Old 01-24-2019, 03:32 PM   #41
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
ReaControlMIDI just sends MIDI messages. To its outputs. It has no parameters, internal tricks or something else to do anything apart from that.
ReaControlMidi has sliders that adhere to Midi CC in, as well with 7 bit as with "high resolution" 14 Bit resolution. These sliders can be used for parameter modulation of other plugins in that track. So ReaControlMidi can also work the other way round.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 03:59 AM   #42
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
ReaControlMidi has sliders that adhere to Midi CC in, as well with 7 bit as with "high resolution" 14 Bit resolution. These sliders can be used for parameter modulation of other plugins in that track. So ReaControlMidi can also work the other way round.
-Michael
Yes, these faders are also moving in case corresponding MIDI is received on input. And these faders are exposed as automation parameters which also can be used for modulation (not sure there are cases when that is useful). But all that is not ReaControlMIDI specific, most VSTi and FXes with MIDI can MIDI learn exposed as automation parameters.

So the only ReaControlMIDI specific feature which I know is the possibility to send MIDI messages from its settings in the GUI.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 04:49 AM   #43
mikeroephonics
Human being with feelings
 
mikeroephonics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,484
Default

I use this for up to 30 virtual MIDI ports.
https://www.nerds.de/en/loopbe30.html

It's perfectly stable on my machine. I use it to loopback MIDI data streams for an external MIDI utility called Vienna Symphonic Library Performance Tool.exe. Since the utility sits outside of REAPER, I need to connect these virtual MIDI cables to its inputs and outputs in order to send MIDI from REAPER, to the utility to get filtered, then back into REAPER, into Kontakt.

You can also use virtual MIDI ports to send MIDI data to other DAW software, or to standalone software instruments.
__________________
Please check out these MIDI requests: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=103192
Thanks.
mikeroephonics is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.