Old 01-07-2015, 06:11 AM   #1
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,450
Default Add more Docker positions

Currently we can only add (left or right side) 2 dockers, one above other or in the same docker then switch them with tabs.
I propose adding more positions (or option "show multiple dockers" when clicking on docker tab menu)so we can stack them next to each other so we can do something like this (its an example):
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 08:22 AM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,917
Default

Very nice! I would use this for toolbars in the top menu, also. Sure, I can put them all into one toolbar, but that's not ideal if using different screensets.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 09:23 AM   #3
innuendo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
Posts: 659
Default

upvoted
innuendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 12:51 AM   #4
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,917
Default

Would sure make a nice treat for v5, huh.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 09:58 AM   #5
Etalon
Human being with feelings
 
Etalon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 49
Default

Being able to dock toolbars next to each other on the sides, and above each other at the top and bottom areas would be awesome!
Etalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2019, 11:04 AM   #6
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 663
Default

+1 for this!
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 10:21 AM   #7
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

+1

I like to spread the main window across two monitors. Arrange on one, docked mixer/midi on the other. It helps eliminate the need to pin fx and other things on top. But can’t put toolbars between them at the edges of the screens.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 11:30 AM   #8
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,555
Default

I would prefer an optional "second window", into which I could dock stuff as well.
That way, I'm more flexible.

I always need my arrangeview fullscreen, but optional docked windows could fit in a smaller window much better at times. So when I make it smaller, it would leave space for other apps, without having size-problems of the main window.
Especially, when using two monitors.


Maybe a "snap-function" for windows would also be helpful, so I could snap more than one at each other and drag them around as "window group".
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2019, 12:03 PM   #9
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,048
Default

+1. Premiere Pro for instance has this sorted out well.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 07:22 AM   #10
Nogla
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kaliningrad
Posts: 23
Default

Bumping this feature up for v6.
I have master track always pinned to the right side and want to open some menus beside it (undo, browser, etc).
Nogla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 02:23 PM   #11
SoundGuyChris
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 26
Default

Absolutely hate to perform such necromancy, but I made a post in the forum looking for this feature and I guess it doesn't exist so here's my addition to this FR:

I'd like the ability to create a custom floating window/docker made of several docked windows. For example, I'd like to be able to float the Mixer into it's own window and dock the FX inspector to it on the side and the video editor to the top so that I have my arrangement on full screen in one window and my mixer/fx inspector/video window on the other in full screen.


I think this will benefit users because it brings REAPER in line with what most other workflows and most other products on the market can do with regards to separate screens, and also would make managing screensets more effective.

Currently, it's not possible to replicate familiar workflows such as the split mixer/video view I mentioned above, or to create flexible views as projects require them.
SoundGuyChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 02:50 PM   #12
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 394
Default

+ also to hide these tabs
__________________
The truth is not in the middle but exactly where it is.
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2019, 10:55 PM   #13
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,101
Default

Nobody uses Audition but this was one of it's strengths. I wish our devs had less qualms about stealing.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 03:19 AM   #14
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,724
Default

+1, especially for docking zones in the MIDI editor.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 03:26 AM   #15
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Nobody uses Audition but this was one of it's strengths. I wish our devs had less qualms about stealing.
Samplitude has also very flexible docker very similar to Adobe stuff. It would not be stealing, just using more-or-less standardised way.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.