Old 04-17-2019, 11:20 AM   #1
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default Lua: [emb] Area selection

Area selection (BETA)

PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS A BETA VERSION.
BACKUP REAPER CONFIGURATION OR TRY SCRIPT ON PORTABLE REAPER INSTALL.
More info: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1woz...ew?usp=sharing

I tested script on windows 7 only, it may not work properly on other os.

Dependencies:
js_ReaScriptAPI: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=212174
sws_ReaScriptAPI: http://www.sws-extension.org/

Download:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...zU?usp=sharing

How to install gif:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/16on...ew?usp=sharing

IN ORDER TO ACTIVATE AREA SELECTION MODE RUN ACTION:
[emb] ENABLE AREA SELECTION MODE (toggle).lua

NOW YOU CAN:
Right drag to make area selection.
Quick right click to clear area selection.
Resize time selection to resize area selection.
Resize works only if you have these options enabled:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ei0...ew?usp=sharing

IN ORDER TO EXIT AREA SELECTION MODE RUN ACTION:
[emb] ENABLE AREA SELECTION MODE (toggle).lua

First time Reaper will open window. Select:
1.Remember my answer for this script
2.Terminate instances


Customize appearance (Optional):

Replace marquee zoom cursor with this:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1LcH...ew?usp=sharing

Marquee zoom color:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1DZv...ew?usp=sharing

Media item edge color:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/154V...ew?usp=sharing

Give some transparency to media items:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1aVM...ew?usp=sharing

Settings i use:
1. https://drive.google.com/file/d/15_d...ew?usp=sharing
2. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NUT...ew?usp=sharing
3. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_nt...ew?usp=sharing

Customize area selection color, use actions:
[emb] Area selection options - Set color (automation).lua
[emb] Area selection options - Set color.lua

Last edited by Embass; 04-20-2019 at 03:46 AM.
Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 03:33 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Thanks for sharing !


I think you should emebed image in this post directly rather than having to click on it, so that users can be teased without effort :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 10:22 PM   #3
Mottemania
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Thanks for sharing !


I think you should emebed image in this post directly rather than having to click on it, so that users can be teased without effort :P
Thats so true

Thanks for this!
Mottemania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 01:17 PM   #4
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 302
Default

Great Idea! Beautiful code)
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 08:57 PM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

sweet... thank you

lucky me, I have the same system as you... so it works great

do you think it might be good if the rt clk to terminate also removed the remaining time selection?
and also left the items that were selected not selected any longer?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 01:12 AM   #6
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

From what I read, this script will change some Reaper settings, is that correct?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 12:58 PM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
From what I read, this script will change some Reaper settings, is that correct?
I did not see that... but can't swear it did not do something I am not aware of ATM...

It works nicely... I just had to set a diff hot key for when I want to delete just the area selected... easy enuff

smooth running code!

I'd like to see it not leave behind the time selection and the items selected when you terminate it..
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 04:08 AM   #8
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Update:

[emb] Area selection v0.11 (Beta)

Changelog:

+ [emb] Area selection options - Enable quick right click action (toggle).lua
+ [emb] Area selection options - Set quick right click action to 'Clear area selection'.lua
+ [emb] Area selection options - Set quick right click action to 'Clear area, time selection'.lua
+ [emb] Area selection options - Set quick right click action to 'Clear area, time, media item selection'.lua

+ [emb] Area selection action - Clear area, time, media item selection.lua
+ [emb] Area selection action - Clear area, time selection.lua

+ show warning message on startup

- [emb] Area selection options - Clear area selection on quick right click (toggle).lua

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Area selection script will change some settings. For now i restore settings to hard coded values.
In future versions there will be a way to customize to which settings you want to restore.
Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 06:05 AM   #9
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 855
Default

Great work Will be interesting to see how the two new area select tools compare. Wold there by any way to combine efforts or are they different approaches?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 03:28 PM   #10
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

thanks for the quick updates.... I like it much better now...

I am using it in a portable... but I wonder if there is detail about what changes to reaper it makes on a normal install?

also plz, what is the set color automation?

I get the other set color but not that one... what does it do?

EDIT: I am hoping that before long we will be able to use area selection with a control key to select more than one area... i.e., several areas of diff items
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva

Last edited by hopi; 04-24-2019 at 12:10 PM.
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.