Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Color Themes and Icon Sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2018, 11:22 AM   #81
mamazai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 351
Default

It's enough to investigate Pro tools.
mamazai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 02:18 PM   #82
vsgrt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

- A different and non-pistachio palette that doesn't feel like Frasier mixed with the austere dreams of a 90s accountant

- FX list in TCP would eliminate the mixer for most things, saving up a lot of screen estate

- Fixing the font on macOS by setting it to Bold (i can't imagine this taking more than a few minutes to fix but it leaves a horrible impression for newcomers on mac as is)

It's a pretty okay Default theme though overall, but as always with Reaper, the fundamentals are excellent, it just lacks polish, attention to UX-detail and taste. Even though that lack of taste is part of its utilitarian win98 charm!
vsgrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 04:55 AM   #83
AdRiX
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Default My GUI wishes

Something that I would find very nice to have:

1) different weight for the start measure vertical line in the track view grid
2) different weight for the start measure vertical line in MIDI editor ("piano roll")

if not possible:
3) change the weight of vertical lines in track view grid
4) change the weight of vertical lines in MIDI editor("piano roll")

Reason
In modern ultra high resolution monitors a 1-pixel line is _really_ thin :-)
AdRiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 10:34 AM   #84
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdRiX View Post
Something that I would find very nice to have:

1) different weight for the start measure vertical line in the track view grid
2) different weight for the start measure vertical line in MIDI editor ("piano roll")

if not possible:
3) change the weight of vertical lines in track view grid
4) change the weight of vertical lines in MIDI editor("piano roll")
I know you mean the size of the line, but in case you didn't know already, you can set custom colors on all those in the Theme Tweaker to help with visibility.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 01:34 AM   #85
Lestat66
Human being with feelings
 
Lestat66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 210
Default

An interface with a look and color theme similar to Black Magic Davinci Resolve video editor. A clean interface like this would be a good match for Default Reaper theme. Sorry I don't know how to post a pic. Here's website
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...ciresolve/edit

Last edited by Lestat66; 12-23-2018 at 01:40 AM.
Lestat66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 05:39 AM   #86
KenB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 59
Default

It looks OK ... but it seems to me we have plenty of similar looking themes already.

KenB
__________________
Windows 10 Home x64 v1607, Reaper x64 v5.33,
KenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 09:02 AM   #87
Theristis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Default

As others mentonied, i want a vector based scalable theme.

I guess realtime antialiased vector rendering will make rendering speed slower, so, I propose the following solution:

Each time you load a new vector based theme, REAPER will render all the SVG's to a cached bitmaps and use them for rendering the UI. REAPER will keep those cached bitmaps until the user requests a different UI scale.
Theristis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 02:44 PM   #88
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
I haven`t managed to find one yet - any suggestions? I find this really irritating when things get crowded on the mixer screen.
ditto to all..........
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 02:25 AM   #89
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 475
Default

.....and let's ALL be little dogies.......
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 09:14 AM   #90
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
You can already choose how many Insert slots are shown on the MCP. Move the divider above the routing button to change the size of the extended mixer area. Move the dividers inside the extended mixer area to change how that space is shared between inserts, sends and parameter knobs. Hold control while dragging to change all tracks, hold alt while dragging to change all selected tracks. Use the mixer menu button on the MCP master to blanket enable / disable your choice of inserts, sends and/or parameter knobs.

(blush) only just found this & thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Feel really dumb for not having asked this before or for that matter FINDING it before.
__________________
Why can`t we just all get along? Because the moneyed elite dont want us to.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:08 AM   #91
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 360
Default

Ugliness and beautifulness bla bla bla ... themes ... default themes ... bla bla bla

That's ok but ... don' you think that we need a solid FR ABOUT THE GUI instead?

Many of the things discussed here [AND IN DOZENS OF POSTS] are really useful and possitive ideas, but it is a mess ... if I were a DEV trying to know what users need it would take so much time to get the info.

I know, it is just my thoughts, but the default theme is not an issue because we have plenty of good themers here to do anything diferently if needed.

So, can we have a serious and solid FR to present to the DEVs about the GUI? If I could I would do it but my English and my knowledge to justify the features are not good enough.

So please !!! can anyone do this?

Last edited by Vagalume; 01-13-2019 at 07:05 AM.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.