Old 05-06-2007, 09:36 PM   #1
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default Post-Fader FX on Master Track

plain and simple. I really need Post-Fader effects on the master track, this has been bugging me for months. heck lets put Post-fader effects on every track. What do you guys think?



How about we stick it in the fx chain windows as a post-fader item that can be drug up and down just like an effect to give the post fader effects position. I was thinking of something like this

Of course, this won't be limited to just the master track

Last edited by Magoostus; 07-06-2008 at 09:07 AM.
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 05:37 AM   #2
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Use "Volume (Pre FX)" in the automation envelopes and a pre FX fader appears.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 08:39 AM   #3
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans View Post
Use "Volume (Pre FX)" in the automation envelopes and a pre FX fader appears.
Thats neat, and it works, but that fader is not reachable from the mixer portion, which is what i'm using.
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 09:28 AM   #4
sebas777
Human being with feelings
 
sebas777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,181
Default

Enter the "chip channel strip" in v 2.0
sebas777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 02:25 PM   #5
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

It's only visible when automation in in read, touch, latch or write. Try it in Latch first.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 03:07 PM   #6
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans View Post
It's only visible when automation in in read, touch, latch or write. Try it in Latch first.
um... yeah i see it there and it works great, but i'm talking post-fader and post-pan effects for bit depth reduction and maximizers.

...maybe I'm missing something?
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 10:19 PM   #7
Zee
Human being with feelings
 
Zee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 223
Default Magoostus is right

Post fader, post everything effect slot is important to be able to keep the master bus headroom and use a compressor/limiter on the overall mix.
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 10:52 PM   #8
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default

Thank Zee. It's good to know that i'm not alone on this.

How about we stick it in the fx chain windows as a post-fader item that can be drug up and down just like an effect to give the post fader effects position. I was thinking of something like this



Of course, this won't be limited to just the master track

Last edited by Magoostus; 05-11-2007 at 11:08 PM.
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 10:54 PM   #9
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Use the JS volume effect and you can do exactly that - or Sonalksis FreeG VST fader if you want something more sexy.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 11:25 PM   #10
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default justification

oh, i love the JS volume utility, it fantastic. but its not quite the same. see, if i bump the track volume fader by accident. i'll ruin the bit-depth reduction. and yeah, i can use the volume utility, but i have to keep the window open all the time and that takes up space. or put all these automation lines on my track view that makes it all cluttered

ya see, with this method, it will be more simple and secure. its a more rock-solid method of using post-fader effects.

(maybe this should go in the nitpick category)

Last edited by Magoostus; 05-11-2007 at 11:27 PM.
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 11:59 PM   #11
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

the JS stuff is fantastic. as are all the offerings from the talented folks contributing more than bigfinds and gripes.

But, I am beginning to feel like JS is a crutch. especially for midi. It makes it more difficult to get a sense of what's going on.

Post fader FX would be stellar, and enable us to thin out the track counts. What's the problem there? this is the land of Uber-Routing right? So let's have it. If js are that killer pre fader imagine what could be accomplished with the option to put them pre or post.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 12:19 AM   #12
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

And once again +1.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 01:46 PM   #13
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoostus View Post
exactly the thing i had in mind: http://www.cockos.com/forum/showpost...3&postcount=12
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 02:10 PM   #14
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoostus View Post


Of course, this won't be limited to just the master track

+1
+1
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 02:39 PM   #15
maa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 1,276
Default

Yes this is important for mastering!

+1


--
maa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 03:19 PM   #16
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoostus
Again +1! Exactly as I always suggested, but the "-=Post-Fader=-" should be a proper seperator ... .
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 06:19 PM   #17
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default yeah

I'm curious as too what the complexity level for this feature to be added on would be

Lets all whip out our "+1" guns

Last edited by Magoostus; 05-14-2007 at 06:24 PM.
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 06:24 PM   #18
Zee
Human being with feelings
 
Zee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 223
Default

No way around it +1,5
Zee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 07:09 PM   #19
sebas777
Human being with feelings
 
sebas777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,181
Default

the picture by Magoostus is exactly how I would like it to be ! Great idea ! +100 !
sebas777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2007, 08:38 PM   #20
Matthew Presley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 253
Default

That would be great! Plus 1
Matthew Presley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 12:22 AM   #21
happymonkey
Human being with feelings
 
happymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoostus View Post
Thank Zee. It's good to know that i'm not alone on this.

