Old 03-23-2011, 08:19 AM   #1
guillaume
Human being with feelings

Default hear NO sound

I'm really new to this stuff and for now i don't have external sound card.I have a pc working with windows7
when i try to set my preferences/audio/device if i select asio it tells me that i dont have any asio driver. so i tryed WAVEOUT or DIRECTSOUND for audio device but there are no sound when i play back midi recording.

the demo file all trought the night work i hear the song but for midi recording i see the notes but no sound.

can someone help please
guillaume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:43 AM   #2
guillaume

Quote:
Originally Posted by guillaume View Post
I'm really new to this stuff and for now i don't have external sound card.I have a pc working with windows7
when i try to set my preferences/audio/device if i select asio it tells me that i dont have any asio driver. so i tryed WAVEOUT or DIRECTSOUND for audio device but there are no sound when i play back midi recording.

the demo file all trought the night work i hear the song but for midi recording i see the notes but no sound.

can someone help please

Ijust install asio driver and still dont hear a thing
Old 03-23-2011, 08:45 AM   #3
Fabian

Quote:
MIDI is not audio. MIDI is digital data, such as which note is played, how hard, how long etc, that an audio generator uses to produce audio. To get audio, you need to place on the track some "FX" that generates the audio. There are lots of free such FX's floating around, but you can start with ReaSynth that comes bundled with Reaper. Click the FX-button on the track, add ReaSynth and adjust its parameters while Reaper is playing. Then you'll have audio.

PS An excellent user guide is here http://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/REAPER_User_Guide, and while you're over at the wiki (http://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.ph..._Documentation), be sure to check out the quick start.
Old 03-23-2011, 08:58 AM   #4
guillaume

thanks a lot.I have reaper user guide.