Old 05-03-2019, 07:33 AM   #1
Beemer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Scotland
Posts: 18
Default On starting a new project

I'm confused about the correct procedure for starting a new project. I'm able to make recordings and render them but I feel there is something not correct about my method.

I have opened a new project and I see the Project settings form. I select my preferences there and then "Save as default project settings" and hit OK.

Now at this point I can either start recording or I can name and save the project. So after I stop recording I go to render. In render I see the last render file name already entered. I have not found a way to have Reaper open the render page with the file area blank. So if I forget to overwrite the name and start the render the previous render file will be overwritten.

Is the above the normal procedure?
Beemer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 08:01 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 6,761
Default

Watch the amazing Kenny videos and hollar back

https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php#K4WhkBzK3PA

Scroll down
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 12:12 AM   #3
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Cranky Emu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beemer View Post
I have not found a way to have Reaper open the render page with the file area blank.
If you mean the render dialogue box, it can be opened at any point, whether you have tracks in the arrange area or not:
CTRL+ALT+R

Reaper, at least on mine and I am sure this is default action, asks before overwriting any files to confirm if you wish to overwrite the existing file(s).

Two excellent resources to help you with your Reaper travels:
Reaper Blog
Reaper Mania
__________________
♫ C. Emu ♫
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 12:45 AM   #4
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 6,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cranky Emu View Post
If you mean the render dialogue box, it can be opened at any point, whether you have tracks in the arrange area or not:
CTRL+ALT+R

Reaper, at least on mine and I am sure this is default action, asks before overwriting any files to confirm if you wish to overwrite the existing file(s).

Two excellent resources to help you with your Reaper travels:
Reaper Blog
Reaper Mania
Reaper does ask before overwriting files on render.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:09 PM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,441
Default

Quote:
Now at this point I can either start recording or I can name and save the project.
In my opinion the first thing to do with a project, before anything else, is do a Save as, give it a name, and be SURE to check the first two boxes at the bottom of the window...

then your project will contain all your files properly inside it's own folder
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 03:53 AM   #6
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
In my opinion the first thing to do with a project, before anything else, is do a Save as, give it a name, and be SURE to check the first two boxes at the bottom of the window...

then your project will contain all your files properly inside it's own folder
There are a couple of preferences that will help the OP too.

In the general preferences (I think it's <Ctrl+p> to open them), you can set a default project folder (mine is D:\Projects) - Should you prefer not to be prompted to enter a project name, and you record something before saving the project file, then your recordings will end up here.

You can also tell Reaper to force you to provide a project name when you create a new project (I find this a bit annoying to be honest...); But if you do then new projects will be created under the default project folder. (sorry, I'm not in front of the PC right now so I can't provide the exact prefs pages...).

<Alt+Enter> will open the project preferences: From there you can set (among other things), default project sample rate, wav file bit depth, and helpfully you can also specify a folder name for all recorded media (I use "media") - all recordings, or other project media will be saved to '<project_name\media>', assuming you saved the project first.

One last thing, if you do record something but forgot to save the project first, when you do decide to save it, remember to check either the 'copy items to project folder', or 'move items to project folder' (copy is safer, esp if you're using samples from a sample library, for example...).
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.