Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2009, 08:05 PM   #1
pghboemike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
Default using reaper to record audio the computer is playing

how can i use reaper to record audio the computer is playing
pghboemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:06 PM   #2
chewedrock
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

i think you could do this on linux using jack audio connection kit. or on a mac using cycling '74's "soundflower".. but i'm not sure on windows
chewedrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:40 PM   #3
d.bop
Human being with feelings
 
d.bop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 1,712
Default

If you only have onboard sound, there may be a "what you hear" or a "stereo mix" option in the Windows mixer. You should be able to set the recording input to one of those in REAPER.

If you have an audio interface, you could do what I've done in the past: Find an interconnect cable that has a 1/8" TRS plug on one end that splits into two 1/4" TS plugs on the other end (the two 1/4" ends on mine are color coded and labeled "Ring" and "Tip, which is essential if you want to record in stereo instead of just a split left or right channel.") Plug the small end into your PC's onboard line-out and the bigger ends into two line-level channels of your audio interface.

Then record the stereo pair


You might also be able to use the ASIO4ALL driver to enable use of both the onboard and the interface simultaneously. I've never tried it though..
__________________
Sleepy-Time DSP - @sleepytimedsp
d.bop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 12:52 AM   #4
stupeT
Human being with feelings
 
stupeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: frankonia
Posts: 1,996
Default

On win it depends on your soundcard.

Use the windows mixer (right click the volume icon) and switch to "record" mode. Then try to make the channel where your audio is playing to be the input for recording.

On many cheapo soundcards (built in chips) this will work. On my Echo IO it doesn't seem to be possible.
__________________
------------------------------------------
Don't read this sentence to it's end, please.
stupeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 07:13 AM   #5
TimOBrien
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,301
Default

Learning to use a search engine will help you.

Go to Google or Yahoo and type "how to record streaming audio":

http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=how...p=mss&ei=UTF-8

There are lots of answers there.....
TimOBrien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 10:00 AM   #6
Tedwood
Human being with feelings
 
Tedwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Coast UK
Posts: 14,303
Default WARNING

If you try one of these techniques for recording in REAPER, DO MAKE SURE YOU TURN MONITOR TRACK OFF. otherwise it will feedback like mad, and could possibly do some harm.

The card I have the output is called "Monitor Mix" but it's the same as "what you hear" or might be "Wave out".
__________________
The grass is greener where it rains
Tedwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 08:19 PM   #7
johnnymegabyte
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scarborough ( Toronto )
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d.bop View Post
If you only have onboard sound, there may be a "what you hear" or a "stereo mix" option in the Windows mixer. You should be able to set the recording input to one of those in REAPER.

If you have an audio interface, you could do what I've done in the past: Find an interconnect cable that has a 1/8" TRS plug on one end that splits into two 1/4" TS plugs on the other end (the two 1/4" ends on mine are color coded and labeled "Ring" and "Tip, which is essential if you want to record in stereo instead of just a split left or right channel.") Plug the small end into your PC's onboard line-out and the bigger ends into two line-level channels of your audio interface.

Then record the stereo pair


You might also be able to use the ASIO4ALL driver to enable use of both the onboard and the interface simultaneously. I've never tried it though..
Microsoft disabled "what you hear" with Vista. They were afraid people would record streaming audio
But for musicians, who use creative ways .... scr3w3d
johnnymegabyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 11:14 PM   #8
JHughes
Human being with feelings
 
JHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too close to Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,507
Default

We did much researching on a similar question here:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=3981

I don't know if we found the perfect free solution yet though, I haven't had time to do any testing.
JHughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 10:20 PM   #9
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,944
Default

Thread necro eric, but anyway on windows we have WASAPI loopback mode
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 01:07 PM   #10
brocktoon666
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimOBrien View Post
Learning to use a search engine will help you.

Go to Google or Yahoo and type "how to record streaming audio":

http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=how...p=mss&ei=UTF-8

There are lots of answers there.....
that's the answer a worthless fucking douche bag gives
brocktoon666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 01:56 PM   #11
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brocktoon666 View Post
that's the answer a worthless fucking douche bag gives

(grin) only 9 YEARS late with that one.


__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 03:09 PM   #12
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,644
Default

I'm afraid the OP was just promoting some links. Check his posts!

And now his 2009 efforts resurface...
__________________
“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity” Albert Einstein
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.