Old 05-30-2018, 02:29 AM   #1
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,380
Default FR Reaper 6 Default Theme - TCP Track Name field

This may or may not require some new WALTER stuff, and it's a simple request. It's a set of conditions for showing the TRACK NAME on the TCP.
Ability to prioritize expanding the size of the TRACK NAME field over showing more elements on the TCP
Reason
In the default 1-element-height TCP, once the TCP width shows all the elements, the TCP expands in to dead space on its right side, instread of giving the TRACK NAME field more room.


To illustrate


Now expanded to the right, but instead of expanding the track name, it created dead space on the right.




This is counterproductive, since dead space is unlikely to be as useful as the track name in what is likely to be all instances.


Hence the request to update the default theme either now or for v6, with new WALTER capabilities if necessary to address this problem.

I do realize that some folks will want to prioritize icons.

__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 03:42 AM   #2
sonicowl
Human being with feelings
 
sonicowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 347
Default

+1. Or ability to drag/resize trackname field.
sonicowl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 04:59 AM   #3
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,563
Default

You can already do that, watch kenny's video

Code:
variance     order_label      90  0   -4  0   0.1
change the Stretch Factor (sf) to be higher.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 06:29 AM   #4
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,380
Default

Thanks. That improves the situation, but doesn't use the available space if no Icon is present. There's still a significant amount of dead space stretching along, whereas I want the available space in the first row to be filled by the TCP label.



Perhaps there are additional controls that I missed. Once I understand the options fully and it feels like the functionality is lacking, I'll certainly bring it up in the v6 alpha process.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 08:26 AM   #5
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,563
Default

There's some very complicated WALTER in there to allow you to change the length, please make use of it. Its either long enough to fit your names or it isn't; that's not going to change for V6, V7 or V29.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.