Old 03-28-2007, 11:23 PM   #1
303
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default What soundcard do YOU use?

I've got an X-Fi Platinum for my next PC build, and it seems some of the software isn't what I had expected (after I actually took some time and read about it), rather, it's bloatware IMHO and frankly it seems like a joke to me. Case in point - the different "modes". I know I have a choice here, but dammit, I don't want to have to change between all these stupid modes just to play a game or listen to music. Fiddling with all these settings seems like it would be annoying.
I love all of the processing power associated with this beast, but Creative - come on and let go of the bloat. It's okay, your customers will love you for it.
I've been reading about a simple card with a chipset that is ASIO compatible - the CMI8738. If I can get a $10 sound card and have it do the basics of what I need without the bloat, that's gotta say something.
As an employee (no, I'm not in support) I've heard from the sales people that we are releasing a PCI-X card... anyone see any benefits of this? Is PCI just not up to par or does this seem like a marketing gimmick?
303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 11:53 PM   #2
cAPSLOCK
Human being with feelings
 
cAPSLOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 308
Default

I use a RME HDSP Digiface.

The only reason to go with PCIe over PCI is the disappearing slots.

PCIe is better but PCI can handle enormous amounts of data.
cAPSLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 12:03 AM   #3
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

I use an RME Fireface 800.
and i have an MBOX that collects dust and keeps issues of sound on sound from falling over on the shelf.

t.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 12:27 AM   #4
happymonkey
Human being with feelings
 
happymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 650
Default

I'm using the M-Audio Delta 1010.

hm
happymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 04:22 AM   #5
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,238
Default

FF 800 here, love it
Bevosss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 04:50 AM   #6
Alistair S
Human being with feelings
 
Alistair S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,494
Default

I use a Phonic Helix 12 FW. It does what it needs to do for me.
Alistair S is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 08:51 PM   #7
303
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Default

If I would actually create as much music as I use soundcards for games, then I'd probably be using something like what you guys have - Deltas, boxes, etc.

Believe me, I'm reading each of what you've submitted and doing some research here.
303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 10:13 PM   #8
Rann
Human being with feelings
 
Rann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jackson, Ms
Posts: 106
Default

I have an M-Audio Delta Series 24/96. It's a pretty good card for the money.
Rann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 11:54 PM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,435
Default

Mostly MOTU here.. 896, 896+896HD+BehringerADA8k (24 channels total), Traveler..

Despite what people say about MOTU pres, I like 'em.. and the drivers are GREAT.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 02:55 AM   #10
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,504
Default

M-Audio Delta 66 PCI & Line 6 TonePort UX2 USB here. Primarily, I use the Delta 66 when recording/mixing (lower latencies and more efficient CPU usage) except when I want to use Gearbox (with TonePort Direct Monitoring) then I'll use the UX2 USB and record direct from that.


Cheers,

Billy Buck

Last edited by billybk1; 03-30-2007 at 05:40 AM.
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 04:52 AM   #11
DuX
Human being with feelings
 
DuX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Underworld
Posts: 1,092
Default

Let's see... RME HDSP 9632, Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic on the other computer and sometimes nVidia onboard audio through Realtek 888 on this one. Looking forward to finally buy an external interface and I got my eyes set on Motu 896HD or RME FF800, not sure yet, still saving the money and

I'm also waiting to see what's gonna happen on the PCI-E front beside RME multiface and Motu 828. I'd like to see some RME, MOTU or Lynx "pro" PCI-E solutions to come out.

Cheers!

Last edited by DuX; 03-30-2007 at 04:55 AM.
DuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 05:03 AM   #12
likenokevin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 199
Default

M-Audio Delta 1010LT.

I'm thinking about adding either another 1010 or a Delta 44. I just need a few more inputs.

BTW, does anyone where I could buy an extension cable for the 44pin d-sub connection? I'm thinking if I could get about a 4-6 foot extension cable I could make a homemade breakout box for my 1010LT.

Last edited by likenokevin; 03-30-2007 at 05:08 AM.
likenokevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 05:39 AM   #13
maa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 1,276
Default

MOTU HD 192 - Studio
Terratec Phase 24 (brilliant little box) - Mobile
Terratec DMX 6 Fire - Home

All superb and I'd buy them again.


