Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2019, 01:41 PM   #241
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Regarding ReaLearn - I don't use it so cannot be of help here. With SK - the built in feedback always worked for my needs.
Hmm ok, I thought it was necessary to use ReaLearn. I was just following a tutorial involving SK, ReaLearn and Faderbox. So you say SK can send feedback to controllers from plugins out of the box? I'll play around with this tonight. That would be great.

Awesome you've got some major changes in the works. Sorry it took me so long to discover how useful this is. Don't worry about my request. I'll just wait for your release. Lemme know if you want me to test it. Thanks for your help!
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 09:27 AM   #242
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Hmm ok, I thought it was necessary to use ReaLearn. I was just following a tutorial involving SK, ReaLearn and Faderbox. So you say SK can send feedback to controllers from plugins out of the box? I'll play around with this tonight. That would be great.

Awesome you've got some major changes in the works. Sorry it took me so long to discover how useful this is. Don't worry about my request. I'll just wait for your release. Lemme know if you want me to test it. Thanks for your help!
There are a few requirements for Faderbox itself to send feedback - but it always worked for my controllers.

Your controller needs to have the controls set up as sequential CC's - so for example - CC0-31.

If you can do that - then it should just be a case of going into faderbox and setting the feedback sliders appropriately.

Add a midi hardware output on the __LBX_SKCTL track to the controller.

But a number of people had difficulties getting this to work - I've no real idea why - it should just work and always did for me.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 01:37 PM   #243
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Add a midi hardware output on the __LBX_SKCTL track to the controller.
Ah, ok I guess this is what I was missing. Thanks again, btw, do you plan to add an option to the new release to start counting from CC1 instead of 0? It's a bit confusing at times when I have everything else set that way.

Once I get it set, I'll make a thread and share how I got it working, cos it's really a game changer to always have certain info and controls on a portable tablet.

And soon enough I'll get around to donating some $$$ to all you genius coders making my life more enjoyable...for now plz accept my eternal gratitude.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 04:08 AM   #244
caronte23
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Hi there, I'm trying to get smart knobs up and running but I ran into a weird issue.

Basically I followed this tutorial:
https://reaperblog.net/2019/04/midi-feedback/

I managed to assign my controller (maschine mk2) to faderbox through realearn.
All controls seem to work, also moving the sliders on faderbox with the mouse shows on the controller, so feedback is working.
Then I open the Smart Knobs window and as soon as I open any plugin all the controls on both faderbox and my controller go down to 0 and if I try to push them up again they just jump back down.
Anyone know what the problem might be?


EDIT:
Ok reading back on this thread I figured realearn wasn't necessary, so I tried setting it up using just faderbox but I get the same exact problem, this is also weather or not I activate midi feedback.

Last edited by caronte23; 10-23-2019 at 05:05 AM.
caronte23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 07:50 AM   #245
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,933
Default

We can all agree midi mapping is an important topic, there are many variants already, nobody knows which is best. Here another variant: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226038
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 01:15 PM   #246
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caronte23 View Post
Hi there, I'm trying to get smart knobs up and running but I ran into a weird issue.

Basically I followed this tutorial:
https://reaperblog.net/2019/04/midi-feedback/

I managed to assign my controller (maschine mk2) to faderbox through realearn.
All controls seem to work, also moving the sliders on faderbox with the mouse shows on the controller, so feedback is working.
Then I open the Smart Knobs window and as soon as I open any plugin all the controls on both faderbox and my controller go down to 0 and if I try to push them up again they just jump back down.
Anyone know what the problem might be?


EDIT:
Ok reading back on this thread I figured realearn wasn't necessary, so I tried setting it up using just faderbox but I get the same exact problem, this is also weather or not I activate midi feedback.
Have you tried putting a midi logger on the track that sends midi back to the controller (faderbox track)? Then - when you see the controls snapping to zero - what's in the logger? If you see a load of CC's with values of 0 - then you need to work out where these are coming from? They may or may not be coming from faderbox... As this happens through both faderbox and ReaLearn - then it may not be faderbox that's the problem - but I don't know at this point.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 01:54 PM   #247
caronte23
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Have you tried putting a midi logger on the track that sends midi back to the controller (faderbox track)? Then - when you see the controls snapping to zero - what's in the logger? If you see a load of CC's with values of 0 - then you need to work out where these are coming from? They may or may not be coming from faderbox... As this happens through both faderbox and ReaLearn - then it may not be faderbox that's the problem - but I don't know at this point.
Hi there, thanks for responding, just to make sure I did a couple tests without any midi controller connected to my machine, I made a couple clips, hope it helps.

https://streamable.com/ggry3

https://streamable.com/faaj3
caronte23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2019, 12:04 AM   #248
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caronte23 View Post
Hi there, thanks for responding, just to make sure I did a couple tests without any midi controller connected to my machine, I made a couple clips, hope it helps.

https://streamable.com/ggry3

https://streamable.com/faaj3
Yep - I can see the problem in th esecond video - you assign a plugin - but there are no assignments - so that behaviour would be expected.

