Old 11-04-2019, 09:30 AM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,843
Default v5.984+dev1104 - November 4 2019

v5.984+dev1104 - November 4 2019
  • + Media items: add action to convert embedded source media transient information to transient guides
  • + Media items: optionally create transient guides on import for media with embedded transient information
  • + Media items: when copy/pasting items with stretch markers and timebase beats (position, length, rate), preserve the original play rate
  • + Project load: improve FX unavailable warnings
  • + ReaGate: improve ducking mode, legacy ducking mode shows indeterminate checkbox
  • + ReaScript: allow gfx_init() to resize window when specifying an empty title string
  • + Tempo envelope: adjust tempo envelope properly when setting point shape to linear via action list
  • + Tempo envelope: fix behavior of action to insert new point from action list or context menu
  • + Theme: replace tcp.dragdropchild with tcp.dragdropinfo[indent_sibling_track indent_child_track]
  • + Toolbars: actions to switch last focused toolbar will default to switching main toolbar
  • + VST: preliminary support for migrating from VST2s that export FUID to VST3
  • + macOS: support REX files on systems that do not support 32-bit processes (e.g. Catalina, but we might not want to mention it by name)
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 09:34 AM   #2
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
+ Theme: replace tcp.dragdropchild with tcp.dragdropinfo[indent_sibling_track indent_child_track]
Does it fix that old issue with last track in folder?
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
+ VST: preliminary support for migrating from VST2s that export FUID to VST3
Some more info on this please?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 10:44 AM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

Nice!


This build is for my son's 2nd birthday, which is today!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 10:53 AM   #4
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,774
Default

Nice stuff! Will check out the improved loading fx error thingy!

thanks devs! (And EvilDragon's son too of course)
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:08 AM   #5
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,690
Default

Quote:
+ ReaScript: allow gfx_init() to resize window when specifying an empty title string
Nice!
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:40 AM   #6
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Nice!


This build is for my son's 2nd birthday, which is today!
Happy Birthday to the little Evil Dragon!
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:40 AM   #7
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: England
Posts: 305
Default

+1 to the gfx.init capabilities.
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:54 AM   #8
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,388
Default

Quote:
+ VST: preliminary support for migrating from VST2s that export FUID to VST3
What does that mean?
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:54 AM   #9
Nogla
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kaliningrad
Posts: 26
Default

Any info about this one?

+ Toolbars: actions to switch last focused toolbar will default to switching main toolbar
Nogla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:58 AM   #10
Arthur
Human being with feelings
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v5.984+dev1104 - November 4 2019
[*]+ Tempo envelope: adjust tempo envelope properly when setting point shape to linear via action list[*]+ Tempo envelope: fix behavior of action to insert new point from action list or context menu
Thank you very much , now it works perfectly.
It's great !!!
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:59 AM   #11
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 567
Default

Sorry I didn't chime in on the previous pre post...

Now that lines/curves have been added to MIDI CC lanes, just wondering why they behave differently from lines/curves in the track automation lanes?



In Track Automation Lanes, dragging follows the mouse exactly. If wanting to lock horizontal/vertical we use a Mouse Modifier. Perfection.

In MIDI CC lanes, by default we're locked either horizontal/vertical, with no option to unlock.

This is very clunky, and fundamentally different from the way we're so used to drawing lines/curves. Is there logic to this or is this still under development?
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:01 PM   #12
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Nice!


This build is for my son's 2nd birthday, which is today!
A cup of champagne from France for your son !
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:02 PM   #13
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
This build is for my son's 2nd birthday, which is today!
Congratulations to you, and to the Mother of Dragons.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:14 PM   #14
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

Thanks, dupont and schwa. Also, single dragon. For now.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:14 PM   #15
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
This build is for my son's 2nd birthday, which is today!
Happy birthday to your son! Is he already Reaper user?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:18 PM   #16
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
+ Media items: add action to convert embedded source media transient information to transient guides
This action is not in the media item context menu, which it probably should be? Under media item context->Stretch markers->Transient guides.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:21 PM   #17
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
This action is not in the media item context menu, which it probably should be? Under media item context->Stretch markers->Transient guides.
Only a small percentage of media items will have embedded transient information, so it doesn't seem worth it to add to the default context menu.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:23 PM   #18
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

Ah, so this is NOT the same thing as slices in REX/ACID WAV/Apple Loops?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:24 PM   #19
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Ah, so this is NOT the same thing as slices in REX/ACID WAV/Apple Loops?
Same thing.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:30 PM   #20
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

OK then, I'm getting some weird results.



