Melodyne) which are costly for a reason .
-Michael
Logic Pro X does it.

Natively (no addon required)

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 05:53 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,809
Default

... and Logic comes with a ton of great plugins.

I know, but you are required to buy a Mac, hence cost does not matter.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 12:10 PM   #5
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,948
Default

You can use tempo tracking tools, Sonic Visualiser, sonic-annotator, with the right plugins. For midi there is midi optimizer.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2020, 03:31 AM   #6
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 704
Default

thanks all. I still don't understand why we should retreat from asking a good new feature.

So I reiterate my request. Devs will decide if and when to implement it based on complexity.
Might be never.

I'm not keen on accepting that Reaper is for poor people and Logic is for rich people with access to nice Mac. I own two mac pro but I still use Reaper

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2020, 06:47 AM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,809
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
You can use tempo tracking tools, Sonic .
I feel that this might be an excellent option - supposedly in par to what logic offers - and

free.

Rather obviously it can't be made native to Reaper.

Hence, this should be easily accessible e.g. via ReaPack - including a Reaper-specific guide on how to install and use it.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 12:07 PM   #8
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 704
Default

Yeah, it's quite a nightmare... I installed sonic and all plugins. I even managed to mark all beats in a song. but how to calculate the variable bpm and export it to a tempo map in Reaper... dunno..

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 03:24 PM   #9
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 2,948
Default

I would suggest trying all first with Sonic Visualiser, because you have the gui. Just assign sonic visualiser as another editor in reaper. Then after finding how to do it properly in sonic visualiser, you can do exactly same from command line using sonic-annotator, which you would define as another editor again. MusoBob did already something exactly along these lines for chord recognition with sonic-annotator, check his solution. He used the plugin chordino. In your case it would be exact same process only using another plugin.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 06:21 PM   #10
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,989
Default

This is an FR, could we please stop derailing threads? Thanks.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please consider donating to amagalma cfillion FeedTheCat HeDa Julian Sader lb0 nofish Sexan X-Raym
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 11:45 PM   #11
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,809
Default

As the FR - for very obvious reasons - very likely never will be acknowledged by the Reaper devs, it makes perfect sense to try to find and promote helpful alternatives.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2020, 09:11 AM   #12
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
As the FR - for very obvious reasons - very likely never will be acknowledged by the Reaper devs (...)
Pure speculation...
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2020, 03:38 AM   #13
Hypex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 214
Default

Reaper is already partially there. With transient detection. But by itself that isn't sophisticated enough to detect a beat. A clean drum track sure but most things people want to map from reading would be a full song or some downmix. In that case transients will be off right off the mark. Perhaps if one or a few tracks could be grouped and a beat filter applied Reaper could use transients to pick up a beat. Could be an extension of what Reaper already does like transient guides. Though transients may be too simple compared to the average beat detection algorithm.
Hypex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 02:39 AM   #14
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
As the FR - for very obvious reasons - very likely never will be acknowledged by the Reaper devs, it makes perfect sense to try to find and promote helpful alternatives.

-Michael
Why you think so?
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 05:53 AM   #15
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,809
Default

Providing ongoing support for such a complex additional "alien" feature would take too much resources from the small ) dev team. While supposedly (e.g.) Melodyne offers that functionality in a quite perfect way, and as this feature is rather native within the total "audio analyzing" functionality of Melodynes it's rather easy for them to support it in a perfect manner.
So I don't hold my breath.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 08:34 AM   #16
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
This is not easily done in a reasonable way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Rather obviously it can't be made native to Reaper.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
As the FR - for very obvious reasons - very likely never will be acknowledged by the Reaper devs (...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Providing ongoing support for such a complex additional "alien" feature would take too much resources from the small ) dev team.
Please stop trying to derail this feature request thread.
It's not up to you to decide what's feasable to implement or not.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 12:56 PM   #17
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Please stop trying to derail this feature request thread.
It's not up to you to decide what's feasable to implement or not.
+1 Totally agree on that.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please consider donating to amagalma cfillion FeedTheCat HeDa Julian Sader lb0 nofish Sexan X-Raym
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 02:42 PM   #18
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,809
Default

Sorry if I sounded too harsh-. Of course it's purely a decision of the devs. I just meant to be reasoning about likelihood.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 03:36 PM   #19
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,624
Default

+1. I saw Cubase doing this as well.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2020, 05:09 AM   #20
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
+1. I saw Cubase doing this as well.
yes it's a trending new feature appearing in all DAW in some way

g
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2020, 09:08 PM   #21
mayhemkrew
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 11
Default

I have been looking for this feature for like 3 years now. It's the only reason why I use Logic and Mac when I really wish to use Reaper and my PC! Even if it's a paid plugin, not Melodyne, and worked just as good as Logic then I would totally buy it.
mayhemkrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.