--
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 06:11 AM   #14
Ike_Boffo
Human being with feelings
 
Ike_Boffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 61
Default

Echo Layla3G. Only wish I could use PureWave with Reaper. ASIO has been working fine though.
Ike_Boffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 10:05 AM   #15
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

EMU1820M
Presonus FireBOX
Tascam US-122

All work great with Reaper.

I set up a rig where I use to go to church using a MOTU 24I/O. That was one sweet unit. Direct Outs from FOH mixer, straight into the Line Ins on the MOTU. They had n-Track Studio though... Whatever, the MOTU was sweet!

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 10:30 AM   #16
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,248
Default

MOTU traveler. Swapped a Digi 002R for it last week. Nice little box, the driver is really something (not sure how MOTU gets lower latency than others at the same sample rate, maybe they have magical pixie unicorn math). I think the pres sound really good, I don't know if they are the same pres as the 896 that everyone always rags on. The knobs are annoying and my god I wish it had a mute button.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 10:40 AM   #17
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DuX View Post
I'm also waiting to see what's gonna happen on the PCI-E front beside RME multiface and Motu 828. I'd like to see some RME, MOTU or Lynx "pro" PCI-E solutions to come out.
seems RME will bring the their whole line to PCIe: http://www.sonicstate.com/news/shownews.cfm?newsid=4493





(RME HDSP 9632 here)
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 05:32 PM   #18
matt avery
Human being with feelings
 
matt avery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: rochester, new york
Posts: 105
Default

m audio quattro... eh it works. but its pretty buggy sometimes.
matt avery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 06:31 PM   #19
ieso
Human being with feelings
 
ieso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 489
Default

RME Multiface. Every day for 5 years it's been flawless
ieso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 06:39 PM   #20
sebas777
Human being with feelings
 
sebas777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,181
Default

RME HDSP 9632 here Driver 3.05.2

UAD for processing, and Marian ADAT converters (I really love them even though it looks like I downgraded from Frontier Tango 24).

Btw Frontier has the best techsupport in the world, I often got answers directly from the people who designed their gear, and always within a few hours).

The reason to "downgrade" was because Tango converters really sounded so flat and revealing, that I couldn't enjoy any of my works in progress (add to this that I used NS10 for nearfield monitoring at the time).

Marian has warmer sound (maybe it's the narrower frequency bandwidth), and the built-in pres sound quite good (sort of a SM7 radio announcer sound). The result is very natural, musical sound, even if your equipment is not very expensive.

On the other hand, you cannot change from -10 to +4 separately per input or output, like you can with Frontier Tango.

Last edited by sebas777; 09-13-2007 at 04:36 PM.
sebas777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2007, 03:00 AM   #21
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,563
Default

2xYamaha DSP factory running LUI. Hard to recommend these days.
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 01:13 AM   #22
PeteHalo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hämeenlinna, Finland
Posts: 26
Default

3xCreamware Pulsar2 working great and offer pro quality effects and instruments and plenty of i/o options. As a guitar player I specially dig the Dynatube tube guitar amp simulator because no other software amp sim that I know of is capable of latency free monitoring of the simulated amp sound.
PeteHalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 06:25 AM   #23
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

m-audio delta 1010. the buglessest piece of hardware i've ever seen.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 07:03 AM   #24
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ike_Boffo View Post
Echo Layla3G. Only wish I could use PureWave with Reaper. ASIO has been working fine though.
I use the same card. I never could understand the benefits of purewave though - Purewave uses the WDM drivers right??
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 08:03 AM   #25
Ike_Boffo
Human being with feelings
 
Ike_Boffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amberience View Post
I use the same card. I never could understand the benefits of purewave though - Purewave uses the WDM drivers right??
Actually no. It's designed to bypass WDM. With PureWave, it's audio software to PW driver to hardware. I used it with Vegas and still use it with SF when I cut to two-track, but Reaper doesn't like it.
Ike_Boffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 03:30 PM   #26
bardo
Human being with feelings
 
bardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San diego
Posts: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happymonkey View Post
I'm using the M-Audio Delta 1010.

hm
Me too!
I like the card but canot get the hang of the mixer they give you.
Bardo
bardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 03:50 PM   #27
todd24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 916
Default

I have a i88x and a EZbus. I use the ADAT from the EZbus into the I88x. I also have a spirtfolio mixer I use for extra pres. They sound pretty good.

