Old 01-21-2019, 02:41 PM   #1
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 439
Default Reaper not playing nice with Battery

Hi all.

I just noticed this issue tonight with Battery (NI). I was wondering if someone could replicate using the following.

Load a freash Reaper project. Add a track and insert Battery as a vsti.
Load any kit in to battery.
Start clicking (with your mouse) around the various pads.
Try some rapid quick fire pad hits.

When I do the above, after a short time Battery stops firing the pads when they are clicked on. Now if I press play a shit load of sound all play at once. it is like they are held in a buffer and then all freed when play is hit.

Press stop.
Do they same again.

I can do this once or twice and then Reaper will crash. Every time. Very repeatable.

I do the same using NI Maschine or Harrison Mix Bus.. I have no problems at all.

It is only when battery is loaded into Reaper do I get this problem. It never used to be like this either. I upgraded to the latest Reaper version. Still the same.

I run win 7 on an i7 with 16gb ram.
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 03:51 AM   #2
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 439
Default

bump..

Some kind person with Battery help please..
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 04:06 AM   #3
smueske
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,228
Default

Which version of Battery?
smueske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 05:23 AM   #4
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smueske View Post
Which version of Battery?
Battery 4
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 07:02 AM   #5
MRT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 53
Default

Gave it a try in latest Reaperx64 win and seems to be fine here.
MRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 07:30 AM   #6
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRT View Post
Gave it a try in latest Reaperx64 win and seems to be fine here.
ok thank you.. then it is a setup issue in Reaper somewhere rather than a bug. No issues with my other DAWs just in Reaper.
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 12:17 AM   #7
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 439
Default

Further update.

It seems in is not only Battery that is affected but also Kontakt. I have Klip a Kontakt drum machine and it also has trouble playing sounds back when I hit the pads with the mouse. Interestingly, if I use a MIDI controller to play the sounds there is no problem only when using the mouse. All other DAWs and hosts do not have this problem. On my machine there is definitely something weird with how Reaper is playing with NI Kontakt and Battery.

One more thing I have noticed is that often Kontakt or Battery will not make a sound until I have pressed play on Reaper. It is like they need a kick start by pressing play before they will work. It is all very odd and new. It never used to be like this. All the NI stuff is up to date, as is Reaper.
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 12:23 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,311
Default

Make sure that this option is enabled in Reaper: Preferences->Audio->Playback->[x] Run FX when stopped
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 04:11 AM   #9
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 439
Default

Thanks ED, will give this a try.
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 12:06 AM   #10
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Make sure that this option is enabled in Reaper: Preferences->Audio->Playback->[x] Run FX when stopped
That fixed it mate.. Thank you very much..
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.