Try clicking in the script GUI next to the red numbers to add some parameters and then save the template (for the plugin).

With some parameters assigned - hopefully it should work??
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 08:27 AM   #249
Treaper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Hi All,

A collaboration between me and SRD who provided the impotus and ideas for this one.

https://github.com/L-B-X/LBX-SRD-Smart-Knobs

A simple idea for making your midi controller connect to specific parameters of whatever plugin has the focus.

So you simply focus a plugin - set up whatever parameters you like to control with your external controller, hit SAVE. Now whenever you focus an instance of that plugin - the midi controller always maps to the same parameters automatically.

To set up - simply create a track called __LBX_SKCTL. Note two underscores as with my stripper script.

Just like the Stripper script - simply add a LBX-Faderbox to this track. Assign your midi controller controls to the faderbox F1-32 parameters.

Then start the smart knobs script.

Then set up any and all plugins how you want them within the script - setting parameters to faders - hitting SAVE for each plugin when you're happy.

The 'L' button activates Learn mode. Simply click the controls in the plugin GUI in the order you want them in the list. I've noticed that it might not work until you have at least one param added - so I need to look into that.

Clicking on the plugin name activates Latch mode for the track the plugin is on.

Clicking REC button sets up the parameters for recording automation.
This looks really great!

Can you map 64 parameters to a VST plugin using 4 banks with the Midi Fighter Twister, ReaLearn & LBX, or is it only 16 parameters?

Also would a Presonus Faderport 8 work ok with this setup?

Thanks.
Treaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2019, 03:43 PM   #250
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Treaper View Post
This looks really great!

Can you map 64 parameters to a VST plugin using 4 banks with the Midi Fighter Twister, ReaLearn & LBX, or is it only 16 parameters?

Also would a Presonus Faderport 8 work ok with this setup?

Thanks.
Hi,

I can't speak for the ReaLearn setup method - but adding more FaderBox JSFX to the __LBX_SKCTL track will allow for more assignments.

The Faderbox built in feedback needs consecutive CC's programmable on the control surface in order to receive the feedback. With ReaLearn I assume it's more flexible.

I would guess it would work fine with the Faderport using ReaLearn if it's not possible to alter the CC assignments of the controls.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 07:47 AM   #251
joffre88
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Hi, first of course thank you lb0 for this great utility! I just wanted to ask (sorry if this was addressed already but much content to digest here) if it is possible to have multiple mappings for same plugin? For example, there are rack type plugins like NI Guitar Rig which allocate parameters dynamically depending on what effects are present in rack. Having chorus and phaser would result in different parameters than chorus and flanger etc.

Now, I don't want to track what is being added and map those in real time, because that would be complicated and not essential. Instead, I imagine that I could create plugin with alias containing specific tag like "guitar rig __gr-chorus__" and then srd script would look for a mapping for "gr-chorus" instead of "<whatever guitar rig plugin id is>". Also, Isotonik's PrEditor for Live does something similar.
joffre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 07:57 AM   #252
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joffre88 View Post
Hi, first of course thank you lb0 for this great utility! I just wanted to ask (sorry if this was addressed already but much content to digest here) if it is possible to have multiple mappings for same plugin? For example, there are rack type plugins like NI Guitar Rig which allocate parameters dynamically depending on what effects are present in rack. Having chorus and phaser would result in different parameters than chorus and flanger etc.

Now, I don't want to track what is being added and map those in real time, because that would be complicated and not essential. Instead, I imagine that I could create plugin with alias containing specific tag like "guitar rig __gr-chorus__" and then srd script would look for a mapping for "gr-chorus" instead of "<whatever guitar rig plugin id is>". Also, Isotonik's PrEditor for Live does something similar.
Hi,

I'm pretty sure it can load a template depending on the plugin name in the MCP.

Under the settings menu - if you unselect the 'Use Module Name Detection' option - it will match by plugins name in the MCP - so you can have different templates for the same plugin (by renaming it).
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 08:12 AM   #253
joffre88
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Hi,

I'm pretty sure it can load a template depending on the plugin name in the MCP.

Under the settings menu - if you unselect the 'Use Module Name Detection' option - it will match by plugins name in the MCP - so you can have different templates for the same plugin (by renaming it).
Indeed, haven't noticed it Actually, mixed behavior like I described above (depending on tag presence instead of global switch) seems more usable to me as if I disable module name detection then I can't use alias functionality for it's main purpose of fx labeling, because then every time srd sees something like "eq low cut" it will think this is separate mapping from normal eq.