How about we stick it in the fx chain windows as a post-fader item that can be drug up and down just like an effect to give the post fader effects position. I was thinking of something like this



Of course, this won't be limited to just the master track
And ++1 for me too.....

hm
happymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 04:25 AM   #22
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

You could always just rename FreeG to "Post Fader" and there you are. Or am I missing the point (quite possibly)?
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2007, 04:32 AM   #23
norbury brook
Human being with feelings
 
norbury brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,979
Default

Yeh,in Cubendo the last two slots in the mixer channel inserts are post fader for this very reason.


+1

MC

Last edited by norbury brook; 05-15-2007 at 05:00 AM.
norbury brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 12:47 PM   #24
beyond
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Palm Beach FL
Posts: 263
Default

Wow,

I love this idea, and I am glad you guys have been promoting it before I suggested a superset of it today. I just called it Magic Slots temporarily, I know it sounds funny..

What do you guys think about all the other things these Magic Slots could do in the FX stack? They can simplify and enhance the Track Sends, Output Recording, having different Monitors FX and Recording FX, and parallel FX chains.. All these Pre, Post implementation details through out REAPER can be reduced with this idea.

You can read about it here:
http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10035
beyond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 02:34 PM   #25
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans View Post
Use "Volume (Pre FX)" in the automation envelopes and a pre FX fader appears.
nice workaround - and sending to another track (I am becoming predisposed to unnessisarily large track counts).

Except my recent encounters with automation lave left me gun-shy.

I'd prefer post fader FX. I am feeling the workaround is not congruent with workflow.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 04:12 AM   #26
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Just a small bump, 'cause we all know we want it.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 10:51 AM   #27
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSER View Post
Just a small bump, 'cause we all know we want it.
Yeah I'm with you there, a bump is badly needed.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 11:03 AM   #28
drew
Mobile
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London & São Paulo. Hardcore commercial REAPERite
Posts: 1,645
Default

If the Magoostus suggestion is feasible that would be awesome!!!!!!
__________________
Proudly using REAPER exclusively for professional music production at Qsonics.com and recording broadcast and narrative voiceovers at DrewWhite.com.
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 11:30 AM   #29
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

yes!! +1

thanx art e. I use free g and it works. but i would like to have the MIXER db-METERS in pre/post-plugin or pre-fader (optional) view, so if I pull down my fader I still can see the incoming signal as in the js volume utility.
possible? anyone knows..?
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 12:18 PM   #30
technogremlin
Human being with feelings
 
technogremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kainer View Post
but i would like to have the MIXER db-METERS in pre/post-plugin or pre-fader (optional) view, so if I pull down my fader I still can see the incoming signal as in the js volume utility.
possible? anyone knows..?
I use this one:

http://pagesperso-orange.fr/vb-audio...ptool_v1_i.htm
technogremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2008, 12:19 PM   #31
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

+1

Should be concidered standard.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2008, 09:08 AM   #32
Magoostus
Human being with feelings
 
Magoostus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 170
Default bump

bump +1 i hope justin considers this
Magoostus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:10 AM   #33
LOSER
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoostus View Post
bump +1 i hope justin considers this
Schwa already said it's coming eventually.
LOSER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 06:25 AM   #34
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,157
Default

++1 for a good idea.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 02:38 AM   #35
Nikos Krionas
Human being with feelings
 
Nikos Krionas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
Default

+1 Very important for mastering!
Nikos Krionas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 01:34 PM   #36
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 663
Default

I hope this being requested multiple times over 12 years or so might merit some consideration. Post-Fader FX are critical for many different types of workflows. That's why it keeps being requested over and over.

Similar current thread:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=181450
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.