Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2009, 03:30 AM   #1
fandango
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 221
Default Multi-timbrals (Audio Receive / MIDI Send)

Sorry, but I need more help with multi-timbral multi-out plugins in Reaper. It's a major sticking point for me, as I use Kontakt almost exclusively and very rarely use single stereo-out plugins.

1. I add Kontakt 4.
2. I get 1 track with K4, and 16 tracks of stereo. (lovely, one for each midi channel)
3. I put these into a folder (can't use the K4 one as the folder, which would make a lot of sense to me )
4. Now I add 16 more tracks which send MIDI to K4, but who's own audio faders are redundant and serve no purpose.

This still feels like an awfully long-winded way of doing things compared to the 'old guard'.

I've been thinking it MUST be possible to have my 16 stereo outputs RECEIVE audio (from K4) and SEND midi (to K4) on the ONE track.

However, as soon as I add a MIDI send (Audio = None) to one of the channel tracks, I get no audio output.

Is this an issue with feedback looping?

Last edited by fandango; 11-09-2009 at 03:43 AM.
fandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 03:49 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,918
Default

yes it is,.

Grab a coffeee, and have a look through this thread:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=27868

You'll only need to do it once (or twice) then you'll have the track template for ever.

----------
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratman View Post
Below is a link to a pdf containing some notes I've written on using GPO Kontakt Player 2 as a multi in Reaper. But the notes are probably relevant to any multi in Kontakt Player 2 (KP2) and Kontakt 2 (K2).

https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/150386/...-In-Reaper.pdf

I needed to write it down, otherwise I know I'll forget in a few months (it must be my age) . It might be of use to someone else out there.

Let me know if you spot any errors or if you know of a better way.

There are a lot of pages, but it's mostly pictures. Also, it's much easier to do in practice that in looks when it's written down.
Pete
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 11-09-2009 at 04:02 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 04:04 AM   #3
fandango
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 221
Default

Thanks! Ah, I had looked at that thread... but seemingly hadn't read down far enough.

Hmn, not sure I want to disable the feedback loop protection. I think I'll just stick with the old fashioned method. I'll just hide the stuff in mixer/track I don't need.
fandango is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.