On top is a REX loop loaded in "Beat slices that dynamically adjust to tempo changes" mode. On bottom is the same loop loaded ignoring embedded information, then running that new action. I'd expect the slices to match position?

(Also, I get the same result as the bottom track if I use the "A single loopable media item with transient markers" option. So, not all slices are shown there.)
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:32 PM   #21
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,391
Default

Can we have that audio file please?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 01:34 PM   #22
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

For sure! https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Zu...GyePts4LVNZVgz

You can also use the acoustic guitar one I sent you in PM some days ago. That one is also misbehaving.

EDIT: Ah HA! Seems to happen with REX only. ACID WAV and Apple Loops are fine - transient guides match with the beat slices import!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 02:00 PM   #23
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,391
Default

Ah OK, fixing, thanks. (It works in +dev1104 if the project tempo is the same as the REX source tempo.)

Last edited by schwa; 11-04-2019 at 02:24 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 02:32 PM   #24
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
What does that mean?
From what I gather from here, if a plugin signals the host 'VST2/3 versions are compatible' the host can load the VST3 version in a project which was previously saved with the VST2 version of it and keep the settings intact.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 03:41 PM   #25
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
From what I gather from here, if a plugin signals the host 'VST2/3 versions are compatible' the host can load the VST3 version in a project which was previously saved with the VST2 version of it and keep the settings intact.
Very cool!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 04:02 PM   #26
HDWind
Human being with feelings
 
HDWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 49
Default

Good afternoon.
I sent a request a year ago, and there was no reaction.
New features for spectral editing are needed to work.
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=212566
Please look and add in the new version ...

First of all, please add the ability to save presets.
HDWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 05:01 PM   #27
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,913
Default

REAPER very rarely crashes on me but it did this evening while using this pre-release version so I'm posting the crash report here in case it provides any info.

The crash happened while copying some item FX and pasting to some other selected items.
Attached Files
File Type: zip REAPER_2019-11-04-175907_Mysterys-iMac-Pro.crash.zip (29.4 KB, 15 views)
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD • MacOS 10.14.6 RME AES HDSPe
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD • MacOS 10.14.6 RME AES HDSPe
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 06:00 PM   #28
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRMJP View Post
REAPER very rarely crashes on me but it did this evening while using this pre-release version so I'm posting the crash report here in case it provides any info.

The crash happened while copying some item FX and pasting to some other selected items.

Quote:
Thread 53 Crashed:: BtrmkrHid
0 com.bettermaker.MasteringEqualizer 0x0000000118028fb7 HidBridge::hidDeviceReceiveCallback(char*, int, char*&, int&) + 2199
1 com.bettermaker.MasteringEqualizer 0x0000000118065ccb juce::btrmkrHid::Handle_InputReportCallback(void*, int, void*, juce::btrmkrHid::IOHIDReportType, unsigned int, unsigned char*, long) + 155
I'd send that report to bettermaker people!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 06:16 PM   #29
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
I'd send that report to bettermaker people!
Will do, thanks! One of these days I'll learn how to read a crash dump.
__________________
iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD • MacOS 10.14.6 RME AES HDSPe
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD • MacOS 10.14.6 RME AES HDSPe
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 06:48 PM   #30
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,352
Default

Happy Birthday, Evil's son!

Inside the Midi editor, is it possible to prevent one point ore more to move through an another point exactly like inside the automation envelope (consistency)?

Actualy, inside the midi editor, we can't handle very well the envelope when we want to create a vertical line.

CC MIDI (not expected and aleatory behaviour):


Automation envelope (expected behaviour):


Inside the automation envelope, it remains one issue: we can move more than one point through an another point. And it is accompanied by a strange and not expected behaviour. One point or more should not be able to move through an another point.

Last edited by ovnis; 11-04-2019 at 08:19 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 07:23 PM   #31
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 567
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Happy Birthday, Evil's son!

Inside the Midi editor, is it possible to prevent one point ore more to move through an another point exactly like inside the automation envelope (consistence)?

Actualy, inside the midi editor, we can't handle very well the envelope when we want to create a vertical line.

CC MIDI (non expect and aleatory behaviour):


Automation envelope (expected behaviour):


Inside the automation envelope, it remains one issue: we can move more than one point through an another point. And it is accompanied by a strange and not expected behaviour. One point or more should not be able to move through an another point.
Agreed, there should be complete consistency between the CC envelopes and the Track envelopes, as I showed above also.