I just bought a 01x to replace (or augment) the EZbus with. I will be up to 24 channels but I still will only have 18 pres.
todd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 05:54 AM   #28
kilroy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 94
Default

E-MU 1616m. Working great.
kilroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 09:10 AM   #29
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,704
Default

MOTU 484-based 24I/O.

I think the new Motu stuff is probably the best bang-for-buck solution if you can't afford Apogee or Lavry, EXCEPT....

Their support SUCKS imo, for a number of reasons.

.. and they appear bent to never support Linux. Which I guess doesn't matter, since I'm using Reaper anyhow.

Lynx is probably the only other stop-gap solution to get, IMO. I don't know how their stuff plays with Reaper, though...?
__________________
]]]>-guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 04:12 PM   #30
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ieso View Post
RME Multiface. Every day for 5 years it's been flawless
ditto, i love my RME
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 07:58 PM   #31
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

RME Hammerfall 9652 (The old one)

I love it.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 12:42 AM   #32
maa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 1,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chip mcdonald View Post
MOTU 484-based 24I/O.

I think the new Motu stuff is probably the best bang-for-buck solution if you can't afford Apogee or Lavry, EXCEPT....

Their support SUCKS imo, for a number of reasons.

.. and they appear bent to never support Linux. Which I guess doesn't matter, since I'm using Reaper anyhow.

Lynx is probably the only other stop-gap solution to get, IMO. I don't know how their stuff plays with Reaper, though...?
Judging by the Samplitude Pro forum, MOTU stuff is not used as much as RME.
The few that have MOTU are not complaining - since the arrival of the PCI424 card theres been no cause to.
Rock solid and stable.

Lynx on the other hand is having no end of trouble with lost buffers etc.


Cheers

M
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 05:32 AM   #33
lavalamp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I use a TC Electronic Konnekt 24D. The integrated FX (channel strip and reverb) are sweet and you can set it up in such a way that you can monitor them through the headphones but record a clean, unprocessed signal.
lavalamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:35 AM   #34
lyquist
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 421
Default

I use three soundcards currently...

M-Audio 2496
M-Audio Delta 44
M-Audio Delta 66

I probably should of just bought one big soundcard that would give me all the inputs that I needed, but I couldn't afford it all at once, so I bought them in pieces.
lyquist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 02:15 PM   #35
happymonkey
Human being with feelings
 
happymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bardo View Post
Me too!
I like the card but canot get the hang of the mixer they give you.
Bardo
I came here from Sonar (and Vegas long before that) and the Cakewalk site had instructions on how to configure the 1010. I did what they told me and have not had to change those settings yet.

I just did a quick search on both the m-audio and cakewalk sites and can not find this info anymore. Nice, huh?

Basically all input faders are all the way up, no channels muted, and the H/W out 1/2 is set to "monitor mixer". the back of the 1010 manual shows a few other options, but I've never used them.

hm
happymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 08:54 PM   #36
mzocoh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 26
Default

RME Multiface
mzocoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 05:26 AM   #37
Orfilinn
Human being with feelings
 
Orfilinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: France
Posts: 230
Default

I use Terratec EWX 24/96
Orfilinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 07:15 AM   #38
DuX
Human being with feelings
 
DuX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Underworld
Posts: 1,092
Default

Thanks Dandruff for the RME link! RME HDSPe will be sweet.

Cheers!
DuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 08:31 AM   #39
magicchord
Human being with feelings
 
magicchord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: L.A. Cahleefornia
Posts: 281
Default

I use 2 of the older Echo Layla 24/96 interfaces. They sound good and have always worked fine. Very low distortion and low noise, and they don't have extra crap like mic preamps which I don't need or want .

The cards are PCI; fortunately, I'm building a new computer that has 3 PCI slots, so I should be good for 3 or 4 years.
magicchord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 09:20 AM   #40
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

emu 1820m for 2 or 3 years.
2 decent preamps
6 line in
2 sets of midi
sp/dif
and adat connection if I should ever need more I/O.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.