Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 01-10-2012, 03:57 PM   #1
Mudchild
Human being with feelings

Default RADIO PRODUCTION - Advice on running FILM/RADIO/TV SOUND FX WORKSHOPS for teens?

People

I'm a freelance small-time music producer working largely in schools and community settings in South Wales, doing music tech and mobile recording with young people (Reaper is my weapon of choice).

I also work with an arts charity for the visually impaired. Through them I got into guerilla radio drama production, and have recorded and produced a soap opera for their young people, complete with music, foley/library fx, ambience effects and all that. It's pretty much broadcast quality if I do say so myself!

I have another job for another client coming up which is relevant to this, but I'm scratching my head over it a bit. I'm being asked to provide 10 x 3hr taster workshops for groups of young people, aged 11-19, who are NEET (Not in Education or Training). Different group for each 3hr sesh. The subject of the workshops is basically Sound FX for TV, Film and Radio.

So I have to turn up with my laptop, mics and recording equipment and somehow engage young people with limited attention spans in what could be potentially a bit of a dry subject if not handled correctly. I need to make it a bit dynamic and engaging and fun if possible.

Basically I'm fishing for ideas on activities to get the kids doing, and keep them vaguely interested for 3 hours! I'm broadening the scope to 'sound manipulation' in general. I have some ideas and pretty good know-how already, but I could really use some brainstorming on this, so I'm asking any kind souls who have any relevant experience or ideas to help me with the chin-scratching process!