There should be no reason why they can't be the same -- if we're automating ReaControlMIDI to control CCs in the Track envelope and they work like other track envelopes, there's no reason why that consistency can't extend to CC envelopes. Just seems like a really bad idea for them to be different.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 10:42 PM   #32
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,114
Default

more Dragons... fear not! 'Tis easier with two than one [after the first year]
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:05 PM   #33
Joystick
Human being with feelings
 
Joystick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 447
Default On a related topic

Which is the best way for a content creator like me to embed source media transient information to a file?

Not only for use in music sequencing but also for easier audiovisual syncing in post production.
__________________
Animating the air with sound. Using science, art, design, engineering and intuition.
www.soundfellas.com
Joystick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 11:30 PM   #34
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
Hi EvilDragon! Happy birthday to your son!

The string appears in the Actions. See pic.

Thanks
I know it appears in the Actions, I'm talking about media item context menu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joystick View Post
Which is the best way for a content creator like me to embed source media transient information to a file?

Not only for use in music sequencing but also for easier audiovisual syncing in post production.
ReCycle does that.

Last edited by EvilDragon; 11-04-2019 at 11:36 PM.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 01:09 AM   #35
Joystick
Human being with feelings
 
Joystick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
ReCycle does that.
Thanks! I knew about ReCycle.

I was thinking more about a way to do it directly through REAPER. But that poses another question. Are the transient markers the same as common markers? If yes, then I guess a simple "goto next transient marker and put a marker" action would do the trick.
__________________
Animating the air with sound. Using science, art, design, engineering and intuition.
www.soundfellas.com
Joystick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 02:48 AM   #36
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 131
Default

[QUOTE=EvilDragon;2199200]I know it appears in the Actions, I'm talking about media item context menu

I was absolutely sure you knew!! I should have said that for now it appears only in the Actions.

You are a gentleman.

Thanks.
__________________
REAPER, em constante evolução!

Last edited by Edison; 11-05-2019 at 03:51 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 03:59 AM   #37
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joystick View Post
Thanks! I knew about ReCycle.

I was thinking more about a way to do it directly through REAPER. But that poses another question. Are the transient markers the same as common markers? If yes, then I guess a simple "goto next transient marker and put a marker" action would do the trick.
Reaper cannot create REX or ACIDized WAV or Apple Loops with slices as far as I know.

But maybe now that they have reversed the formats, they could do it? When rendering individual media items, there could be a checkbox to write transient guides as slice information, if the file format is WAV (for ACIDized) or AIFF (for Apple Loops). REX can only be created by ReCycle since that's how Propellerhead wants it.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 05:05 AM   #38
bamsehopp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 17
Default

I was having trouble with sluggish gui performance on my new macbook pro retina, and this update really did amazing things bringing sharp gui quality and much better performance! Thanks for that devs! I haven’t used pre releases like this one before, but i noticed that my favourite interface plugin ”fxlist” wouldn’t work. (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=210987)

Is this something common among pre-releases or is it up to the third party developer to update their plugin for the latest release? I’m hoping it will work by the time of the public release

Other than that no real bugs or crashes so far! Great work!
bamsehopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 06:27 AM   #39
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bamsehopp View Post
I was having trouble with sluggish gui performance on my new macbook pro retina, and this update really did amazing things bringing sharp gui quality and much better performance! Thanks for that devs! I haven’t used pre releases like this one before, but i noticed that my favourite interface plugin ”fxlist” wouldn’t work. (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=210987)

Is this something common among pre-releases or is it up to the third party developer to update their plugin for the latest release? I’m hoping it will work by the time of the public release

Other than that no real bugs or crashes so far! Great work!
fxlist plugin works with latest +Dev version and macOS 10.13/14/15.
If you're on 10.15, check this thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2192950
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 08:27 AM   #40
Joystick
Human being with feelings
 
Joystick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Athens / Greece
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
But maybe now that they have reversed the formats, they could do it? When rendering individual media items, there could be a checkbox to write transient guides as slice information, if the file format is WAV (for ACIDized) or AIFF (for Apple Loops).
Yes, exactly that. Or just another option in the render dialog to export transient guides as markers in some automatic way, writing them as "transient_001, transient_002, ... , transient_00N".

In games it could be useful to use them for guiding animations, particle physics and other events, without spending the extra CPU to process the audio through FFT, etc. Fabric game audio engine already supports markers and sends triggers to the rest of the game engine it is used. So for game audio, markers would do it as well.
__________________
Animating the air with sound. Using science, art, design, engineering and intuition.
www.soundfellas.com
Joystick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.