Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2017, 10:34 PM   #41
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,988
Default

+1 (from other thread)

Quote:
Hi,

I'd like to request stick tracks. The way it could work would be, that when you toggle track to be stick, when you vertically, it will either stick to the top when scrolling down from its original position, and stick to bottom when scrolling up from its original position. When view would be in the area of it's original position it would go back to its original position.

Alternatively, if track made sticky, it would just stick to the top, but just under the ruler, and stay there when scrolling. And we could stick as many track as we would want.

Either way, it would be very helpful for things like notes track ( with empty items with notes ), video track, main/leading tracks or earlier made midi chords track.

Thanks

Last edited by Kenny Gioia; 01-04-2017 at 10:40 PM.
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 02:36 AM   #42
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
I would think a Divider would be easier to implement as it wouldn't be changing the track order. Just what we're viewing.

What about another one on the other axis. Going from Left to Right?
It's an interesting idea. +1 for vertical/horizontal sticking.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 08:45 AM   #43
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 677
Default

Big +1 for this. Essential for high track count templates.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2017, 12:23 PM   #44
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,313
Default

People are probably wanting something more elegant the this, but a trick I use to do this is to use track groups (usually I use group 32 assigned to polarity).

Unless you use track groups a lot, then this might not work. But just assign tracks to a group, and then use actions/macros on that groups.

So if for this use case you could make a macro

select all track in group 32
show all selected track

you can then make a macro to easily assign tracks to that group, and assign a hotkey to your show group action.

obviously not super elegant, but I use this method fairly regularly, ymmv, cheers!
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 05:36 AM   #45
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 631
Default

+1 to the OP track stickyness idea
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 01:59 AM   #46
AndreyMarchenko
Human being with feelings
 
AndreyMarchenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 166
Default

One of the top idea ever!
__________________
Soundcloud, Bandcamp
AndreyMarchenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 12:23 PM   #47
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
can you give groups names? what are your other groups?
I don't believe you can give groups names, they are assigned my number. Other then this use, which is part of my normal setup, I don't really use groups much.

I should mention I don't use the open/close folders natively built into reaper. I built my own macros that show and hide children in a more fluid and controllable way for me. This being the case, I have a macro for example that hides all children, and then shows all "stickied" tracks. As well, I also have tracks assigned to a group that will always be hidden. So for example, I may have a macro to show all parents, show children with items, and then tacked to the end, I'll throw the macro to hide all "invisible" tracks. That way if I don't want to delete a track, I can still keep it around, but I don't have to see it.

HTH, cheers.
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 04:55 PM   #48
Alex Ortega
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 87
Default

+++++++++
Alex Ortega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 08:26 PM   #49
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,763
Default

Want.
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 08:29 AM   #50
raiirock
Human being with feelings
 
raiirock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Moscow
Posts: 99
Default

Still think it's a great idea
raiirock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 05:05 PM   #51
sambosun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 170
Default

Yes a must have in any DAW.

In Logic its global tracks. This way we could pin certain tracks and prevent them from scrolling out of the way
sambosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2017, 03:30 AM   #52
dimitris
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default

+++++
dimitris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2017, 11:13 AM   #53
Input_studio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Matosinhos, Portugal
Posts: 16
Default

This would be awesome for post and dialogue replacement/editing
Input_studio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2018, 07:27 AM   #54
Allspice
Human being with feelings
 
Allspice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 151
Default

Sticky tracks would be great, please.

There’s actually a 4-year old Q&A thread where people periodically come in and ask how to do this

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....36#post1944436
Allspice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2018, 07:48 AM   #55
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,790
Default

+1000, absolutely essential feature. Using it in Cubase all the time.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 10:52 AM   #56
Juan Uribe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Default

I would love to be able to pin tracks to the top. Let's make this happen!
Juan Uribe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 12:50 PM   #57
schapps
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Also in for a +1. It would be super helpful in Reaper. Like others have mentioned, I think the Cubase/Nuendo implementation of this is perfect.
schapps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 03:36 AM   #58
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,036
Default

I am doing some scripts experimentation :

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...5&postcount=16


This doesn't replace real track sticking as you don't access to any control. it is just for waveform alignment.



It can also help the
Faint Peak - Overlapping Items FR.



