Old 03-21-2006, 06:53 AM   #1
Newbie Brad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 128
Default Run VST and DX scans together at startup

doesn't make sense to have DX scan at different time.
Newbie Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 09:01 AM   #2
petramar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
Default

I agree. But what bothers me more is the lack of a facility to organize VST and DX plugins in REAPER. The window showing the plugins list is very unattractive and I get a headache of searching the plugin I need. Again EnergyXT found a fine (and simple, I suppose) solution for this; it allows you to set up and use your own set of folders, providing you with the possibility to rearrange all plugins according to your needs and ideas. Easy and fast when you're at work.
petramar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 09:21 AM   #3
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

You can organize Your plugins through the .ini files. They're located under

C:\Documents and Settings\~\Application Data\REAPER.

It may not seem very intuitive at first, but it's incredibly flexible. (Perhaps I'm just used to it, since Samplitude works the same way)

Just rename them as You wish. The DX ini also allows You to hide dx plugs.
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 09:38 AM   #4
petramar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy
You can organize Your plugins through the .ini files. They're located under

C:\Documents and Settings\~\Application Data\REAPER.

It may not seem very intuitive at first, but it's incredibly flexible. (Perhaps I'm just used to it, since Samplitude works the same way)

Just rename them as You wish. The DX ini also allows You to hide dx plugs.

Thanks Fluffy. I see them all listed in the .ini files; two questions come up. First, since REAPER automatically finds new plugins at startup, I suppose the .ini file will readjust itself everytime to the actual amount and names of plugins found. Second, renaming is not exactly organising: since I'd like to organise the various instruments and dx plugins in folders that I can quickly choose and access in REAPER. The .ini data don't even refer to folder locations, so I suppose that will stay wishful thinking?

But you got me on a track and I'll see what I do the ini's.
petramar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 10:53 AM   #5
eidenk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 232
Default

Reaper only gives names to plugs on the first time it scans them. Once a plug's got a hash, it won't touch the names again on rescan so you can edit them once for all.

You've also got a filter list field in the Add New FX window in which you can type strings of letters. Only the plugs containing the strings you type will then be shown.
eidenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 01:38 PM   #6
petramar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eidenk
Reaper only gives names to plugs on the first time it scans them. Once a plug's got a hash, it won't touch the names again on rescan so you can edit them once for all.

You've also got a filter list field in the Add New FX window in which you can type strings of letters. Only the plugs containing the strings you type will then be shown.
I clearly didn't know that. Useful info, thanks.
petramar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 02:57 PM   #7
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by petramar
Second, renaming is not exactly organising: since I'd like to organise the various instruments and dx plugins in folders that I can quickly choose and access in REAPER.
I simply rename all plugins and add a prefix of the type of plugin.Example:


Delay - Sonitus Reverb
Delay - GVst Delay
Dynamics - Sonitus Compresoor
Dynamics - BlockFish

etc.

It's a little work at first, but it works very well. New plugs always appear at the bottom of the ini.
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:06 PM   #8
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Very handy info - quick, someone add it to the wiki!
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 04:21 PM   #9
petramar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy
I simply rename all plugins and add a prefix of the type of plugin.
Now I see. Very clever! Thanks fluffy.
petramar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 04:28 PM   #10
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

No problem.

One of the nice things about doing things this way is that You can completely customize the plugin name.
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 03:00 PM   #11
shane
Human being with feelings
 
shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 61.215 -149.8925
Posts: 366
Default

I'm not finding any *.ini files associated with Reaper. I don't even have an application data folder (XP sp2). Am I missing something?
shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 03:03 PM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,322
Default

They by default now go in C:\Documents And Settings\<username>\Application Data\REAPER now, or whatever your equivilent is.. note that if you used really early versions of REAPER the .inis might actually be in your reaper EXE directory.

-Justin
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 03:07 PM   #13
shane
Human being with feelings
 
shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 61.215 -149.8925
Posts: 366
Default

Aha...stupid hidden files toggle. Got it.
shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 04:44 PM   #14
RokkD
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,080
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane
I'm not finding any *.ini files associated with Reaper. I don't even have an application data folder (XP sp2). Am I missing something?
Me too, I entirely gave up on this, but looks like there might be some hope for me yet.

Looks like shane got it sorted, but Im still fumblin' around

Quote:
They by default now go in C:\Documents And Settings\<username>\Application Data\REAPER now, or whatever your equivilent is.. note that if you used really early versions of REAPER the .inis might actually be in your reaper EXE directory.
-Justin

And where might I find that?....sorry for my poor computer skills..
RokkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 05:08 PM   #15
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

open windows explorer and go to "Tools/Folder Options/View" and tick "Show Hidden Files and Folders"

The go to "C/Documents and Setting/<Your Name>/Application Data/Reaper"

There are three .ini files. Open the one called "reaper-vstplugins.ini"

It's gonna look kinda crazy, but at the end of each line is the name of the plugin.

It looks like this:

NyquistEq_5.dll=008356AF75C7C401,1298812469,Filter - Nyquist Eq 5

You can change the end of the line to whatever You want. Not that the VST Instruments have a suffix that You have to leave it says "!!!VSTi"

Looks like this:

4Front_Bass_Module.dll=0044F071CC4FC301,877019731, 4Front Bass!!!VSTi

You can change it between the numbers and the exclamation points.
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 05:48 PM   #16
RokkD
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,080
Default

Iv'e always had the files in 'my documents' unhidden, problem is, there is no folder called 'Application Data/Reaper' or any reference to Reaper whatsoever, Iv'e looked high and low for the flippin' thing.
RokkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 05:54 PM   #17
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

No,No. Not "My Documents"

"Documents and Settings"

It's a different folder. "My Documents" is actually a folder under "Documents and Settings".

It's usually the first folder on your C drive.
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 06:34 PM   #18
RokkD
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,080
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy
No,No. Not "My Documents"

"Documents and Settings"

It's a different folder. "My Documents" is actually a folder under "Documents and Settings".

It's usually the first folder on your C drive.
Ahaah!!! got it, yeah, they were hidden before, okay I have some work to do

thanks fluffy...
RokkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 06:44 PM   #19
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Any time at all, my friend!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 07:59 PM   #20
shane
Human being with feelings
 
shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 61.215 -149.8925
Posts: 366
Default

Wiki's effects section has been updated with this info...
shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 08:04 PM   #21
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

Good call, Shane!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.