Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Old 11-24-2011, 10:52 AM   #1
Azgtrplyr
Human being with feelings

Default Audio interface- Tascam or Focusrite

Hi all,
Im new to Reaper and need an audio interface. Ive pretty much narrowed my choices down to the Tascam Us-600 or the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2. The Tascam has a few more inputs but from what Ive read the preamps will be better in the Focusrite. Just wondering if anyone uses either of these interfaces and if so, how good is their compatibility with Reaper ? Thanks in advance, Jim
Azgtrplyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 11:05 AM   #2
PerunZG

If you're into Tascam, there's a great deal on US-800. Just $99 now on few online stores, like Musician's Friend.
Old 11-24-2011, 12:16 PM   #3
JGrabowMST

Given how you've compared the units...

1) Will you be more likely to record more tracks at a time?

or

2) Will you be more likely to want better preamps, and recording fewer tracks at a time?

It looks like if you're sticking between these two interfaces, MIDI is the deal breaker between the two.

If MIDI isn't necessary for you, I would be tempted to say just go with the Focusrite. If you'll need MIDI, to keep things more simple, the Tascam might be better.

Another thing to compare is how well they work in whatever OS you're going to be using. Both should be rock solid in Win XP, but Win 7 is not quite so solid with some interfaces, and it shows pretty quickly.

That's how I would judge the two units. From my experience, Focusrite is higher quality, but that doesn't make it the best interface around.
JGrabowMST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 10:39 PM   #4
Azgtrplyr