Last edited by X-Raym; 12-28-2018 at 03:02 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 05:04 AM   #59
Andi_Hammer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 8
Default

+1 to the OP`s idea
Andi_Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2018, 10:42 AM   #60
kudlatiy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 40
Default

yes yes please +1
kudlatiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 04:17 AM   #61
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

YES. 3 years on, still a good idea.

Wondering what is keeping Schwa & Justin from having a look at this.

Seems like a useful, logical addition to make. Especially for those of us using as lot of tracks.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2018, 09:07 AM   #62
juliuskrakow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
Default

I would love this
juliuskrakow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 08:41 AM   #63
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 659
Default

Majorly need. I've seen and requested this too, just trying to add a +1 wherever I can.
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 09:39 AM   #64
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,704
Default

Yeah, make it very simple, just a button that pins it.

I recently started using a program to monitor my CPAP use called "Sleepyhead", and it features "tracks" for breathing data, of which each one can be pinned to remain non-scrollable. Works great, I was just thinking about this last week...
__________________
]]]>-guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 12:38 PM   #65
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 750
Default

Useful feature +1.
__________________
Outboarder Scripts
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 01:49 PM   #66
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 564
Default

Yes please !
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 06:03 AM   #67
jessesbakery
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Adding my +1 here too.
jessesbakery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2018, 07:27 AM   #68
jessesbakery
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jessesbakery View Post
Adding my +1 here too.
Copying this from another thread for implementation consideration:

Hi all, does anyone know if it's possible to pin a track to the top of the track window? A few reasons this is useful:

- I mix mostly on busses, putting the waveforms out of view. Sometimes I am on the grid but often not (bar numbers not always helpful).
- working on video project, so that reference can be always visible
- if you have automation envelopes that you always want easy access to

I could imagine another column in the track manager window for pinned tracks... Or...

A group mode for the track window where groups of tracks could be 1) pinned 2) on a free or second timeline 3) auto soloed when clicked... Dreaming now.


Any thoughts or advice?

Jesse
jessesbakery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 05:16 AM   #69
HammyHavoc
Human being with feelings
 
HammyHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liverpool, United Kingdom
Posts: 43
Default

Would love to see this. Great for scores!
__________________
Hammy Havoc | Split An Atom
HammyHavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 05:44 AM   #70
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,862
Default

++++++++++1

Would love to see this feature implemented!
__________________
REAPER Contest
DaveKeehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 08:32 AM   #71
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,763
Default

Needed : ) +1
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2018, 01:36 PM   #72
Esteban_M
Human being with feelings
 
Esteban_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 11
Default

Yes! +1
__________________
Esteban.

https://estebanmercadomusic.portfoliobox.net/
Esteban_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2018, 03:06 AM   #73
Bekoff
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

+100! Please.
Bekoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2018, 03:29 PM   #74
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 564
Default

Yes please
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 02:42 PM   #75
Shreebz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 21
Default

+1

Love this
Shreebz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 04:33 PM   #76
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 425
Default

If you want to get it done natively never say: "as in cubase" ...
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 02:55 AM   #77
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagalume View Post
If you want to get it done natively never say: "as in cubase" ...
Why not? Well, the devs never used Cubendo/other DAWs, so it's not enough to write this magic phrase. You should precisely describe what do you need.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 04:29 AM   #78
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 425
Default

"it's not enough to write this magic phrase. You should precisely describe what do you need."


I will reply when Reaper 6 comes out

Anyway, this is a really useful feature now ... (and it was years ago when it was asked for). Possibly I wouldn't use it but I think the beneficts are obvious. Other daws have got interesting characteristics ... examine everything hold the good

Last edited by Vagalume; 12-28-2018 at 10:31 AM.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 04:43 AM   #79
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,036
Default

I should be able to release soon the script I show on post : https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...7&postcount=58


This can interest people who need track sticking only for audio items alignements.


(track sticking could also be wanted for having certain track controls always visible, or track automation envelope, or MIDI items... my script is only one particular case, which a pure track sticking solution can't solve. But which is very handy in my case anyway).
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 07:49 AM   #80
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Why not? Well, the devs never used Cubendo/other DAWs, so it's not enough to write this magic phrase. You should precisely describe what do you need.
And other users won't know all the DAWs of the world. For me any FR in the style "make X as in Y" is completely useless. If you're just too lazy to deescribe the feature properly than you don't want it stronly enough

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.