Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 08-11-2017, 03:08 AM   #1
Greech
Human being with feelings

Default Is a rocksmith cable, onboard PC sound and home theater speakers a total non-starter?

Hey everyone, total Reaper noob here so I've got a couple questions:

In the past I've been recording via Garageband (on a Mac, not the mobile app). I used a USB condenser mic for vocals, the Rocksmith cable for guitar and bass, and I used the midi keyboard inside Garageband to lay down drums and orchestral instruments. My Mac is crapping out so I decided to move over to a pretty powerful PC that I build recently. The rig does not have a dedicated sound card, but the motherboard (Gigabyte - GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 ATX LGA1151) has some sort of onboard Creative Labs sound integration. The rig is run on Windows 10 64bit and I have 32g of RAM (here is the rig https://pcpartpicker.com/user/Greech/saved/fyzbt6). Lastly, for a monitor I've got this PC rig hooked up to a 65 inch Sharp Aquos through a home theater soundbar. I figured I'd just plug a headset into my PC and route the sound to it anyway.