Old 03-27-2007, 06:05 PM   #1
mac
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Default what exactly does "apply effect as midi" do?

Can't find an explaination in the manual. Could somebody explain what it does and how to use this feature?

Thanks
mac
mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 04:29 AM   #2
caleb
Human being with feelings
 
caleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 635
Default

Are you talking about the option "Apply FX to items as new take (MIDI output)"?

If so - this was added so that you can basically do an offline render of the midi only in a given part etc.. as a new take.

I should know what it's good for as this one was requested by me.

When you have a midi part you can add a VST midi effect or JS midi effect prior to your VSTi (for example). Let's say that this midi effect humanises the velocity of the notes in your part to give it a less mechanical feel.

At some stage you may want to render the effect to a new midi file.

You select the part - choose "Apply FX to items as new take (MIDI output)" and you now have a new midi part with the fx applied.

Does that make sense?

Regards
Caleb
__________________
Happiness is the hidden behind the obvious.
caleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 05:00 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,174
Default

Hey far out. That blurs the distinction between midi plugins (like humanization, remapping, etc) and Reaper built-in processing actions.

Last edited by schwa; 03-28-2007 at 05:06 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 05:19 AM   #4
mac
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 75
Default

thanks,
So does this mean the reaper supports midi effects? I didn't know that! Can you wrap mfx in steinbergs mfx wrapper and use them in Reaper?
mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 07:03 AM   #5
caleb
Human being with feelings
 
caleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mac View Post
thanks,
I didn't know that! Can you wrap mfx in steinbergs mfx wrapper and use them in Reaper?
I would very much doubt it.
You can always try the Steinberg wrapper, but as far I knew it only worked for Cubase.

Regards
Caleb
__________________
Happiness is the hidden behind the obvious.
caleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 07:08 AM   #6
caleb
Human being with feelings
 
caleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Hey far out. That blurs the distinction between midi plugins (like humanization, remapping, etc) and Reaper built-in processing actions.
You bet - that's why I asked for it.
The fact is that REAPER could already do this, but only by recording midi output in realtime. Still a great option really.

I asked for it mainly to cut down the time needed to produce the result.

What I didn't realise at the time - when I was basically asking for a luxury rather than a necessity - was that it would end up in the very next release, a day or so later. Maybe he was already going to do it, I don't know, but it seemed bloody impressive to me.

The solution doesn't replace some functionality that could be there for midi editing, but it does handle quite a bit, and with the ability for anyone to just create new and unique JS midi plug-ins without having to struggle with the VST standard and the various available compilers and associated headaches, it means that we can have a great deal of midi editing power at our disposal with the flexibility to apply it in more than one way.

Regards
Caleb
__________________
Happiness is the hidden behind the obvious.
caleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.