Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2009, 12:28 PM   #1
winter green
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default Just selecting one part of track to delete

Hi,
New to reaper,
just finding my way, I have three tracks recorded on a project, when i attempt to select one part of a track to delete, it selects all three tracks and deletes same area of all three tracks,

What am I doing wrong ?
winter green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:32 PM   #2
stupeT
Human being with feelings
 
stupeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: frankonia
Posts: 1,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winter green View Post
Hi,
New to reaper,
just finding my way, I have three tracks recorded on a project, when i attempt to select one part of a track to delete, it selects all three tracks and deletes same area of all three tracks,

What am I doing wrong ?
This happens when all 3 tracks have been selected before. Just select one track by clicking on it (i.e. The tracks name).
__________________
------------------------------------------
Don't read this sentence to it's end, please.
stupeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:45 PM   #3
winter green
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stupeT View Post
This happens when all 3 tracks have been selected before. Just select one track by clicking on it (i.e. The tracks name).
Does not work for me, I click on track name and it does select the track,
I go to select part of track, it selects all three tracks and then ctrl del together it deletes same section of three tracks.
winter green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 02:16 PM   #4
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by winter green View Post
Does not work for me, I click on track name and it does select the track,
I go to select part of track, it selects all three tracks and then ctrl del together it deletes same section of three tracks.
ctrl-delete does "cut selected area of selected items"

I think might be something to do with how you are selecting the item/s you want to delete part of.

Forgive me if you have already looked here but pp.126-129 of the User Guide has great stuff on editing items which might clarify things.

User Guide is here: http://www.cockos.com/reaper/userguide.php

edit: sorry, forgot to say hello and welcome
__________________
Cloth-Eared Hobbyist
http://www.reverbnation.com/spikemullings
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 02:39 PM   #5
Sheppola
Human being with feelings
 
Sheppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,291
Default

Use the,"Split" function where you want to edit.

Move your Cursor to the start of the block you want to delete.Then press the S key if that's your short cut key you use(See Action list at the top of Reaper).Them move it to the end of where you want to cut.Make sure just that block is highlighted and then press the delete key on the keyboard.Remember if you get it wrong no problem as Reaper is none destructive and you can just use the,"Undo" option in the edit menu or as I do via my own Short cut combo Ctrl+Z

HTH
__________________
"Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life."
http://www.reverbnation.com/pauldouglas
https://www.youtube.com/user/TalosIO
Sheppola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 07:56 PM   #6
MrLeV
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default [Solution] Delete portions of track or items without changing the other tracks/items

Quote:
Originally Posted by winter green View Post
Does not work for me, I click on track name and it does select the track,
I go to select part of track, it selects all three tracks and then ctrl del together it deletes same section of three tracks.
I had the same issue and it appears that it was caused by "ripple editing".
I disabled it (Options/Ripple Editing: off) and then I could delete (split) portions of tracks without affecting the rest of the project.

Hope this will help others
MrLeV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 07:38 AM   #7
bohma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks for the info :-)
bohma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:33 PM   #8
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,690
Default

There is an action you can add to the Shift-S action that can help working with one track at a time. Create an custom action with these actions.

Item: Select all items on seleced tracks in current time selection
Item Split items at time selection

You can assign it to a shortcut key or put it in a toolbar which is what I did. As long as you have the track you're working on being the only track selected it will only select the item(s) in that track. The main problem the way it is now is that if you have no items selected it will cut all items in all tracks.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:29 PM   #9
bohma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London
Posts: 43
Default

Please excuse me for resurrecting this thread but I am a 'Newbie' and it was really frustrating me not being able to delete part of a track. I read the manual and followed the instructions from the other posters in this thread but parts of their method were not very clear and it just would not work for me. I kept deleting all of the remainder of the track and was tearing my hair out.

I finally figured out how to do it tonight and am posting what I hope are clear and unambiguous instructions below for the benefit of other newbies.

1. Select the track you want to work on.
2. Left click on the bar line before the part you want to delete.
3. Press the S key on your keyboard.
4. Left click on the bar line after the part you want to delete.
5. Press the S key on your keyboard.
6. Left click in the middle of the bar/s you want to delete.
7. Press the Delete key on your keyboard.

This is with 'Ripple Editing' turned off in the 'Options' Menu.

I hope this is helpful to people as it was really doing my head in not being able to do this.
bohma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 02:17 AM   #10
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bohma View Post
Please excuse me for resurrecting this thread but I am a 'Newbie' and it was really frustrating me not being able to delete part of a track. I read the manual and followed the instructions from the other posters in this thread but parts of their method were not very clear and it just would not work for me. I kept deleting all of the remainder of the track and was tearing my hair out.

I finally figured out how to do it tonight and am posting what I hope are clear and unambiguous instructions below for the benefit of other newbies.

1. Select the track you want to work on.
2. Left click on the bar line before the part you want to delete.
3. Press the S key on your keyboard.
4. Left click on the bar line after the part you want to delete.
5. Press the S key on your keyboard.
6. Left click in the middle of the bar/s you want to delete.
7. Press the Delete key on your keyboard.

This is with 'Ripple Editing' turned off in the 'Options' Menu.

I hope this is helpful to people as it was really doing my head in not being able to do this.
very clear bohma
a slight difference for me:
Zoom in to make the parameters of your delete easier to see
I leave small bits of the part I want to delete in the track
Once I have deleted the middle part I drag the left and right part to exactly where I want them to stop and start.
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 02:30 AM   #11
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,162
Default

On a personal note, this single thing is why I spend a LOT of time outside reaper for MIDI editing.

It is SUCH a pain in the ass to have to split and glue/heal every time you want to edit a small piece of data in a track.
I know an awful lot of the PITA stuff can be addressed by customising your reaper setup, but in so many cases the default options are - to me at least - badly thought out and fly in the face of just about every other DAW's default setting. I mean, why make the initial learning curve more steep than it has to be?

End of rant.

P.S. Switching between DAWs when there are these discrepancies is even more of a PITA
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:06 AM   #12
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,176
Default

I do it as follows:

- drag a time selection of the area I want removed
- select the item I want to remove an area of (track selection doesn't matter)
- hit ctrl+delete (cut selected area of selected item)

done.

The first two steps can be made in a single move using the mouse modifier: "Marquee select item and time". I believe that's alt+right drag (alt+shift+right drag for ignore snap) in default Reaper.

So actually it's
- alt(+shift)+right drag the unwanted area on the item that's meant
- ctrl+delete
gofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:17 AM   #13
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,162
Default

Yeah of course you are right - I misread this as wanting to cut paste and shut rather than just delete items and leave the actual track size unchanged.


Silly me.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 02:21 PM   #14
fiddledroid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 21
Default

Found this thread when trying to figure out how to cut single tracks vs. all tracks when using Ctrl + Delete.
To limit the cut to selected tracks, you must the select the *audio in the track, not the track name*. Else it will cut from all tracks.
Over and out...
fiddledroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.