Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2018, 02:48 AM   #1
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default Please don't change (startInSourceValue when trimming items (SOLVED)

when left trimming items the offset is changed by reaper, and we never want that because we loose control of the first beat.
And i can't see any benefit of changing offset in any circunstance: Can anyone explain me?

It's s really annoying the problems this change gives for arranging this item.

To workaround, first we have to remove the added trim, copy it and redo trim, paste and then redo the trim in the new place! (or change manually like in the licaps)

here:


and here for audio item:


edit: updated

Last edited by deeb; 09-15-2019 at 09:08 AM.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 04:13 AM   #2
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

edit: nevermind

Last edited by deeb; 11-09-2018 at 01:05 PM.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 09:28 AM   #3
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,498
Default

It snaps always to the offset.. You have not set any snap offset in your gif. Your snap offset is 0.
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 09:36 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

deeb !
I understand you, you got a big point.

A solution would be:
Option in Preferences (or in Menu Options), to NOT change offset position in an Item when trimming left edge of Item.

Warm Regards.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:12 AM   #5
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagalma View Post
It snaps always to the offset.. You have not set any snap offset in your gif. Your snap offset is 0.
sorry i did not understand! maybe i am using the wrong terminology? what am i doing wrong?
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:15 AM   #6
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
A solution would be:
Option in Preferences (or in Menu Options), to NOT change offset position in an Item when trimming left edge of Item.

Warm Regards.
ok ! thank you vanhaze! so maybe i should change the OP title to:
NOT change offset position in an Item when trimming left edge of Item
?

can i ask for help to do a proper title to this? : )
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:20 PM   #7
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

deeb !

I missed the fact that you trimmed a looped item to the left.
So i have to nuance my answer abit i think:

Option in Preferences (or in Menu Options), to NOT change offset position in an Item when trimming left edge of Item,whether it is looped or not looped.

Regarding your answer to amagalma:
You are using the right terminology and imho your first post is very clear (to me).
So i think amagalma just misunderstood your first post and therefore his answer is not to the point.

Just my 2 cents.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:32 PM   #8
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,498
Default

Sorry, guys! I now understand what you are talking about!


Another solution would be a mouse modifier that could trim (extend) the left edge of an item, without moving the snap offset.
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:33 PM   #9
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

Yes sure, good idea too !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 01:00 PM   #10
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

i got to some conclusions and so edited the first post.

do you agree?

Thank you both! : )
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:13 AM   #11
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Can anyone please explain me why the current behaviour is expected comparing with this one I am showing. If this is silly please please remove this thread
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 06:29 AM   #12
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
Can anyone please explain me why the current behaviour is expected comparing with this one I am showing.
It is expected because REAPER snaps the actual item start (left edge) to grid.

To get the desired behavior you could either trim the item to grid or set the Item Snap Offset to the beginning of events (after trimming):

Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 09:45 AM   #13
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutronic View Post
It is expected because REAPER snaps the actual item start (left edge) to grid.
Thank you for the insight you giving me a reason of the behaviour because it was made like that. And that I know. What I don't know is why it's better or the benefit of this behaviour. In practice gives trouble sequencing this item. I dont like loosing the control of the first beat, and when I left trim is like an anacrusis and not a new first beat.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 11:31 AM   #14
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 382
Default

"Better" is a relative term. I would rather call it a more predictable or standard way when snapping happens the way it does as of now.

But isn't your usage scenario covered by the way of setting the Item Snap Offset as demoed in the gif in my previous post? That's precisely why the offset exists - to give users a completely customizable snapping anchor.

Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 02:05 PM   #15
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

It works yes but its one more one workflow hassle. I wouldn't use current behaviour at all if I had an option like: "don't change offset start when left trimming item"

If I want to change the first beat offset I would rather prefer doing it inside the midi editor nudging the content right, or by gluing the item. I
I never had this problem in other DAW. I need to confirm to be sure if the behaviour is the same.



Thank you for the feedback neutronic!
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:35 PM   #16
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 394
Default

Maybe solution could be to add option to snap item on loop points
__________________
The truth is not in the middle but exactly where it is.
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 06:39 PM   #17
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
I never had this problem in other DAW.
Ah I think I know what you mean - some DAWs snap relatively to grid by default. In FL Studio, for example, this is the only way of snapping and you can see a pretty often request on the Image-Line forum for absolute snapping (REAPER's default).

To achieve relative snapping in REAPER, simply activate the "Snap relative to grid" option in the Snap/Grid Settings or via the corresponding toggle action.

Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 06:30 AM   #18
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutronic View Post
Ah I think I know what you mean - some DAWs snap relatively to grid by default. In FL Studio, for example, this is the only way of snapping and you can see a pretty often request on the Image-Line forum for absolute snapping (REAPER's default).

To achieve relative snapping in REAPER, simply activate the "Snap relative to grid" option in the Snap/Grid Settings or via the corresponding toggle action.
The problem seems other because what I want is to snap to the grid. I am not sure what would be absolute snapping tho.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 06:35 AM   #19
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strachupl View Post
Maybe solution could be to add option to snap item on loop points
Hmm Is closer, but the problem is reaper messing with the offset. I don't want reaper to do anything about the snapping.. just leave as is. This gives me control of the first beat, and if I change anything is by my willing.

Maybe solution would be: "if item is looped don't change offset when left trimmed"
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 07:16 AM   #20
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
The problem seems other because what I want is to snap to the grid. I am not sure what would be absolute snapping tho.
hmm "Snap relative to grid" does snap to the grid but relatively. Have you tried it?

Absolute snapping is the REAPER's default, the one you don't prefer.

Check out Kenny's video on the subject:
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:04 AM   #21
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Neutronic: sorry for the delayed response.
Thank you so much.. indeed that seems to be the issue, and hopefully I won't untick it
Thanks for patience and insight and to all the readers/posters which in some way or another tried to help!

/Me very greatful!
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:25 AM   #22
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 382
Default

No problem - glad to hear it's finally working for you!
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 08:30 AM   #23
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,335
Default

Thank you !
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.