Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2017, 05:12 AM   #1
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default REAPER for Linux: native linux plugins

This thread is dedicated to the use of native Linux plugins and how to run them in reaper.

Discussions about running Windows VSTs on Linux are on topic in: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=193761

At the time of writing REAPER supports its builtin plug-ins (REA/JS) and Linux VST2/3 plug-ins. Linux however has more plug-in formats, like LADSPA, DSSI and LV2. Hopefully support for more formats will be added at a later date, but for the moment you can use a plug-in host like Carla http://kxstudio.linuxaudio.org/Applications:Carla to run them.

A list of native Linux VST plugins can be found at: http://linux-sound.org/linux-vst-plugins.html
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)

Last edited by Jack Winter; 07-09-2017 at 05:35 AM.
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 01:16 AM   #2
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 416
Default

Tried Carla Rack vst in Reaper with the newest ladspa Guitarix, using
GxAmplifier-X, and some typical GX plugins, without problems,
and with nice results. The plugins have some nice
colorful gui's, and Carla's dark default theme looks nice
with most anything. All in all, a very easy and effective
way forward for guitarists, with a steady stream of new/improved
plugins, and the main guitarix app getting new releases several
times a year. Added the U-he Protoverb, and zyn-reverb for some
nice tube screamer ambience.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 07:03 AM   #3
Finnish
Human being with feelings
 
Finnish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Finland, Kuopio
Posts: 886
Default

Oh how I wish I could use Guitarix as a real plugin without Carla/JACK
__________________
REGISTERED USER
My music, studio and bands
Finnish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 10:05 AM   #4
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnish View Post
Oh how I wish I could use Guitarix as a real plugin without Carla/JACK
If you make a FR for lv2 support, I'll +1

FWIW, I made some realtime support for linvst, that's not in the main repo. But I've played back a stereo track and recorded through Amplitube at 64 samples buffer and Guitarrig at 128 (or was it vice versa) for hours without xruns.

osxmidi also added realtime support implemented differently in the latest release, but you need to build it with a special makefile or command line argument. Maybe that will make your amp sims run better at low latency.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)

Last edited by Jack Winter; 07-13-2017 at 10:38 AM.
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 05:58 AM   #5
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

Has any one tried the zynaddsubfx vst plugins in reaper?

I only get the gui for zynaddsubfx itself, for all the other plugins I just get the generic reaper gui. I did rebuild them myself with ntk support, as it appears that the default package on archlinux isn't suitable for vst guis.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 10:40 PM   #6
Drumfix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Default

The guitarix plugins dsp code is written in the faust language, so it should be straightforward to create vst plugins using faust-vst, alas without the nice guis.
Drumfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 03:46 AM   #7
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

I just found the following wrapper that allows running lv2 plugins in reaper: https://github.com/x42/lv2vst

Unfortunately it doesn't support guitarix, but many other plugins work like some x42-plugins, and avl drums.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 08:04 PM   #8
brainwreck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20,842
Default

Sweet. I will check that out this weekend. Thanks for mentioning it.
__________________
It's time to take a stand against the synthesizer.
brainwreck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 01:39 AM   #9
eric71
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
I just found the following wrapper that allows running lv2 plugins in reaper: https://github.com/x42/lv2vst

Unfortunately it doesn't support guitarix, but many other plugins work like some x42-plugins, and avl drums.
For me, it seems a lot of Calf plugins work (with only the generic interface). x42's SetBFree works with its graphic interface. The AVL Drumkits don't work for me - they open, but the fx window won't close and won't lose focus and I need to kill Reaper. They do work well in Carla, but it would be cool to just load them as a vst.
eric71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 02:13 AM   #10
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eric71 View Post
For me, it seems a lot of Calf plugins work (with only the generic interface). x42's SetBFree works with its graphic interface. The AVL Drumkits don't work for me - they open, but the fx window won't close and won't lose focus and I need to kill Reaper. They do work well in Carla, but it would be cool to just load them as a vst.
Yeah, I also tried calf, but no gui. The avl drumkits do work fine here, no problem to close the guis.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2017, 12:33 AM   #11
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default

Distrho ports http://distrho.sourceforge.net/ports

Scorchcrafter Amp Sim https://github.com/osxmidi/ScorchCrafter/releases

Last edited by osxmidi; 11-17-2017 at 10:11 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 12:55 AM   #12
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 536
Default

A list of Linux Audio/Video apps

https://github.com/nodiscc/awesome-linuxaudio
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 02:37 AM   #13
KingNothing
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
I just found the following wrapper that allows running lv2 plugins in reaper: https://github.com/x42/lv2vst
Nice. It even works on Mac :-)
KingNothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 03:06 AM   #14
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingNothing View Post
Nice. It even works on Mac :-)
Pity that it doesn't support all lv2 plugins with GUI, but I think this was more of a proof of concept, and would have required substantially more work to make it run everything with a full GUI.

Still very nice. So far I have it running most X42-plugins and AVL Drumkits with a full GUI.

Waiting for reaper to add support for lv2, I guess that would work on Win/OSX and Linux.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 03:12 AM   #15
KingNothing
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Pity that it doesn't support all lv2 plugins, but I think this was more of a proof of concept, and would have required substantially more work to make it run everything.
At first I thought we don't need LV2 support in reaper because of this, but I have to say without the GUI a lot of plugins are too hard to use.
Anyway, very nice to have this thing!
KingNothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2017, 10:37 AM   #16
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingNothing View Post
At first I thought we don't need LV2 support in reaper because of this, but I have to say without the GUI a lot of plugins are too hard to use.
Anyway, very nice to have this thing!
Since I bought mixbus32c + essentials the other day I thought I'd try. It seems that more or less all of them work in reaper with GUI using this wrapper. The x42 meter plugins have to be built with make EXTERNALUI=no, and the meters using a VU type GUI don't display properly. This is no big hardship for me, as I don't see what use a VU display is in a DAW.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:13 PM   #17
Shibboleth
Human being with feelings
 
Shibboleth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 18
Default Reaper Manjaro

hello Jack Winter. Tell me please where to take the codecs for video and where to copy? Linux Manjaro
Shibboleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2018, 04:26 AM   #18
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

AFAIK for video, you'd need to install vlc 2.x or ffmpeg v2/3. If your distro has newer versions, you might be able to install a "legacy" package that contains older run time libs.

Actually I'm in the same spot right now (on archlinux) as I installed ffmpeg v4, and then stupidly deleted an older legacy package I had installed which made video work. Still have to fix that, but no time to look at it just now.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2018, 08:38 AM   #19
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

Could someone please check if midi learn works in the latest u-he plugins?

https://www.reddit.com/r/UheOnLinux/...bra2_rev_7468/

I can't get it to work, but maybe I'm doing something wrong, as it's something I never use.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 05:09 AM   #20
nosucherror
Human being with feelings
 
nosucherror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London, Perfidious Albion
Posts: 57
Default Zebra2 rev7468 MIDI learn

Hi Jack,
MIDI learn does not work with the VST3 Zebra2 rev7468. It does work with the VST2 instrument.
I'm using REAPER5 with a Beat Step Pro.
__________________
Kubuntu 18.04 | M-Audio Fast Track Ultra & M-Audio Delta 1010 | AMD FX-8320 | 16Gib RAM
nosucherror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 05:15 AM   #21
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosucherror View Post
Hi Jack,
MIDI learn does not work with the VST3 Zebra2 rev7468. It does work with the VST2 instrument.
I'm using REAPER5 with a Beat Step Pro.
Hmm, what do I have to do to get it working? I have a midi keyboard with pitch bend and modulation wheels, would that be enough?
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, etc. :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.