Old 11-13-2015, 02:20 PM   #1
siehorst
Human being with feelings
 
siehorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
Default VLC install path not found

My reaper always has problems playing mp4 videos.
With the now 'Video Decoder information' window I get the messag:

Available decoder information:

========== VLC ==========
VLC install path not found, install VLC 2.0.x-2.2.x
...

but VLC is installed.

What can I do?
horst
siehorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 02:28 PM   #2
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 554
Default

REAPER and VLC must be installed with the same arch. both are 32-bit or 64-bit.
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 02:34 PM   #3
siehorst
Human being with feelings
 
siehorst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 385
Default

Hurah :-) thank you,
With the upgrade to V5 I have switched to 64 bit.
horst
siehorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2016, 02:52 AM   #4
endorka
Human being with feelings
 
endorka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 441
Default

You solved it for me too, thank you!

Jennifer
__________________
Producer | Arranger | Composer | Bass guitar | Double bass
Web: www.jenclarkmusic.com
endorka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:00 AM   #5
ShoGunzalez
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Default What do you mean?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
REAPER and VLC must be installed with the same arch. both are 32-bit or 64-bit.
With same arch? They both have to be 64-bit? I have version the most current version as of this date (09/25/2017) of reaper which I believe is the 64-bit version. How do I verify that they are both 64-bit? On the VLC website I don't see the option to download a 64-bit version of VLC... Or does "Same arch" mean like they have to be installed within a certain amount of time from each other? Any help is appreciated.
ShoGunzalez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:10 AM   #6
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,779
Default

32-bit and 64-bit are architectures. Yes, both REAPER and VLC must be using the same to work together. If you are running REAPER 64-bit you will have a "/64" in the title bar.

https://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html


Last edited by cfillion; 09-25-2017 at 12:22 AM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 02:08 AM   #7
audiocan
Human being with feelings
 
audiocan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
REAPER and VLC must be installed with the same arch. both are 32-bit or 64-bit.
Today, my friend, you saved my life. My thanks to you.
audiocan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 08:08 AM   #8
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 554
Default

Reading this thread makes me happy.

I'm glad to help!
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 07:10 AM   #9
greizdeifi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
Default VLC 3.0.0 not working

Thanks for all the hints. I also had an issue on Win 10 64 bit that my MP4 was offline. Turns out out that Reaper 5.76 is not working with VLC 3.0.0 at the moment. I had to go back to version 2.2.8 - the older versions are a little bit hidden on the web page but are still available here http://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/

Cheers.
greizdeifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 08:13 AM   #10
JVazquez
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Default

The same here. Both 64-bit. I had also to go back to VLC 2.2.8. Reaper 5.78 can't use VLC 3.x
JVazquez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 02:24 PM   #11
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Yeah for now stick with VLC 2.2.x
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=203099
__________________
JRENG! | M E T R I C
jrengmusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2018, 10:39 PM   #12
Esteban_M
Human being with feelings
 
Esteban_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greizdeifi View Post
Thanks for all the hints. I also had an issue on Win 10 64 bit that my MP4 was offline. Turns out out that Reaper 5.76 is not working with VLC 3.0.0 at the moment. I had to go back to version 2.2.8 - the older versions are a little bit hidden on the web page but are still available here http://download.videolan.org/pub/videolan/vlc/

Cheers.
This was what solved my problem too, thanks!
Esteban_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 03:38 AM   #13
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,385
Default

Up to date information can be found in this thread:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=82459


and this Wiki page:

http://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/Video_Support
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 02:31 AM   #14
moosefetcher
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Sorry for bumping an older thread, but I'm having the OP's exact problem.

I've checked with a friend and he can import and play mp4s fine in Reaper, with VLC v3 installed.
When he clicks 'show available decoder information' the popup shows that his Reaper is using a different (correct) path to find VLC. So my question is:

How do I set the VLC path so Reaper knows where to find VLC to play mp4 videos? I've searched online and in Reaper and can't find a solution.

Thanks for any help!
moosefetcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.