Luckily now that I know which piece of code is responsible for this behavior (https://github.com/L-B-X/LBX-SRD-Sma...Knobs.lua#L890) I can work my way around it and implement tag lookup in fxname.
joffre88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 04:44 PM   #254
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joffre88 View Post
Indeed, haven't noticed it Actually, mixed behavior like I described above (depending on tag presence instead of global switch) seems more usable to me as if I disable module name detection then I can't use alias functionality for it's main purpose of fx labeling, because then every time srd sees something like "eq low cut" it will think this is separate mapping from normal eq.

Luckily now that I know which piece of code is responsible for this behavior (https://github.com/L-B-X/LBX-SRD-Sma...Knobs.lua#L890) I can work my way around it and implement tag lookup in fxname.
Let me know if you require any additional info.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 03:26 PM   #255
fak0u
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 63
Default

I just installed FAderBox32, I only have 4 faders, is that normal ?
fak0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 03:57 PM   #256
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fak0u View Post
I just installed FAderBox32, I only have 4 faders, is that normal ?
It is normal in the faderbox GUI - most are hidden - you can edit the JSFX and remove the '-' in front of the F(n) sliders to make them visible.

You can still learn them when hidden via the menu at the top of the GUI.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 05:03 PM   #257
fak0u
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
It is normal in the faderbox GUI - most are hidden - you can edit the JSFX and remove the '-' in front of the F(n) sliders to make them visible.

You can still learn them when hidden via the menu at the top of the GUI.
thanx
fak0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 05:41 AM   #258
fak0u
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 63
Default

So I just started using FaderBox, I think it's great, thank you so much for doing this tool ! I'm using it with a BCR2000, the faders work just fine, is there a possibility to use the on/off switches too ?
fak0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 08:23 AM   #259
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fak0u View Post
So I just started using FaderBox, I think it's great, thank you so much for doing this tool ! I'm using it with a BCR2000, the faders work just fine, is there a possibility to use the on/off switches too ?
If you learn the on/off switches to a slider in faderbox it should work.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 12:17 PM   #260
fak0u
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 63
Default

I added a second Faderbox plugin instance to assign the on/off switches
it works perfectly, thank you
fak0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 09:34 AM   #261
fak0u
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 63
Default

I've got a "problem" with how BYPASS is handled, Reaper/BCR2000/etc... lights ON on the ON/OFF switch button when bypass is engaged, so the plugin is OFF but the light is ON. when you unbypass the plugin it lights OFF... That's very strange to me.
lights ON = plugin inactive / lights OFF = plugin active

is there a way to invert that so there is light when the plugin is active, and no light when it is bypassed ?
fak0u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 06:13 AM   #262
Treaper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Hi,

I can't speak for the ReaLearn setup method - but adding more FaderBox JSFX to the __LBX_SKCTL track will allow for more assignments.

The Faderbox built in feedback needs consecutive CC's programmable on the control surface in order to receive the feedback. With ReaLearn I assume it's more flexible.

I would guess it would work fine with the Faderport using ReaLearn if it's not possible to alter the CC assignments of the controls.
Thank you for the reply, I have a Midi Fighter Twister on the way. I mentioned the Faderport, but in your opinion what would be the best motorized fader solution to complement the Midi Fighter Twister and Reaper? I should add that I would like to have fader control over plugin parameters, as well as the DAW mixer and automation.

Thanks.

Last edited by Treaper; 12-05-2019 at 06:57 AM.
Treaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 07:49 AM   #263
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Treaper View Post
Thank you for the reply, I have a Midi Fighter Twister on the way. I mentioned the Faderport, but in your opinion what would be the best motorized fader solution to complement the Midi Fighter Twister and Reaper? I should add that I would like to have fader control over plugin parameters, as well as the DAW mixer and automation.

Thanks.
I've not had a lot experience with fader based controllers. The only one I have is the XTouch and XTouch extender - which should work ok with Smart Knobs 1 (SK1) - although would require Realearn method for feedback as they are not freely programmable (the Xtouch is fixed to MCU protocol messages generally).

SK1 itself will not be developed further to accomodate DAW mixer control (only bugfixes). BUT....

SK2 is in development and the XTouch and Xtouch Extender integrate perfectly with that, able to also automate the DAW mixer and trigger other things such as actions/insert automation items, Switch visible MIDI editor CC lanes and a whole host of other stuff - all freely programmable. (It's been in development with a number of composers such as SRD, Klangfarben, and _Stevie_ for over a year now).

When that is ready for release - it will work fine with any MCU protocol controller such as SSL Nucleus, as well as the XTouch and Extender (you can use up to four completely separate controllers in theory - more than that if their MIDI messages do not clash).

With a bit of work creating your own map file - should work with any MIDI based controller.

But as it's been designed with the XTouch in mind - that's a good place to start.

I'm still not sure when it will be released yet - it's working perfectly - but the complete feature set is not finished yet.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.